Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Gentoo Installation guide for Grub/Compaq Smart2 controllers
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Goto page 1, 2, 3  Next  
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Documentation, Tips & Tricks
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
brain
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 16 May 2002
Posts: 229
Location: Farmington Hills, MI

PostPosted: Mon Sep 09, 2002 6:30 pm    Post subject: Gentoo Installation guide for Grub/Compaq Smart2 controllers Reply with quote

I finally got the job at work to install Gentoo on a trusty old Proliant 1600.

But, as apparently many others have--I ran into the lovely Grub/Smart2 problems. I prefer Grub over LILO, so I was determined to get it working.

I tried looking at this thread, but the instructions didn't exacly apply to a Smart2 controller.

After searching the forums, and Google, and reading stuff in the Linux kernel source documentation for the cpqarray driver I came across a solution that should work for everybody using these controllers.

The hardware I used to establish these instructions:

    Compaq Proliant 1600 / Dual P-II
    On-board Symbios SCSI
    512MB RAM
    1 Smart2/DH Controller
    Single RAID5 container (5 x 4.3GB)




Step 1 - Installing the kernel modules
Boot off the Gentoo CD like usual, and follow the Installation Guide. When you get to inserting modules, also modprobe the following:
Code:
modprobe cpqarray
modprobe sd_mod
modprobe sr_mod

Go ahead and modprobe any other modules you need for your machine.



Step 2 - Partitioning
Partition your disks as you feel fit. The cpqarray driver has a different naming scheme for the disk devices than plain-old SCSI. The table below shows the equivalents.
Code:

"/dev/sda"  = /dev/ida/c0d0/disc
"/dev/sda1" = /dev/ida/c0d0/part1
"/dev/sda2" = /dev/ida/c0d0/part2
"/dev/sdb1" = /dev/ida/c0d1/part1
...etc.

Make sure you write down your partition mappings (i.e. /dev/ida/c0d0/part2 = swap /dev/ida/c0d0/part1 = /boot). You'll need them later.



Step 3 - Mounting the chroot'd /dev
Just before you chroot to your new Gentoo installation (chroot /mnt/gentoo /bin/bash), also run the following:
Code:
mount -o bind /dev /mnt/gentoo/dev

You need to do this to allow the /dev/ida/c0d0/* devices to get recognized inside the chrooted shell. By default, the Gentoo stage1 tar.gz does not create these nodes.



Step 4 - Kernel configuration
Keep following the installation guide. When you get to the kernel configuration, be sure to include the Smart2 controller driver (under Block Devices) into the kernel. Don't forget about SCSI disk/cdrom support. The vanilla-sources-2.4.19 .config file I used is posted here.



Step 5 - Setting up /etc/fstab
When you get to editing your /etc/fstab file, reformat the /dev/ida/* listings like so:
Code:
/dev/ida/disc0/part1           /boot       ext3    noauto,noatime    1 2
/dev/ida/disc0/part3           /           ext3    noatime         0 1
/dev/ida/disc0/part2           none        swap    sw              0 0

Obviously, replace the filesystem type and partition/disc numbers with your own. Notice that the disc is referred to as "disc0" instead of c0d0 at this point.



Step 6 - Grub
Now the fun part. Follow the installation guide for installing grub. When you get to this part:
Code:
grub> root (hd0,0)
grub> setup (hd0)
grub> quit

Replace the "setup" line with:
Code:
setup --stage2=/boot/grub/stage2 (hd0)

I believe the reason this is necessary is that Grub doesn't understand the /dev/ida/* disk setup and needs to be forced to know where to get the stage2 files from.



