View previous topic :: View next topic |
Author |
Message |
ckdake l33t
Joined: 10 Apr 2003 Posts: 889 Location: Atlanta, GA
|
Posted: Tue Feb 10, 2004 10:07 pm Post subject: fatal: via_agp already in kernel |
|
|
My system yells at me that via_agp is already in the kernel when it boots up.
I am using the most recent mm-sources and ati-drivers.
/etc/modules.autoload.d/kernel-2.6 is empty, and via_agp is compiled as a module. When I compile it directly into the kernel it gives the same message.
Here is someone else in the italian forum with the same problem: [Italian ][ google translated]
Any ideas on what else would be trying to load via_agp? This is before xdm even tries to start. _________________ http://ckdake.com/ |
|
Back to top |
|
|
zbrox n00b
Joined: 26 Jan 2004 Posts: 56 Location: bulgaria
|
Posted: Tue Feb 10, 2004 10:31 pm Post subject: |
|
|
this is just a suggestion, i'm not sure...but maybe, just maybe you have compiled it both as in the kernel and after some other compile you have made it a module without cleaning the install...so you could make clean and then make dep && make bzImage modules modules_install and as in the Gentoo Installation guide cp the bzImage and system.map...
hope this helps _________________ Fitter Happier |
|
Back to top |
|
|
ckdake l33t
Joined: 10 Apr 2003 Posts: 889 Location: Atlanta, GA
|
Posted: Tue Feb 10, 2004 10:41 pm Post subject: |
|
|
I think ive done that many times, but Ill double check just to make sure. While I am doing that, here is some more info:
The errors show up just after starting Hotplugging. However, in my /etc/hotplug/blacklist i have agpgart and via_agp so it shouldn't be loading them.
I'm off to compile my kernel.. _________________ http://ckdake.com/ |
|
Back to top |
|
|
-YoShi- l33t
Joined: 26 Nov 2003 Posts: 684 Location: Besana Brianza - ItaLy -
|
Posted: Tue Feb 10, 2004 10:50 pm Post subject: Re: fatal: via_agp already in kernel |
|
|
ckdake wrote: | My system yells at me that via_agp is already in the kernel when it boots up.
I am using the most recent mm-sources and ati-drivers.
/etc/modules.autoload.d/kernel-2.6 is empty, and via_agp is compiled as a module. When I compile it directly into the kernel it gives the same message.
Here is someone else in the italian forum with the same problem: [Italian ][ google translated] |
you could try this way
First skip opengl to xfree driver
Code: |
# opengl-update xfree
|
Unmerge ati-drivers
Code: |
# emerge --unmerge ati-drivers
|
In kernel menuconfig put
Code: | Processor Type and features --->
<*> MTRR (Memory Type Range Register) support
Device Drivers --->
Character devices --->
<M> Enhanced Real Time Clock Support
...
<M> /dev/agpgart (AGP Support)
< > ALI chipset support
< > ATI chipset support
< > AMD Irongate, 761, and 762 chipset support
< > AMD Opteron/Athlon64 on-CPU GART support
< > Intel 440LX/BX/GX, I8xx and E7x05 chipset support
< > NVIDIA nForce/nForce2 chipset support
< > SiS chipset support
< > Serverworks LE/HE chipset support
<M> VIA chipset support
[ ] Direct Rendering Manager (XFree86 4.1.0 and higher DRI support)
< > 3dfx Banshee/Voodoo3+
< > 3dlabs GMX 2000
< > ATI Rage 128
< > ATI Radeon
< > Intel I810
< > Intel 830M, 845G, 852GM, 855GM, 865G
< > Matrox g200/g400
< > SiS video cards
|
than compile with
# make && make modules_install
# make install
In /etc/modules.autoload.d/kernel-2.6
Code: |
rtc
agpgart
via_agp
fglrx
|
Now reboot. At start up you must have fglrx module failed
Login as root and emerge ati-drivers.
at the and re-skip opengl to ati
Code: |
# opengl-update ati
|
and reboot
I hope that you can solve with this mini HOWTO ;
Byez _________________ Io lo vedo tutti i giorni, un Re per vederlo deve uscire dal suo regno, e il Papa lo vede quando si spoglia. Chi è? |
|
Back to top |
|
|
ckdake l33t
Joined: 10 Apr 2003 Posts: 889 Location: Atlanta, GA
|
Posted: Tue Feb 10, 2004 11:02 pm Post subject: |
|
|
yoshi- that is exactally what i did to recompile my kernel... kinda scary. heh. Anyways, that didn't fix it sadly. It's no big deal because everything works properly, just itd be nice to have no error message.
any other thoughts of what could be cause via_agp to load automatically twice? _________________ http://ckdake.com/ |
|
Back to top |
|
|
-YoShi- l33t
Joined: 26 Nov 2003 Posts: 684 Location: Besana Brianza - ItaLy -
|
Posted: Tue Feb 10, 2004 11:12 pm Post subject: |
|
|
But if you type lsmod, via_agp is correctly load or not? _________________ Io lo vedo tutti i giorni, un Re per vederlo deve uscire dal suo regno, e il Papa lo vede quando si spoglia. Chi è? |
|
Back to top |
|
|
mike4148 l33t
Joined: 09 Sep 2003 Posts: 641
|
Posted: Wed Feb 11, 2004 12:07 am Post subject: |
|
|
That's just an annoying message from modprobe. Someone loaded that module -- it may have been hotplug, it may have been the kernel itself (if you enable automatic module loading), or it may have been someone else. Modprobe is just nagging at them to stop trying to load it. It's a harmless bug in something; I get oodles of them on my machine when hotplug starts. I would have looked in to what it is, but... it's harmless. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
ckdake l33t
Joined: 10 Apr 2003 Posts: 889 Location: Atlanta, GA
|
Posted: Wed Feb 11, 2004 1:24 am Post subject: |
|
|
I type lsmod and it is in there. It must be automatic module loading in the kernel..
I thought that that option meant the kernel would listen to /etc/modules.autoload.d/kernel-2.6 but from the looking around I have done it seems to be just because the kernel feels like loading it, it will. I don't want to turn that off because it might come in handy for other things, but why is hotplug not listening to its blacklist? Must just be a bug. I'm on to other things I guess. _________________ http://ckdake.com/ |
|
Back to top |
|
|
|