Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
dual video card/monitor howto?
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours
View posts from last 7 days

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
zoomtard
n00b
n00b


Joined: 31 May 2002
Posts: 32

PostPosted: Fri Aug 30, 2002 9:34 pm    Post subject: dual video card/monitor howto? Reply with quote

I've been looking high and low for some sort of guide or HOWTO for X w/ multi video cards/monitors. Unfortunately, I found nothing related to my issue. I have an on-board Matrox G200 AGP and a Trident PCI card. I know to look in /proc for the busID of the pci video card and to use startx -- +xinerama but my problem stems from the config file. Can someone give me some pointers on how to edit the config file so that it accomodates both video cards and both monitors? Also, is it necessary to, for lack of a better word, bind a specific monitor to a specific video card?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
remne
n00b
n00b


Joined: 30 Aug 2002
Posts: 23

PostPosted: Fri Aug 30, 2002 9:38 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

have you tried to look in an XFree / XF86Config howto?..
:-O
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
simcop2387
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 14 Aug 2002
Posts: 200
Location: Galactic Sector ZZ9 Plural Z Alpha

PostPosted: Fri Aug 30, 2002 11:57 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

yes you'll need to bind the monitors to the video card, i'll post up a version that you can use as an example, i did this with XF86 4.2 and a Voodoo 4 with an old ATI i had, just for fun once, got quite used to the large screen.

EDIT:
Code:
#sample config for dual heads of an NVidia with an ATI Xpert 98

Section "Module"


    Load        "dbe"
    SubSection  "extmod"
#      Option    "omit xfree86-dga"
    EndSubSection

    Load        "type1"
    Load        "freetype"

#   Load       "glx" #commented out since you cant do 3d with Xinerama yet, also comment out anything else related to 3d

EndSection

Section "Files"
    RgbPath   "/usr/X11R6/lib/X11/rgb"

    FontPath   "/usr/X11R6/lib/X11/fonts/local/"
    FontPath   "/usr/X11R6/lib/X11/fonts/misc/"
    FontPath   "/usr/X11R6/lib/X11/fonts/75dpi/:unscaled"
    FontPath   "/usr/X11R6/lib/X11/fonts/100dpi/:unscaled"
    FontPath   "/usr/X11R6/lib/X11/fonts/Type1/"
    FontPath   "/usr/X11R6/lib/X11/fonts/Speedo/"
    FontPath   "/usr/X11R6/lib/X11/fonts/75dpi/"
    FontPath   "/usr/X11R6/lib/X11/fonts/100dpi/"

EndSection

Section "ServerFlags"

EndSection

Section "InputDevice"

    Identifier   "Keyboard1"
    Driver   "Keyboard"

    Option "AutoRepeat" "500 30"

    Option "XkbRules"   "xfree86"
    Option "XkbModel"   "pc101"
    Option "XkbLayout"   "us"

EndSection


Section "InputDevice"

    Identifier   "Mouse1"
    Driver   "mouse"

    Option "Buttons"    "7"
    Option "Protocol"    "ExplorerPS/2"
    Option "Device"      "/dev/input/mice"
    Option "ZAxisMapping" "6 7"

EndSection

# Any number of monitor sections may be present
# notice we have two seperate monitors, if you have 2 of the same you might be able to use the same monitor definition but if you have 2 ones with different capabilities then this is what you want

Section "Monitor"

    Identifier  "Monitor1"

    HorizSync   31.5 - 64.3

    VertRefresh 40-150

    Modeline "400x256"     22.00  400 416 480 504  256 259 262 269 doublescan

EndSection

Section "Monitor"

    Identifier  "Monitor2"

    HorizSync   31.5 - 64.3

    VertRefresh 50-100

EndSection

Section "Device"
    Identifier   "Standard VGA"
    VendorName   "Unknown"
    BoardName   "Unknown"

EndSection

Section "Device"
    Identifier  "Gf3"
    Driver      "nvidia"
    VideoRam    65536
    BusID   "1:0:0" #AGP slot, make sure you have the bus ID correct, can create problems if not
EndSection

Section "Device"
    Identifier  "Ati"
    Driver      "ati"
    VideoRam    65536
    BusID   "0:c:0" #some PCI bus id
EndSection


#Notice we have 2 screens setup, in case one monitor doesnt do as high resolutions as the other or you want different bpp
Section "Screen"
    Identifier  "Screen 1"
    Device      "Gf3"
    Monitor     "Monitor1"
    DefaultDepth 24

    Subsection "Display"
        Depth       8
        Modes       "640x480" "800x600" "1024x768" "1280x1024"
        ViewPort    0 0
    EndSubsection
    Subsection "Display"
        Depth       16
        Modes       "640x480" "800x600" "1024x768" "1280x1024"
        ViewPort    0 0
    EndSubsection
    Subsection "Display"
        Depth       24
        Modes       "1280x1024" "320x240" "640x480" "800x600" "1024x768" "400x256"
        ViewPort    0 0
    EndSubsection
EndSection

Section "Screen"
    Identifier  "Screen 2"
    Device      "Ati"
    Monitor     "Monitor2"
    DefaultDepth 24

    Subsection "Display"
        Depth       8
        Modes       "640x480" "800x600" "1024x768" "1280x1024"
        ViewPort    0 0
    EndSubsection
    Subsection "Display"
        Depth       16
        Modes       "640x480" "800x600" "1024x768" "1280x1024"
        ViewPort    0 0
    EndSubsection
    Subsection "Display"
        Depth       24
        Modes       "1280x1024" "320x240" "640x480" "800x600" "1024x768" "400x256"
        ViewPort    0 0
    EndSubsection
EndSection


# **********************************************************************
# ServerLayout sections.
# **********************************************************************
Section "ServerLayout"

    Identifier  "Simple Layout"

#heres the kicker, it tells X where each monitor is, pretty simple to understand

    Screen "Screen 1"
    Screen "Screen 2" RightOf "Screen 1"

    InputDevice "Mouse1" "CorePointer"
    InputDevice "Keyboard1" "CoreKeyboard"

EndSection


sorry for such an incredibly large post, if you need more help understanding it i'll be glad to help
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
arkane
l33t
l33t


Joined: 30 Apr 2002
Posts: 918
Location: Phoenix, AZ

PostPosted: Sat Aug 31, 2002 12:09 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

You mean you can just slap in another video card onto a pci slot and use both the agp and pci cards at the same time on 2 monitors?
(I've read a little about it, never thought about it much, and didn't know much about it, or how it worked)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
netghost
n00b
n00b


Joined: 04 Jul 2002
Posts: 12

PostPosted: Sat Aug 31, 2002 12:31 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

arkane wrote:
You mean you can just slap in another video card onto a pci slot and use both the agp and pci cards at the same time on 2 monitors?
(I've read a little about it, never thought about it much, and didn't know much about it, or how it worked)


Yup, infact that's what I do. I have an agp geforce3 and a voodoo banshee. Works great.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
squanto
Guru
Guru


Joined: 20 Apr 2002
Posts: 524
Location: Rochester, NY, USA

PostPosted: Sat Aug 31, 2002 4:37 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

There was an article about how to do this in Linux Journal, like a month or two ago, I don't have the issue here with me, but they recommended making your screen and monitor and cards all named in a similar fasion so you would have an easier time setting up.
And they told how if you run gnome on your main display that you would have to start gnome on the other display and then your dual monitors would work like they do on mac os or on windows, while if you run kde on both that maximized windows would span both monitors.
Just putting my $0.02 in, maybe help someone out with guis?

Andrew
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
nempo
Guru
Guru


Joined: 16 Apr 2002
Posts: 360
Location: Linkoping, Sweden

PostPosted: Sat Aug 31, 2002 11:29 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

You should read the xinerama howto, It helped me alot when I sat up a tripple-head system :0

http://www.tldp.org/HOWTO/Xinerama-HOWTO.html
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mallchin
l33t
l33t


Joined: 21 Jan 2003
Posts: 655
Location: United Kingdom

PostPosted: Tue Sep 09, 2003 5:58 pm    Post subject: triple-head Reply with quote

nempo wrote:
You should read the xinerama howto, It helped me alot when I sat up a tripple-head system :0

http://www.tldp.org/HOWTO/Xinerama-HOWTO.html


Ooh I want triple headed hehehe... would sure make Enemy Territory playable!

I have a dual-head system setup using a GF4 (using both CRT & DVI outputs) I configured using the nvidia-glx readme. Works much the same as it did in Windows some years back, like it a lot.

There is a multi-monitor guide at http://www.linuxformat.co.uk (in the archives) and a proper xinerama how-to available. Also, if you use nvidia, the nvidia-glx readme is worth a read.
_________________
6700 @ 2.66GHz, 4Gb RAM, 2 x 500Gb, 8800 GTX, PhysX, X-Fi, 24" Widescreen, Tux mascot
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
WhiteMagic
n00b
n00b


Joined: 04 Sep 2003
Posts: 18

PostPosted: Tue Sep 09, 2003 8:07 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

You will have to setup correctly your 2 graphic cards in your Xfree configfile. This can be a little bit of try&error.

https://forums.gentoo.org/viewtopic.php?t=58654&highlight=ati+dual+monitor
https://forums.gentoo.org/viewtopic.php?t=24116&highlight=ati+dual+head+monitor

You can have a look at those threads they helped me. Yes they are related to Radeons but I think there was a link whic was usefull mor wiedly.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum