Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Issues with network card [FIXED]
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Goto page Previous  1, 2  
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Falcus
n00b
n00b


Joined: 15 Dec 2003
Posts: 20
Location: Hidden in your closet

PostPosted: Wed Mar 03, 2004 6:42 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Ok

/sbin/route -n returns:

Code:
Kernel IP routing table
Destination     Gateway     Genmask        Flags Metric Ref Use iface
182.168.0.0     0.0.0.0     255.255.255.0  U     0      0    0  eth0
127.0.0.0       127.0.0.1   255.0.0.0      UG    0      0    0  lo


And /sbin/ifconfig eth0 gives me:

Code:
eth0    Link encap:Ethernet  Hwaddr 00:E0:29:6A:BC:78
        inet addr:192.168.0.3  Bcast:192.168.0.255  Mask:255.255.255.0
        UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST  MTU:1500  Metric:1
        RX packets:212 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
        TX packets:199 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
        collisions:0 txqueuelen:100
        RX bytes:19279 (10.0 Kb)  TX bytes:23200 (22.7 Kb)
        Interrupt:11 Base address:0xa000


After messing with my resolv.conf file, I returned it to what it was before, which is:

Code:
domain tlang.com
nameserver 4.2.2.65
nameserver 4.2.2.5
nameserver 4.2.2.4


I backed up my other resolv.conf configs just in case... this configuration above returns the unknown host error.

And yes, I'm using DHCP which is enabled in my /etc/conf.d/net file. My router provides it... the router's ip is 192.168.0.1, this XP machine is 192.168.0.2 and the gentoo's is in the ifconfig post above.
_________________
Why is it drug addicts and computer afficionados are both called users? - Clifford Stoll
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 54300
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Wed Mar 03, 2004 7:38 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Falcus,

You are missing your defualt route and the destination 182.168.0.0 looks wrong too.

Since you are using DHCP, every other line except the iface_eth0="dhcp" in /etc/conf.d/net should be commented out. Check this.

DHCP should even sort out yor nameserver.

Your routing table should look like this
Code:
Kernel IP routing table
Destination     Gateway         Genmask         Flags Metric Ref    Use Iface
192.168.0.0     0.0.0.0         255.255.255.0   U     0      0        0 eth0
127.0.0.0       127.0.0.1       255.0.0.0       UG    0      0        0 lo
0.0.0.0         192.168.0.1     0.0.0.0         UG    1      0        0 eth0


To get a defualt route manually do
Code:
/sbin/route add default gateway 192.168.0.1 eth0


To get the route to the local net (192.168.0.0) do
Quote:
/sbin/route add 192.168.0.0/24 eth0


Route set up should be automatic if dhcp is set up right though.
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Falcus
n00b
n00b


Joined: 15 Dec 2003
Posts: 20
Location: Hidden in your closet

PostPosted: Thu Mar 04, 2004 5:13 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

We have liftoff...

Commenting out every line in my /etc/conf.d/net file but the dhcp line did it. I can ping, emerge, etc. Currently downloading fluxbox. =)

I can't say how thankful I am - I was at one point close to the point of taking the Window$ approach and completely reinstalling. It's such a difference to debug a problem and solving it at it's source file instead of rebooting and praying.

Thanks Neddy, and everyone else that helped, couldn't have done it without you. 8)

EDIT: Spoke too soon, just one more thing, when I rebooted, I got an error for eth0 that entails that eth0 does not have netmount set, and reminds me to make sure that $iface_eth0 is set. I also can't ping anything either. Do I need to make sure something starts up at each boot? Thanks yet again.
_________________
Why is it drug addicts and computer afficionados are both called users? - Clifford Stoll
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 54300
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Thu Mar 04, 2004 6:20 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Falcus,

You need to list your ethernet kernel module in /etc/modules.autoload or eth0 won't be there when the network startup script runs.

To run the network startup script at boot you need to execute
Code:
rc-update add net.eth0 default
if you have already done that, you will get an error to tell you.

Meanwhile, you can always bring up networking by hand
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo All times are GMT
Goto page Previous  1, 2
Page 2 of 2

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum