View previous topic :: View next topic |
Author |
Message |
matbintang n00b
Joined: 12 Aug 2003 Posts: 22 Location: Canada
|
Posted: Sun Feb 15, 2004 9:11 am Post subject: Wireless AP setup question? |
|
|
I'm have a working SMC 2802W card on a linux box. The set up I have is:
Code: |
INTERNET <---> Firewall#1 <---->LAN(192.x.x.0/24)<-->firewall#2<--->wireless(10.x.x.0/24)
|
The problem I'm having is getting the wireless traffic (ping) to firewall#1 and to the internet.
Here's what I can do
1. I can ping wireless (SMC2802W) card on the firewall#2
2. I can ping lan card on the firewall#2.
Here's the routing table I have on Firewall#2
Code: | Kernel IP routing table
Destination Gateway Genmask Flags Metric Ref Use Iface
192.168.10.0 * 255.255.255.0 U 0 0 0 eth0
10.25.100.0 * 255.255.255.0 U 0 0 0 eth1
loopback localhost 255.0.0.0 UG 0 0 0 lo
default spika.matbintan 0.0.0.0 UG 1 0 0 eth0
|
Here's the routhing table I have on Firewall #1
Code: |
Kernel IP routing table
Destination Gateway Genmask Flags Metric Ref Use Iface
192.168.10.0 * 255.255.255.0 U 0 0 0 eth1
x.x.x.x.0 * 255.255.240.0 U 0 0 0 eth0
127.0.0.0 * 255.0.0.0 U 0 0 0 lo
default dx-x-x-x. 0.0.0.0 UG 0 0 0 eth0
|
Questions:
1. Should there also be a route to the wireless network on firewall#1?
2. Should there be NAT on firewall#2 to make firewall#1 think the wireless traffic is coming from LAN?
3. What suggestion do you have to get this to work? _________________ $>cd /pub
$>more beer |
|
Back to top |
|
|
vooduhal n00b
Joined: 15 Feb 2004 Posts: 1 Location: TN, USA
|
Posted: Sun Feb 15, 2004 9:31 am Post subject: |
|
|
Yes, any machine on LAN{192.*.*.0/24} that needs to connect to your wireless LAN will need a routing entry for that subnet including your Firewall #1. You'll need to add a routing entry to Firewall #1 that says the default route for 10.x.x.0/24 is the 192.*.*.0/24 interface of your firewall#2. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
matbintang n00b
Joined: 12 Aug 2003 Posts: 22 Location: Canada
|
Posted: Sun Feb 15, 2004 6:14 pm Post subject: |
|
|
I'll give it a try.... thanks _________________ $>cd /pub
$>more beer |
|
Back to top |
|
|
matbintang n00b
Joined: 12 Aug 2003 Posts: 22 Location: Canada
|
Posted: Sun Feb 15, 2004 9:04 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Yahoo! It's now working beautifully. _________________ $>cd /pub
$>more beer |
|
Back to top |
|
|
|