View previous topic :: View next topic |
Author |
Message |
asiobob Veteran
Joined: 29 Oct 2003 Posts: 1375 Location: Bamboo Creek
|
Posted: Thu Feb 12, 2004 1:49 am Post subject: memory [managment] problems? |
|
|
Hello,
I have 1GB of ram but I'm concerned about memory usage. Should I be?
Code: |
cat /proc/meminfo
MemTotal: 1033988 kB
MemFree: 30892 kB
Buffers: 131080 kB
Cached: 614604 kB
SwapCached: 0 kB
Active: 716168 kB
Inactive: 179584 kB
HighTotal: 130992 kB
HighFree: 252 kB
LowTotal: 902996 kB
LowFree: 30640 kB
SwapTotal: 506036 kB
SwapFree: 506036 kB
Dirty: 92 kB
Writeback: 0 kB
Mapped: 208648 kB
Slab: 94904 kB
Committed_AS: 331976 kB
PageTables: 1476 kB
VmallocTotal: 114680 kB
VmallocUsed: 37800 kB
VmallocChunk: 75660 kB
|
Apparently I only have 30mb free??
I'm running Kernel 2.6.2, gnome, evolution, 3 firebird windows, a console, xchat, gaim
As for services...
Code: |
rc-update -s
alsasound | boot
apmd |
bootmisc | boot
checkfs | boot
checkroot | boot
clock | boot
consolefont | boot
crypto-loop |
cupsd |
domainname | default
esound |
fam |
famd |
foldingathome | default
gpm |
hdparm |
hostname | boot
iptables |
keymaps | boot
local | default nonetwork
localmount | boot
modules | boot
net.eth0 | default
net.lo | boot
net.ppp0 |
netmount | default
nscd |
numlock |
portmap |
rmnologin | boot
rp-pppoe |
rsyncd |
serial | boot
sshd |
switch |
syslog-ng | default
urandom | boot
xdm | default
xfs |
|
Is there some where I can get a memory map? or are these figures normal? When I reboot and in gnome I'm running at only 250ish MB but I'm fearing memory is not being released.
[/code] |
|
Back to top |
|
|
PowerFactor Veteran
Joined: 30 Jan 2003 Posts: 1693 Location: out of it
|
Posted: Thu Feb 12, 2004 2:12 am Post subject: |
|
|
That info includes the filesystem cache which normally takes nearly all the physical ram avalable, but is freed whenever the system needs it. Run the "free" command and look at the second line, that tells the real story. From the info you posted you have about 776mb free.(free + buffers + cache)
Last edited by PowerFactor on Thu Feb 12, 2004 2:14 am; edited 1 time in total |
|
Back to top |
|
|
k9 Apprentice
Joined: 28 Sep 2003 Posts: 160 Location: Salt Lake City, USA
|
Posted: Thu Feb 12, 2004 2:13 am Post subject: |
|
|
Linux will use as much memory as it can to cache things such as data from the hard drive. If the kernel doesn't use as much of the memory as it can (regardless of what you are doing), you will have a slower machine. There is discussion of this in many threads in this forum.
Example:
Code: | $ free -m
total used free shared buffers cached
Mem: 503 352 151 0 13 119
-/+ buffers/cache: 218 284
Swap: 980 32 947 |
From all I can tell, the correct way to interpret this is that I have 151MB actually free, but if I ignore the spaced used by caching, I have 284MB free. New programs I start will first eat away at that 151MB but if I get close to filling all of that up, parts of the cache will be dumped to make more space.
Note the large numbers in your Buffers and Cached lines in meminfo. Those are things loaded into memory to hopefully speed things up, but if you load more programs, the kernel will simply stop caching so much. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
asiobob Veteran
Joined: 29 Oct 2003 Posts: 1375 Location: Bamboo Creek
|
Posted: Thu Feb 12, 2004 2:56 am Post subject: |
|
|
ahh that makes sense
Thanks for yoru responses |
|
Back to top |
|
|
|
|
You cannot post new topics in this forum You cannot reply to topics in this forum You cannot edit your posts in this forum You cannot delete your posts in this forum You cannot vote in polls in this forum
|
|