Step 7 - menu.lst
Finally, you need to set up your Grub menu.list file like this:
Code:
default 0
timeout 10
splashimage=(hd0,0)/boot/grub/splash.xpm.gz

title=Linux-2.4.19
root (hd0,0)
kernel /boot/bzImage root=/dev/ida/c0d0p3

Paying special attention to root=/dev/ida/c0d0p3. Replace c0dYpX with "X" being your "/" partition, and "Y" being the disk (ie. sda = c0d0, sdb = c0d1) If you don't refer to the partition in this fashion, the Linux kernel will panic not being able to find "/"



That's it. I think the tough part about this is that the controller/disks are referred to three different ways throughout the install (/dev/ida/c0d0/part1 /dev/ida/disc0/part1, /dev/ida/c0d0p1, etc.)

Hope this helps someone, let me know if there are any mistakes. I wrote this from memory! :)
_________________
--brain
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
duanel
n00b
n00b


Joined: 16 Nov 2002
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Wed Dec 18, 2002 2:31 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Here's a note to help you get a proliant working (in my case a 2500) with a Smart2/p Raid Controller and a PCI ATA100 IDE controller.

My system is different in that I want the system to be installed on the SCSI RAID array, and my data to be on the larger, cheaper, ATA100 drive(s).

The Proliant's system partition (kind of like a proprietary BIOS) doesn't allow you to specify the boot order of a non-Compaq controller... the hardware configuration tool just sees it as a "Mass Storage Controller." The Proliant then insists that it boot from the 1st hard drive it finds... which, coincidentally, is the primary master connected to the PCI add-on controller.

The best work-around for this is to create your boot partition on that drive (in this case /dev/ide/hd/c2b0t0u0p1, equivalent to /dev/hda1_, then configure grub on that drive:

grub> root (hd0,0)
grub> setup (hd0)
grub> quit

Make sure the the boot partition is properly set up in /etc/fstab:

/dev/ide/hd/c2b0t0u0p1 /boot auto noauto,noatime 1 1

And, finally make sure that menu.lst is set up to point to the second drive seen on the system... the raid array... (hd1,0).

I apologize if this explanation is scatter-brained, but I've been working on this proprietary hardware in my (limited) spare time for weeks and it's just starting to work. I'll update it when I'm better prepared.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
BurnedOutGeek
n00b
n00b


Joined: 17 Aug 2003
Posts: 27

PostPosted: Wed Aug 20, 2003 4:40 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I know this is an old post, but I thought I would try anyway. I have followed the instructions and they havw worked PERFECTLY, unitl the boot sequesnce. I start to boot the kernel, and everytime, I get a kernel panic because the system cant find root.

I have checked and made sure that my grub line is correct and says:

root=/dev/ida/disc0/c0d0p3

Any suggestions?

Mark
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
bmedwar
n00b
n00b


Joined: 17 Sep 2003
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Wed Sep 17, 2003 6:09 pm    Post subject: Can't locate module sd_mod Reply with quote

any idea why this happens? 1.4-Release...

cdimage root # modprobe sd_mod
modprobe: Can't locate module sd_mod
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
BurnedOutGeek
n00b
n00b


Joined: 17 Aug 2003
Posts: 27

PostPosted: Wed Sep 17, 2003 7:47 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

It didnt matter for my machine. Niether sd-Mod or sr_mod would load, but all I needed was cpqarray anyways. What kind of machine are you working on?

Mark
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
bmedwar
n00b
n00b


Joined: 17 Sep 2003
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Wed Sep 17, 2003 8:20 pm    Post subject: Compaq Proliant 800 with SMART-2/DH Reply with quote

I'm working on a Compaq Proliant 800 with SMART-2/DH RAID controller.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
cj52973
n00b
n00b


Joined: 04 Nov 2003
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Tue Nov 04, 2003 2:19 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I'm working on a Compaq Proliant 1600 with a SMART-2sl controller. I'm also having an issue getting the system to boot once the install is complete.

Using Gentoo 1.4, I've tried lilo and grub the system boots then panics because it can't find the root partitiion. I'm using the xfs-sources and enableing the SMART controller options. All paths look correct according to the supplied documentation.

What am I missing useing...

Chris
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
brain
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 16 May 2002
Posts: 229
Location: Farmington Hills, MI

PostPosted: Fri Jan 16, 2004 10:01 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Are you guys still having trouble? Posting some verbose errors might help out a bit.
_________________
--brain
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
azndante
n00b
n00b


Joined: 18 Apr 2003
Posts: 4
Location: Kansas

PostPosted: Wed Jan 21, 2004 8:46 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I don't know if you still have problems.. I am also using XFS on mine, and I also had the kernel panics. However, I changed the /dev/ida/c0d0p6 to /dev/ida/c1d0p6 (where p6 is my boot partition) and it all worked.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
smukec
n00b
n00b


Joined: 06 Dec 2003
Posts: 59
Location: Slovenia

PostPosted: Wed Jan 21, 2004 11:41 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I don' manage to setup my Proliant 2500R

- I had memory problem, but managed to persuade the machine to accept the correct ammount thanks to brian's another thread.
- Then I was not able to compile 'gentoo-soruces' (2.4.22) and emerged 'vanilla-source' (2.4.24), emerged genkernel again, created a new /usr/src/linux link
- genkernel again

I have a problem that there is no /lib/modules/2.4.22 (at least I think it is a problem)
After reboot it starts to load, but fails to find /dev/ida and /dev/ataraid either.
After booting the CD
Code:
gentoo doataraid doscsi dokeymap mem=exactmap mem=640k@0 mem=63m@1M

I can't load none of cpqarray, sd_mod and sr_mod
It adds only a notification line in dmesg for 'modprobe cpqarray':
Code:
Compaq SMART2 Driver (v 2.4.25)

Is it possible that I still have some parts of gentoo-sources?
Do I have to restart the procedure (mke2fs, ...)?

I have followed the instaructions and my grub.conf looks:
Code:
title=My Gentoo Linux on RAID
root (hd0,0)
kernel (hd0,0)/boot/kernel-2.4.24 root=/dev/ataraid/c0d0p1
initrd (hd0,0)/boot/initrd-2.4.24

If it helps, here is my lsmod:
Code:
Module                  Size  Used by
tlan                   24088   1
floppy                 47004   0  (autoclean)
serial                 48932   0  (autoclean) (unused)
isa-pnp                28100   0  (autoclean) [serial]
cloop                   5520   1
usb-storage            59372   0  (unused)
hid                    12564   0  (unused)
usbcore                55712   1  [usb-storage hid]
ataraid                 6596   0
ncr53c8xx              51412   3

I've installed from stage1.

Goran
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
brain
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 16 May 2002
Posts: 229
Location: Farmington Hills, MI

PostPosted: Fri Jan 23, 2004 3:27 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

smukec wrote:
I don' manage to setup my Proliant 2500R

- I had memory problem, but managed to persuade the machine to accept the correct ammount thanks to brian's another thread.
- Then I was not able to compile 'gentoo-soruces' (2.4.22) and emerged 'vanilla-source' (2.4.24), emerged genkernel again, created a new /usr/src/linux link
- genkernel again

I have a problem that there is no /lib/modules/2.4.22 (at least I think it is a problem)
After reboot it starts to load, but fails to find /dev/ida and /dev/ataraid either.
After booting the CD
Code:
gentoo doataraid doscsi dokeymap mem=exactmap mem=640k@0 mem=63m@1M

I can't load none of cpqarray, sd_mod and sr_mod
It adds only a notification line in dmesg for 'modprobe cpqarray':
Code:
Compaq SMART2 Driver (v 2.4.25)

Is it possible that I still have some parts of gentoo-sources?
Do I have to restart the procedure (mke2fs, ...)?

I have followed the instaructions and my grub.conf looks:
Code:
title=My Gentoo Linux on RAID
root (hd0,0)
kernel (hd0,0)/boot/kernel-2.4.24 root=/dev/ataraid/c0d0p1
initrd (hd0,0)/boot/initrd-2.4.24

If it helps, here is my lsmod:
Code:
Module                  Size  Used by
tlan                   24088   1
floppy                 47004   0  (autoclean)
serial                 48932   0  (autoclean) (unused)
isa-pnp                28100   0  (autoclean) [serial]
cloop                   5520   1
usb-storage            59372   0  (unused)
hid                    12564   0  (unused)
usbcore                55712   1  [usb-storage hid]
ataraid                 6596   0
ncr53c8xx              51412   3

I've installed from stage1.

Goran


So wait a second, do you have a Smart2 controller or an ATA RAID Controller? They're completely different things! A friend of mine tried to get a secondary ATA controller working in a 2500, to much of his frustration. These machines are picky enough with the built-in hardware.

Another recommendation is to stick with the vanilla-sources on these bad boys. They're older machines and do not tend to play well with the high-end tweaks in the Gentoo sources.

if possible, try booting off the LiveCD and giving us the output of a lspci.
_________________
--brain
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
smukec
n00b
n00b


Joined: 06 Dec 2003
Posts: 59
Location: Slovenia

PostPosted: Fri Jan 23, 2004 4:45 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I can't ssh to the machine right now, but I have written down the SCSI controller (from lspci):
Code:
SCSI Storage controler: LSI Logic / Symbios Logic 53c875 (rev 03)


goran
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
brain
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 16 May 2002
Posts: 229
Location: Farmington Hills, MI

PostPosted: Fri Jan 23, 2004 6:01 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

smukec wrote:
I can't ssh to the machine right now, but I have written down the SCSI controller (from lspci):
Code:
SCSI Storage controler: LSI Logic / Symbios Logic 53c875 (rev 03)


goran


Is there a listing for SMART2 anywhere? The one you listed above is the built-in SCSI controller (not RAID).
_________________
--brain
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
toMeloos
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 24 Jul 2003
Posts: 101
Location: The Netherlands

PostPosted: Fri Feb 20, 2004 3:43 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Ok, I need some on this one:

I'm trying to install Gentoo on a Compaq Proliant 1600. It has a Smart-2sl controller.

During installation I am not able to get a /dev/sd* or /dev/hd* so I have worked based on the /dev/ida/ devices. Because I did not have a hd* I've had to choose for lilo.
In the lilo configuration I've tried booting with root=/dev/ida/disc0/part4 and root=/dev/ida/c0d0p4. Both did not work while the kernel (basic livecd gentoo-2.4.20-r6 made with genkernel) detects the controller just fine and shows a scsi0 and scsi1. It results in a kernel panic because it cannot find root.

Also remarkable is that the debian installation I tried earlier did boot with the same lilo settings that I now have for the Gentoo installation.

Can anybody help me to get this thing booting???
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
brain
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 16 May 2002
Posts: 229
Location: Farmington Hills, MI

PostPosted: Fri Feb 20, 2004 10:45 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Which controller are you using. Can you boot off the liveCD and do a lspci, then post the output?
_________________
--brain
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
toMeloos
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 24 Jul 2003
Posts: 101
Location: The Netherlands

PostPosted: Fri Feb 20, 2004 10:57 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

actually.... I just fixed it!

I compiled my own vanilla-2.4.25 kernel and it did the trick.

In the kernel I included het Comapq Smart2 driver (cpqarray), all the RAID / LVM options and the required filesystems (in my case ext2 and ext3). It worked with /dev/ida/c0d0p4 as root in lilo.conf.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
brain
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 16 May 2002
Posts: 229
Location: Farmington Hills, MI

PostPosted: Thu Feb 26, 2004 2:08 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Congrats! :)
_________________
--brain
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Kiroku6
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 14 Feb 2004
Posts: 283
Location: unknown some hard drive on some server

PostPosted: Tue Mar 09, 2004 6:17 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Heres how my grub.conf looks, boots fine (used Genkernel with gentoo sources and --menuconfig option)

default=0
timeout=30
splashimage=/grub/splash.xpm.gz

title=Linux 2.4.24
root (hd0,0)
kernel /kernel-2.4.22-gentoo-r7 root=/dev/ram0 init=/linuxrc real_root=/dev/ida/disc1/part1
initrd /initrd-2.4.22-gentoo-r7


Im not looking at it, but if i remember correctly, this is it (it does not have (hd0,0) in the kernel or initrd).
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
smukec
n00b
n00b


Joined: 06 Dec 2003
Posts: 59
Location: Slovenia

PostPosted: Wed Mar 17, 2004 4:37 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

brain wrote:
smukec wrote:
I can't ssh to the machine right now, but I have written down the SCSI controller (from lspci):
Code:
SCSI Storage controler: LSI Logic / Symbios Logic 53c875 (rev 03)


goran


Is there a listing for SMART2 anywhere? The one you listed above is the built-in SCSI controller (not RAID).


It was sure this machine has (as I was told) a HW RAID controller. Add some lack of knowledge and the confusion was there. Sorry for the misleadings.


Now I'm retrying to make this machine alive. This time with the Gentoo 2004.0 LiveCD (universal).

Altough, the HD with Gentoo 1.4 is still intact. Here the problem is that it can't find the /dev/sda1 during boot.
During the installation of the new Gentoo I noticed the device:
Code:
/dev/scsi/host0/bus0/target1/lun/part1
(which is actually the second disk, where I'm installing the 2004.0) Can this path help anyhow?

After booting this are the outputs of lspci and lsmod:

Code:
livecd root # lspci
00:00.0 Host bridge: Intel Corp. 440FX - 82441FX PMC [Natoma] (rev 02)
00:0d.0 PCI bridge: IBM IBM27-82351 (rev 01)
00:0f.0 VGA compatible controller: Cirrus Logic GD 5430/40 [Alpine] (rev 22)
00:14.0 EISA bridge: Compaq Computer Corporation PCI to EISA Bridge (rev 07)
01:06.0 VGA compatible controller: Cirrus Logic GD 5430/40 [Alpine] (rev 22)
01:07.0 Network controller: Compaq Computer Corporation Netelligent Integrated 10/100 TX UTP (rev 10)
01:09.0 SCSI storage controller: LSI Logic / Symbios Logic 53c875 (rev 03)
livecd root # lsmod
Module                  Size  Used by    Not tainted
tlan                   24444   1
floppy                 47484   0  (autoclean)
serial                 48932   0  (autoclean) (unused)
parport                22728   0
isa-pnp                27856   0  [serial]
ncr53c8xx              51232   3
usb-storage            60672   0  (unused)
hid                    19620   0  (unused)
usbcore                56076   1  [usb-storage hid]

Obviously no sign of any RAID.

During the boot procedure the following hw was mentioned that was detected:
imm, in2000, ips, qla1280, sim710, sym53c416
? Is the sym53c415 an equivalent to ncr53c875 ?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
smukec
n00b
n00b


Joined: 06 Dec 2003
Posts: 59
Location: Slovenia

PostPosted: Thu Mar 18, 2004 7:58 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

OK, it seems it's solved.

I managed to install a working Gentoo 2004.0
But still don't know why it was not working with G1.4, even if I just duplicated a grub entry (only the disk was different).

I can only think of kernel options regading the SCSI support.

If can help anybody else with similar I'm posting the grub.conf.
Code:

# Boot automatically after 30 secs.
timeout 30
 
# By default, boot the first entry.
default 0
 
# Fallback to the second entry.
fallback 1
 
# Nice, fat splash-image to spice things up :)
splashimage=(hd0,0)/grub/splash.xpm.gz
 
title Gentoo 2004.0 (2.4.25)
root (hd0,0)
kernel /kernel-2.4.25 doscsi vga=371 root=/dev/sda3 mem=exactmap mem=640k@0 mem=63m@1M
 
title Gentoo 2004.0 (test)
root (hd0,0)
kernel /kernel-test doscsi vga=794 root=/dev/sda3 mem=exactmap mem=640k@0 mem=63m@1M

Note, that there is no special disk naming. The SCSI is detected before accessing the root partition (which didn't happened with G1.4).

If anybody interested in any system file(.config, grub.conf, ...) feel free to ask.

Thanks to everybody.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
trudolph
n00b
n00b


Joined: 25 Aug 2004
Posts: 3
Location: Winnipeg, Manitoba

PostPosted: Wed Aug 25, 2004 7:08 pm    Post subject: Problem Loading Modules Reply with quote

Hey Brain, great thread, so far it's been the most help to me.. or will I'm sure if I can get over this one hurdle that kind of has me stumped.

Someone else asked the same question in an earlier post but didn't get a response really.

I have a Compaq Proliant 3000 with the Smart Array-2DH controller in it, and 5 x 18.2GB drives configured as RAID5.

I have booted off both the Minimal AND Universal LiveCD's, but when I try to use ANY of the following commands once at a prompt:
modprobe cpqarray
modprobe sd_mod
modprobe sr_mod

I receive the errors:
modprobe: Can't locate module cpqarray
modprobe: Can't locate module sd_mod
modprobe: Can't locate module sr_mod

Am I missing something silly here? Where do these modules come from, and how do I find them to load modprobe them once I've booted off the LiveCD??

I was hoping the Minimal LiveCD did not have the modules so I tried the Universal LiveCD and I get the same results unfortunately.

When I do an lspci I get the following msg at the end of it:
Unknown mass storage controller: Compaq Computer Corporation Smart-2/P RAID Controller (rev 03)

If anyone can give any input into my problem it would be MUCH appreciated. Redhat seems to install and work fine, but currently I much prefer, and would rather use GENTOO.

Thanks a lot!!!
_________________
Travis
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
brain
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 16 May 2002
Posts: 229
Location: Farmington Hills, MI

PostPosted: Wed Aug 25, 2004 8:27 pm    Post subject: Re: Problem Loading Modules Reply with quote

trudolph wrote:
Hey Brain, great thread, so far it's been the most help to me.. or will I'm sure if I can get over this one hurdle that kind of has me stumped.


Thanks :)

trudolph wrote:

Someone else asked the same question in an earlier post but didn't get a response really.

I have a Compaq Proliant 3000 with the Smart Array-2DH controller in it, and 5 x 18.2GB drives configured as RAID5.

I have booted off both the Minimal AND Universal LiveCD's, but when I try to use ANY of the following commands once at a prompt:
modprobe cpqarray
modprobe sd_mod
modprobe sr_mod

I receive the errors:
modprobe: Can't locate module cpqarray
modprobe: Can't locate module sd_mod
modprobe: Can't locate module sr_mod

Am I missing something silly here? Where do these modules come from, and how do I find them to load modprobe them once I've booted off the LiveCD??

I was hoping the Minimal LiveCD did not have the modules so I tried the Universal LiveCD and I get the same results unfortunately.

When I do an lspci I get the following msg at the end of it:
Unknown mass storage controller: Compaq Computer Corporation Smart-2/P RAID Controller (rev 03)

If anyone can give any input into my problem it would be MUCH appreciated. Redhat seems to install and work fine, but currently I much prefer, and would rather use GENTOO.

Thanks a lot!!!


Are you using the new 2004.2 LiveCDs? If so, make sure you boot with the SMP kernel (whether you have SMP or not). The regular Gentoo kernel is using a 2.4 series image, which mysteriously is missing the cpqarray and cciss kernel modules.

Boot off the SMP kernel (which is 2.6) and do:
Code:

cd /lib/modules/`uname -r`/kernel/drivers/block; ls -l


Your RAID modules should be in there...they end with .ko in the 2.6 series, I can't remember if you need to do a "modprobe cpqarray.ko" or just "modprobe cpqarray".

Either way, booting the SMP kernel should take care of you.

