Hard Drive Setup Question
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Other Things Gentoo
View previous topic :: View next topic  
viper2pt0
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper

PostPosted: Tue Jul 20, 2004 5:18 pm    Post subject: Hard Drive Setup Question Reply with quote

Ok guys, here is my question...i am still fairly new with gentoo, but i have sucessfully created a movie server for myself. I have one 250 gig hdd, with 3 partitions hda1 (boot) hda2 (swap) and hda3 (root).........to store the movies i made a user called "movies" and im just putting all the movies in /home/movies/ then i put samba on, and through my windows machine i "mapped a network drive" to that directory. everything works awesome. but i kinda ran into a problem....what happens when my hard drive fills up?...if i throw another hard drive in there, do i just make one partition on it? like a root partition being hdb1?....and then....how do i get to it to put more movies on it?....i know it wont be like raid, so i cant just keep puttin movies in the /home/movies directory and have them go on the second hard drive...so how would i go about doing this?...im sorry if it sounds very complicated...thanks in advance
db_404
Guru
Guru

PostPosted: Tue Jul 20, 2004 5:36 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Assuming you want to use the whole of the new drive for movies, you would just partition it as one primary partition, format it with whatever file system you chose (e.g. ext3 or reiserfs etc.).

Then you could add a directory to your /home/movies directory (for example /home/movies/moremovies) and mount your new drive there e.g
Code:

mount /dev/hdb1 /home/movies/moremovies

To make this happen every time you boot up, just add the new mountpoint into /etc/fstab

e.g
Code:

/dev/hda3        /                reiserfs defaults         1   1
/dev/hda1        /boot            ext2                        1   1