View previous topic :: View next topic |
Author |
Message |
stig Apprentice
![Apprentice Apprentice](/images/ranks/rank_rect_2.gif)
![](images/avatars/5810753623f893727e81d6.jpg)
Joined: 03 Sep 2002 Posts: 289 Location: Bærum, Norway
|
Posted: Wed Feb 11, 2004 6:56 pm Post subject: Native IPv6, how to obtain address? |
|
|
Hi there!
Just found out that my network provides native IPv6. I've read the IPv6-guide at gentoo.org, but I didn't quite make it work!
I've emerged net-misc/dhcpv6 and I've put
Code: |
interface eth0 {
send rapid-commit;
request prefix-delegation;
request domain-name-servers;
request temp-address;
iaid 11111;
renew-time 11000;
rebind-time 21000;
}; |
in /etc/dhcp6c.conf
As far as I can tell from the guide, I should now be able to bring down eth0 and bring it up again.. No IPv6-address.
Please help ![Smile :)](images/smiles/icon_smile.gif) _________________ Allting har en ende, pølsen den har to. |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
NeddySeagoon Administrator
![Administrator Administrator](/images/ranks/rank-admin.gif)
![](images/avatars/3946266373f47d606a2db3.jpg)
Joined: 05 Jul 2003 Posts: 54850 Location: 56N 3W
|
Posted: Wed Feb 11, 2004 6:58 pm Post subject: |
|
|
stig,
Does your DHCP server do ipv6? _________________ Regards,
NeddySeagoon
Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail. |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
stig Apprentice
![Apprentice Apprentice](/images/ranks/rank_rect_2.gif)
![](images/avatars/5810753623f893727e81d6.jpg)
Joined: 03 Sep 2002 Posts: 289 Location: Bærum, Norway
|
Posted: Wed Feb 11, 2004 11:50 pm Post subject: |
|
|
NeddySeagoon wrote: | stig,
Does your DHCP server do ipv6? |
Well...all I know is that when booting windows, after having done
"ipv6 install" I get both IPv6-address and GW.
I kind of hoped it would be that easy in linux as well... _________________ Allting har en ende, pølsen den har to. |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
latexer Retired Dev
![Retired Dev Retired Dev](/images/ranks/rank-retired.gif)
Joined: 05 Mar 2003 Posts: 239 Location: NYC
|
Posted: Wed Feb 11, 2004 11:59 pm Post subject: |
|
|
IPv6 includes the ability to do automatic stateless configuration using "Router Advertisment"
If your windows box is automatically getting an IP and a route, it may be using this method for automatic configuration. Linux should be doing this as well, you might check to make sure that /proc/sys/net/ipv6/conf/all/accept_ra is "1" or it won't accept routing advertisment, AFAIK. If you look in dmesg and see "eth1: no IPv6 routers present" for your devices, then it's not seeing anything advertised, and you might muck more with dhcpv6.
Good luck with it. I envy you for having an ISP that already gives out ipv6 addys... (: I'd try to talk to them and find out which method they're using for giving out IPV6 addresses. _________________ overlays - Use at your own risk. File bug reports on this stuff and i'll kick you in the junk. Ask me before asking upstream if these fail. I mean it. No, really.
#gentoo-dotnet on freenode |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
stig Apprentice
![Apprentice Apprentice](/images/ranks/rank_rect_2.gif)
![](images/avatars/5810753623f893727e81d6.jpg)
Joined: 03 Sep 2002 Posts: 289 Location: Bærum, Norway
|
Posted: Thu Feb 12, 2004 12:12 am Post subject: |
|
|
latexer wrote: | If you look in dmesg and see "eth1: no IPv6 routers present" for your devices, then it's not seeing anything advertised, and you might muck more with dhcpv6.
|
Code: | eth0: no IPv6 routers present
|
There it was. Now what? _________________ Allting har en ende, pølsen den har to. |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
|