EDIT:
Also, if you end up using development-sources (2.6 series), you may want to consider using the udev method for /dev instead of DevFS.
One of my oldest machines, a Proliant 6000 with 3 Smart/2 controllers is becoming a pain to upgrade since udev is changing the device node names from the way DevFS did. Just a heads-up, since this might effect your install if booting the 2.6 kernel on the LiveCD, then installing a 2.4 series.

_________________
--brain
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
brain
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 16 May 2002
Posts: 229
Location: Farmington Hills, MI

PostPosted: Wed Aug 25, 2004 8:41 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

smukec wrote:
OK, it seems it's solved.

I managed to install a working Gentoo 2004.0
But still don't know why it was not working with G1.4, even if I just duplicated a grub entry (only the disk was different).

I can only think of kernel options regading the SCSI support.

If can help anybody else with similar I'm posting the grub.conf.
Code:

# Boot automatically after 30 secs.
timeout 30
 
# By default, boot the first entry.
default 0
 
# Fallback to the second entry.
fallback 1
 
# Nice, fat splash-image to spice things up :)
splashimage=(hd0,0)/grub/splash.xpm.gz
 
title Gentoo 2004.0 (2.4.25)
root (hd0,0)
kernel /kernel-2.4.25 doscsi vga=371 root=/dev/sda3 mem=exactmap mem=640k@0 mem=63m@1M
 
title Gentoo 2004.0 (test)
root (hd0,0)
kernel /kernel-test doscsi vga=794 root=/dev/sda3 mem=exactmap mem=640k@0 mem=63m@1M

Note, that there is no special disk naming. The SCSI is detected before accessing the root partition (which didn't happened with G1.4).

If anybody interested in any system file(.config, grub.conf, ...) feel free to ask.

Thanks to everybody.


I realize this is an old post, but I want to clarify that in this particular grub.conf, the root=/dev/sda is referring to the internal Symbios SCSI controller, which is correct--there is no special naming.

The special naming is only required if you're using a Smart/2 or newer Compaq RAID card. The Symbios internal controllers are handled just like any other plain SCSI card.
_________________
--brain
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
trudolph
n00b
n00b


Joined: 25 Aug 2004
Posts: 3
Location: Winnipeg, Manitoba

PostPosted: Wed Aug 25, 2004 8:50 pm    Post subject: That did it!!! Reply with quote

Yay that did it, you are the brain!!! :)

I am able to load the cpqarray module now and use fdisk, etc...

I'm not familiar with the udev vs. DevFS, as up till now I've only used the 2.4 kernel. I think I will install the 2.6 kernel on this machine and try it out.

Do you know where I can read more about udev as opposed to DevFS?? Is this just something you compile in the kernel, instead of /dev?

I know that last question is off topic, so I'll just say THANK YOU THANK YOU for all your help Brain!! QUICK reply too, that was even better!!

Take care!
_________________
Travis
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
brain
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 16 May 2002
Posts: 229
Location: Farmington Hills, MI

PostPosted: Wed Aug 25, 2004 8:56 pm    Post subject: Re: That did it!!! Reply with quote

trudolph wrote:
Yay that did it, you are the brain!!! :)

I am able to load the cpqarray module now and use fdisk, etc...

I'm not familiar with the udev vs. DevFS, as up till now I've only used the 2.4 kernel. I think I will install the 2.6 kernel on this machine and try it out.

Do you know where I can read more about udev as opposed to DevFS?? Is this just something you compile in the kernel, instead of /dev?

I know that last question is off topic, so I'll just say THANK YOU THANK YOU for all your help Brain!! QUICK reply too, that was even better!!

Take care!


Sure, the Gentoo doc team has done a great job and posted a how-to here:

http://www.gentoo.org/doc/en/udev-guide.xml

If you get it working, do us a favor and post back your experience in this thread. I've been using udev on a few non-RAID Compaq boxes, but haven't had the chance to try it out on a Smart/2 box.
_________________
--brain
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Documentation, Tips & Tricks All times are GMT
Goto page 1, 2, 3  Next
Page 1 of 3

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum