View previous topic :: View next topic |
Author |
Message |
brain Apprentice
Joined: 16 May 2002 Posts: 229 Location: Farmington Hills, MI
|
Posted: Mon Sep 09, 2002 6:30 pm Post subject: Gentoo Installation guide for Grub/Compaq Smart2 controllers |
|
|
I finally got the job at work to install Gentoo on a trusty old Proliant 1600.
But, as apparently many others have--I ran into the lovely Grub/Smart2 problems. I prefer Grub over LILO, so I was determined to get it working.
I tried looking at this thread, but the instructions didn't exacly apply to a Smart2 controller.
After searching the forums, and Google, and reading stuff in the Linux kernel source documentation for the cpqarray driver I came across a solution that should work for everybody using these controllers.
The hardware I used to establish these instructions:
Compaq Proliant 1600 / Dual P-II
On-board Symbios SCSI
512MB RAM
1 Smart2/DH Controller
Single RAID5 container (5 x 4.3GB)
Step 1 - Installing the kernel modules
Boot off the Gentoo CD like usual, and follow the Installation Guide. When you get to inserting modules, also modprobe the following:
Code: | modprobe cpqarray
modprobe sd_mod
modprobe sr_mod
|
Go ahead and modprobe any other modules you need for your machine.
Step 2 - Partitioning
Partition your disks as you feel fit. The cpqarray driver has a different naming scheme for the disk devices than plain-old SCSI. The table below shows the equivalents.
Code: |
"/dev/sda" = /dev/ida/c0d0/disc
"/dev/sda1" = /dev/ida/c0d0/part1
"/dev/sda2" = /dev/ida/c0d0/part2
"/dev/sdb1" = /dev/ida/c0d1/part1
...etc.
|
Make sure you write down your partition mappings (i.e. /dev/ida/c0d0/part2 = swap /dev/ida/c0d0/part1 = /boot). You'll need them later.
Step 3 - Mounting the chroot'd /dev
Just before you chroot to your new Gentoo installation (chroot /mnt/gentoo /bin/bash), also run the following:
Code: | mount -o bind /dev /mnt/gentoo/dev |
You need to do this to allow the /dev/ida/c0d0/* devices to get recognized inside the chrooted shell. By default, the Gentoo stage1 tar.gz does not create these nodes.
Step 4 - Kernel configuration
Keep following the installation guide. When you get to the kernel configuration, be sure to include the Smart2 controller driver (under Block Devices) into the kernel. Don't forget about SCSI disk/cdrom support. The vanilla-sources-2.4.19 .config file I used is posted here.
Step 5 - Setting up /etc/fstab
When you get to editing your /etc/fstab file, reformat the /dev/ida/* listings like so:
Code: | /dev/ida/disc0/part1 /boot ext3 noauto,noatime 1 2
/dev/ida/disc0/part3 / ext3 noatime 0 1
/dev/ida/disc0/part2 none swap sw 0 0 |
Obviously, replace the filesystem type and partition/disc numbers with your own. Notice that the disc is referred to as "disc0" instead of c0d0 at this point.
Step 6 - Grub
Now the fun part. Follow the installation guide for installing grub. When you get to this part:
Code: | grub> root (hd0,0)
grub> setup (hd0)
grub> quit |
Replace the "setup" line with:
Code: | setup --stage2=/boot/grub/stage2 (hd0) |
I believe the reason this is necessary is that Grub doesn't understand the /dev/ida/* disk setup and needs to be forced to know where to get the stage2 files from.
Step 7 - menu.lst
Finally, you need to set up your Grub menu.list file like this:
Code: | default 0
timeout 10
splashimage=(hd0,0)/boot/grub/splash.xpm.gz
title=Linux-2.4.19
root (hd0,0)
kernel /boot/bzImage root=/dev/ida/c0d0p3 |
Paying special attention to root=/dev/ida/c0d0p3. Replace c0dYpX with "X" being your "/" partition, and "Y" being the disk (ie. sda = c0d0, sdb = c0d1) If you don't refer to the partition in this fashion, the Linux kernel will panic not being able to find "/"
That's it. I think the tough part about this is that the controller/disks are referred to three different ways throughout the install (/dev/ida/c0d0/part1 /dev/ida/disc0/part1, /dev/ida/c0d0p1, etc.)
Hope this helps someone, let me know if there are any mistakes. I wrote this from memory! _________________ --brain |
|
Back to top |
|
|
duanel n00b
Joined: 16 Nov 2002 Posts: 2
|
Posted: Wed Dec 18, 2002 2:31 am Post subject: |
|
|
Here's a note to help you get a proliant working (in my case a 2500) with a Smart2/p Raid Controller and a PCI ATA100 IDE controller.
My system is different in that I want the system to be installed on the SCSI RAID array, and my data to be on the larger, cheaper, ATA100 drive(s).
The Proliant's system partition (kind of like a proprietary BIOS) doesn't allow you to specify the boot order of a non-Compaq controller... the hardware configuration tool just sees it as a "Mass Storage Controller." The Proliant then insists that it boot from the 1st hard drive it finds... which, coincidentally, is the primary master connected to the PCI add-on controller.
The best work-around for this is to create your boot partition on that drive (in this case /dev/ide/hd/c2b0t0u0p1, equivalent to /dev/hda1_, then configure grub on that drive:
grub> root (hd0,0)
grub> setup (hd0)
grub> quit
Make sure the the boot partition is properly set up in /etc/fstab:
/dev/ide/hd/c2b0t0u0p1 /boot auto noauto,noatime 1 1
And, finally make sure that menu.lst is set up to point to the second drive seen on the system... the raid array... (hd1,0).
I apologize if this explanation is scatter-brained, but I've been working on this proprietary hardware in my (limited) spare time for weeks and it's just starting to work. I'll update it when I'm better prepared. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
BurnedOutGeek n00b
Joined: 17 Aug 2003 Posts: 27
|
Posted: Wed Aug 20, 2003 4:40 pm Post subject: |
|
|
I know this is an old post, but I thought I would try anyway. I have followed the instructions and they havw worked PERFECTLY, unitl the boot sequesnce. I start to boot the kernel, and everytime, I get a kernel panic because the system cant find root.
I have checked and made sure that my grub line is correct and says:
root=/dev/ida/disc0/c0d0p3
Any suggestions?
Mark |
|
Back to top |
|
|
bmedwar n00b
Joined: 17 Sep 2003 Posts: 4
|
Posted: Wed Sep 17, 2003 6:09 pm Post subject: Can't locate module sd_mod |
|
|
any idea why this happens? 1.4-Release...
cdimage root # modprobe sd_mod
modprobe: Can't locate module sd_mod |
|
Back to top |
|
|
BurnedOutGeek n00b
Joined: 17 Aug 2003 Posts: 27
|
Posted: Wed Sep 17, 2003 7:47 pm Post subject: |
|
|
It didnt matter for my machine. Niether sd-Mod or sr_mod would load, but all I needed was cpqarray anyways. What kind of machine are you working on?
Mark |
|
Back to top |
|
|
bmedwar n00b
Joined: 17 Sep 2003 Posts: 4
|
Posted: Wed Sep 17, 2003 8:20 pm Post subject: Compaq Proliant 800 with SMART-2/DH |
|
|
I'm working on a Compaq Proliant 800 with SMART-2/DH RAID controller. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
cj52973 n00b
Joined: 04 Nov 2003 Posts: 1
|
Posted: Tue Nov 04, 2003 2:19 pm Post subject: |
|
|
I'm working on a Compaq Proliant 1600 with a SMART-2sl controller. I'm also having an issue getting the system to boot once the install is complete.
Using Gentoo 1.4, I've tried lilo and grub the system boots then panics because it can't find the root partitiion. I'm using the xfs-sources and enableing the SMART controller options. All paths look correct according to the supplied documentation.
What am I missing useing...
Chris |
|
Back to top |
|
|
brain Apprentice
Joined: 16 May 2002 Posts: 229 Location: Farmington Hills, MI
|
Posted: Fri Jan 16, 2004 10:01 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Are you guys still having trouble? Posting some verbose errors might help out a bit. _________________ --brain |
|
Back to top |
|
|
azndante n00b
Joined: 18 Apr 2003 Posts: 4 Location: Kansas
|
Posted: Wed Jan 21, 2004 8:46 am Post subject: |
|
|
I don't know if you still have problems.. I am also using XFS on mine, and I also had the kernel panics. However, I changed the /dev/ida/c0d0p6 to /dev/ida/c1d0p6 (where p6 is my boot partition) and it all worked. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
smukec n00b
Joined: 06 Dec 2003 Posts: 59 Location: Slovenia
|
Posted: Wed Jan 21, 2004 11:41 am Post subject: |
|
|
I don' manage to setup my Proliant 2500R
- I had memory problem, but managed to persuade the machine to accept the correct ammount thanks to brian's another thread.
- Then I was not able to compile 'gentoo-soruces' (2.4.22) and emerged 'vanilla-source' (2.4.24), emerged genkernel again, created a new /usr/src/linux link
- genkernel again
I have a problem that there is no /lib/modules/2.4.22 (at least I think it is a problem)
After reboot it starts to load, but fails to find /dev/ida and /dev/ataraid either.
After booting the CD
Code: | gentoo doataraid doscsi dokeymap mem=exactmap mem=640k@0 mem=63m@1M |
I can't load none of cpqarray, sd_mod and sr_mod
It adds only a notification line in dmesg for 'modprobe cpqarray':
Code: | Compaq SMART2 Driver (v 2.4.25) |
Is it possible that I still have some parts of gentoo-sources?
Do I have to restart the procedure (mke2fs, ...)?
I have followed the instaructions and my grub.conf looks:
Code: | title=My Gentoo Linux on RAID
root (hd0,0)
kernel (hd0,0)/boot/kernel-2.4.24 root=/dev/ataraid/c0d0p1
initrd (hd0,0)/boot/initrd-2.4.24 |
If it helps, here is my lsmod:
Code: | Module Size Used by
tlan 24088 1
floppy 47004 0 (autoclean)
serial 48932 0 (autoclean) (unused)
isa-pnp 28100 0 (autoclean) [serial]
cloop 5520 1
usb-storage 59372 0 (unused)
hid 12564 0 (unused)
usbcore 55712 1 [usb-storage hid]
ataraid 6596 0
ncr53c8xx 51412 3 |
I've installed from stage1.
Goran |
|
Back to top |
|
|
brain Apprentice
Joined: 16 May 2002 Posts: 229 Location: Farmington Hills, MI
|
Posted: Fri Jan 23, 2004 3:27 am Post subject: |
|
|
smukec wrote: | I don' manage to setup my Proliant 2500R
- I had memory problem, but managed to persuade the machine to accept the correct ammount thanks to brian's another thread.
- Then I was not able to compile 'gentoo-soruces' (2.4.22) and emerged 'vanilla-source' (2.4.24), emerged genkernel again, created a new /usr/src/linux link
- genkernel again
I have a problem that there is no /lib/modules/2.4.22 (at least I think it is a problem)
After reboot it starts to load, but fails to find /dev/ida and /dev/ataraid either.
After booting the CD
Code: | gentoo doataraid doscsi dokeymap mem=exactmap mem=640k@0 mem=63m@1M |
I can't load none of cpqarray, sd_mod and sr_mod
It adds only a notification line in dmesg for 'modprobe cpqarray':
Code: | Compaq SMART2 Driver (v 2.4.25) |
Is it possible that I still have some parts of gentoo-sources?
Do I have to restart the procedure (mke2fs, ...)?
I have followed the instaructions and my grub.conf looks:
Code: | title=My Gentoo Linux on RAID
root (hd0,0)
kernel (hd0,0)/boot/kernel-2.4.24 root=/dev/ataraid/c0d0p1
initrd (hd0,0)/boot/initrd-2.4.24 |
If it helps, here is my lsmod:
Code: | Module Size Used by
tlan 24088 1
floppy 47004 0 (autoclean)
serial 48932 0 (autoclean) (unused)
isa-pnp 28100 0 (autoclean) [serial]
cloop 5520 1
usb-storage 59372 0 (unused)
hid 12564 0 (unused)
usbcore 55712 1 [usb-storage hid]
ataraid 6596 0
ncr53c8xx 51412 3 |
I've installed from stage1.
Goran |
So wait a second, do you have a Smart2 controller or an ATA RAID Controller? They're completely different things! A friend of mine tried to get a secondary ATA controller working in a 2500, to much of his frustration. These machines are picky enough with the built-in hardware.
Another recommendation is to stick with the vanilla-sources on these bad boys. They're older machines and do not tend to play well with the high-end tweaks in the Gentoo sources.
if possible, try booting off the LiveCD and giving us the output of a lspci. _________________ --brain |
|
Back to top |
|
|
smukec n00b
Joined: 06 Dec 2003 Posts: 59 Location: Slovenia
|
Posted: Fri Jan 23, 2004 4:45 pm Post subject: |
|
|
I can't ssh to the machine right now, but I have written down the SCSI controller (from lspci):
Code: | SCSI Storage controler: LSI Logic / Symbios Logic 53c875 (rev 03) |
goran |
|
Back to top |
|
|
brain Apprentice
Joined: 16 May 2002 Posts: 229 Location: Farmington Hills, MI
|
Posted: Fri Jan 23, 2004 6:01 pm Post subject: |
|
|
smukec wrote: | I can't ssh to the machine right now, but I have written down the SCSI controller (from lspci):
Code: | SCSI Storage controler: LSI Logic / Symbios Logic 53c875 (rev 03) |
goran |
Is there a listing for SMART2 anywhere? The one you listed above is the built-in SCSI controller (not RAID). _________________ --brain |
|
Back to top |
|
|
toMeloos Tux's lil' helper
Joined: 24 Jul 2003 Posts: 101 Location: The Netherlands
|
Posted: Fri Feb 20, 2004 3:43 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Ok, I need some on this one:
I'm trying to install Gentoo on a Compaq Proliant 1600. It has a Smart-2sl controller.
During installation I am not able to get a /dev/sd* or /dev/hd* so I have worked based on the /dev/ida/ devices. Because I did not have a hd* I've had to choose for lilo.
In the lilo configuration I've tried booting with root=/dev/ida/disc0/part4 and root=/dev/ida/c0d0p4. Both did not work while the kernel (basic livecd gentoo-2.4.20-r6 made with genkernel) detects the controller just fine and shows a scsi0 and scsi1. It results in a kernel panic because it cannot find root.
Also remarkable is that the debian installation I tried earlier did boot with the same lilo settings that I now have for the Gentoo installation.
Can anybody help me to get this thing booting??? |
|
Back to top |
|
|
brain Apprentice
Joined: 16 May 2002 Posts: 229 Location: Farmington Hills, MI
|
Posted: Fri Feb 20, 2004 10:45 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Which controller are you using. Can you boot off the liveCD and do a lspci, then post the output? _________________ --brain |
|
Back to top |
|
|
toMeloos Tux's lil' helper
Joined: 24 Jul 2003 Posts: 101 Location: The Netherlands
|
Posted: Fri Feb 20, 2004 10:57 pm Post subject: |
|
|
actually.... I just fixed it!
I compiled my own vanilla-2.4.25 kernel and it did the trick.
In the kernel I included het Comapq Smart2 driver (cpqarray), all the RAID / LVM options and the required filesystems (in my case ext2 and ext3). It worked with /dev/ida/c0d0p4 as root in lilo.conf. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
brain Apprentice
Joined: 16 May 2002 Posts: 229 Location: Farmington Hills, MI
|
Posted: Thu Feb 26, 2004 2:08 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Congrats! _________________ --brain |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Kiroku6 Apprentice
Joined: 14 Feb 2004 Posts: 283 Location: unknown some hard drive on some server
|
Posted: Tue Mar 09, 2004 6:17 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Heres how my grub.conf looks, boots fine (used Genkernel with gentoo sources and --menuconfig option)
default=0
timeout=30
splashimage=/grub/splash.xpm.gz
title=Linux 2.4.24
root (hd0,0)
kernel /kernel-2.4.22-gentoo-r7 root=/dev/ram0 init=/linuxrc real_root=/dev/ida/disc1/part1
initrd /initrd-2.4.22-gentoo-r7
Im not looking at it, but if i remember correctly, this is it (it does not have (hd0,0) in the kernel or initrd). |
|
Back to top |
|
|
smukec n00b
Joined: 06 Dec 2003 Posts: 59 Location: Slovenia
|
Posted: Wed Mar 17, 2004 4:37 pm Post subject: |
|
|
brain wrote: | smukec wrote: | I can't ssh to the machine right now, but I have written down the SCSI controller (from lspci):
Code: | SCSI Storage controler: LSI Logic / Symbios Logic 53c875 (rev 03) |
goran |
Is there a listing for SMART2 anywhere? The one you listed above is the built-in SCSI controller (not RAID). |
It was sure this machine has (as I was told) a HW RAID controller. Add some lack of knowledge and the confusion was there. Sorry for the misleadings.
Now I'm retrying to make this machine alive. This time with the Gentoo 2004.0 LiveCD (universal).
Altough, the HD with Gentoo 1.4 is still intact. Here the problem is that it can't find the /dev/sda1 during boot.
During the installation of the new Gentoo I noticed the device:
Code: | /dev/scsi/host0/bus0/target1/lun/part1 | (which is actually the second disk, where I'm installing the 2004.0) Can this path help anyhow?
After booting this are the outputs of lspci and lsmod:
Code: | livecd root # lspci
00:00.0 Host bridge: Intel Corp. 440FX - 82441FX PMC [Natoma] (rev 02)
00:0d.0 PCI bridge: IBM IBM27-82351 (rev 01)
00:0f.0 VGA compatible controller: Cirrus Logic GD 5430/40 [Alpine] (rev 22)
00:14.0 EISA bridge: Compaq Computer Corporation PCI to EISA Bridge (rev 07)
01:06.0 VGA compatible controller: Cirrus Logic GD 5430/40 [Alpine] (rev 22)
01:07.0 Network controller: Compaq Computer Corporation Netelligent Integrated 10/100 TX UTP (rev 10)
01:09.0 SCSI storage controller: LSI Logic / Symbios Logic 53c875 (rev 03)
livecd root # lsmod
Module Size Used by Not tainted
tlan 24444 1
floppy 47484 0 (autoclean)
serial 48932 0 (autoclean) (unused)
parport 22728 0
isa-pnp 27856 0 [serial]
ncr53c8xx 51232 3
usb-storage 60672 0 (unused)
hid 19620 0 (unused)
usbcore 56076 1 [usb-storage hid] |
Obviously no sign of any RAID.
During the boot procedure the following hw was mentioned that was detected:
imm, in2000, ips, qla1280, sim710, sym53c416
? Is the sym53c415 an equivalent to ncr53c875 ? |
|
Back to top |
|
|
smukec n00b
Joined: 06 Dec 2003 Posts: 59 Location: Slovenia
|
Posted: Thu Mar 18, 2004 7:58 am Post subject: |
|
|
OK, it seems it's solved.
I managed to install a working Gentoo 2004.0
But still don't know why it was not working with G1.4, even if I just duplicated a grub entry (only the disk was different).
I can only think of kernel options regading the SCSI support.
If can help anybody else with similar I'm posting the grub.conf.
Code: |
# Boot automatically after 30 secs.
timeout 30
# By default, boot the first entry.
default 0
# Fallback to the second entry.
fallback 1
# Nice, fat splash-image to spice things up :)
splashimage=(hd0,0)/grub/splash.xpm.gz
title Gentoo 2004.0 (2.4.25)
root (hd0,0)
kernel /kernel-2.4.25 doscsi vga=371 root=/dev/sda3 mem=exactmap mem=640k@0 mem=63m@1M
title Gentoo 2004.0 (test)
root (hd0,0)
kernel /kernel-test doscsi vga=794 root=/dev/sda3 mem=exactmap mem=640k@0 mem=63m@1M
|
Note, that there is no special disk naming. The SCSI is detected before accessing the root partition (which didn't happened with G1.4).
If anybody interested in any system file(.config, grub.conf, ...) feel free to ask.
Thanks to everybody. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
trudolph n00b
Joined: 25 Aug 2004 Posts: 3 Location: Winnipeg, Manitoba
|
Posted: Wed Aug 25, 2004 7:08 pm Post subject: Problem Loading Modules |
|
|
Hey Brain, great thread, so far it's been the most help to me.. or will I'm sure if I can get over this one hurdle that kind of has me stumped.
Someone else asked the same question in an earlier post but didn't get a response really.
I have a Compaq Proliant 3000 with the Smart Array-2DH controller in it, and 5 x 18.2GB drives configured as RAID5.
I have booted off both the Minimal AND Universal LiveCD's, but when I try to use ANY of the following commands once at a prompt:
modprobe cpqarray
modprobe sd_mod
modprobe sr_mod
I receive the errors:
modprobe: Can't locate module cpqarray
modprobe: Can't locate module sd_mod
modprobe: Can't locate module sr_mod
Am I missing something silly here? Where do these modules come from, and how do I find them to load modprobe them once I've booted off the LiveCD??
I was hoping the Minimal LiveCD did not have the modules so I tried the Universal LiveCD and I get the same results unfortunately.
When I do an lspci I get the following msg at the end of it:
Unknown mass storage controller: Compaq Computer Corporation Smart-2/P RAID Controller (rev 03)
If anyone can give any input into my problem it would be MUCH appreciated. Redhat seems to install and work fine, but currently I much prefer, and would rather use GENTOO.
Thanks a lot!!! _________________ Travis |
|
Back to top |
|
|
brain Apprentice
Joined: 16 May 2002 Posts: 229 Location: Farmington Hills, MI
|
Posted: Wed Aug 25, 2004 8:27 pm Post subject: Re: Problem Loading Modules |
|
|
trudolph wrote: | Hey Brain, great thread, so far it's been the most help to me.. or will I'm sure if I can get over this one hurdle that kind of has me stumped.
|
Thanks
trudolph wrote: |
Someone else asked the same question in an earlier post but didn't get a response really.
I have a Compaq Proliant 3000 with the Smart Array-2DH controller in it, and 5 x 18.2GB drives configured as RAID5.
I have booted off both the Minimal AND Universal LiveCD's, but when I try to use ANY of the following commands once at a prompt:
modprobe cpqarray
modprobe sd_mod
modprobe sr_mod
I receive the errors:
modprobe: Can't locate module cpqarray
modprobe: Can't locate module sd_mod
modprobe: Can't locate module sr_mod
Am I missing something silly here? Where do these modules come from, and how do I find them to load modprobe them once I've booted off the LiveCD??
I was hoping the Minimal LiveCD did not have the modules so I tried the Universal LiveCD and I get the same results unfortunately.
When I do an lspci I get the following msg at the end of it:
Unknown mass storage controller: Compaq Computer Corporation Smart-2/P RAID Controller (rev 03)
If anyone can give any input into my problem it would be MUCH appreciated. Redhat seems to install and work fine, but currently I much prefer, and would rather use GENTOO.
Thanks a lot!!! |
Are you using the new 2004.2 LiveCDs? If so, make sure you boot with the SMP kernel (whether you have SMP or not). The regular Gentoo kernel is using a 2.4 series image, which mysteriously is missing the cpqarray and cciss kernel modules.
Boot off the SMP kernel (which is 2.6) and do:
Code: |
cd /lib/modules/`uname -r`/kernel/drivers/block; ls -l
|
Your RAID modules should be in there...they end with .ko in the 2.6 series, I can't remember if you need to do a "modprobe cpqarray.ko" or just "modprobe cpqarray".
Either way, booting the SMP kernel should take care of you.
EDIT:
Also, if you end up using development-sources (2.6 series), you may want to consider using the udev method for /dev instead of DevFS.
One of my oldest machines, a Proliant 6000 with 3 Smart/2 controllers is becoming a pain to upgrade since udev is changing the device node names from the way DevFS did. Just a heads-up, since this might effect your install if booting the 2.6 kernel on the LiveCD, then installing a 2.4 series.
_________________ --brain |
|
Back to top |
|
|
brain Apprentice
Joined: 16 May 2002 Posts: 229 Location: Farmington Hills, MI
|
Posted: Wed Aug 25, 2004 8:41 pm Post subject: |
|
|
smukec wrote: | OK, it seems it's solved.
I managed to install a working Gentoo 2004.0
But still don't know why it was not working with G1.4, even if I just duplicated a grub entry (only the disk was different).
I can only think of kernel options regading the SCSI support.
If can help anybody else with similar I'm posting the grub.conf.
Code: |
# Boot automatically after 30 secs.
timeout 30
# By default, boot the first entry.
default 0
# Fallback to the second entry.
fallback 1
# Nice, fat splash-image to spice things up :)
splashimage=(hd0,0)/grub/splash.xpm.gz
title Gentoo 2004.0 (2.4.25)
root (hd0,0)
kernel /kernel-2.4.25 doscsi vga=371 root=/dev/sda3 mem=exactmap mem=640k@0 mem=63m@1M
title Gentoo 2004.0 (test)
root (hd0,0)
kernel /kernel-test doscsi vga=794 root=/dev/sda3 mem=exactmap mem=640k@0 mem=63m@1M
|
Note, that there is no special disk naming. The SCSI is detected before accessing the root partition (which didn't happened with G1.4).
If anybody interested in any system file(.config, grub.conf, ...) feel free to ask.
Thanks to everybody. |
I realize this is an old post, but I want to clarify that in this particular grub.conf, the root=/dev/sda is referring to the internal Symbios SCSI controller, which is correct--there is no special naming.
The special naming is only required if you're using a Smart/2 or newer Compaq RAID card. The Symbios internal controllers are handled just like any other plain SCSI card. _________________ --brain |
|
Back to top |
|
|
trudolph n00b
Joined: 25 Aug 2004 Posts: 3 Location: Winnipeg, Manitoba
|
Posted: Wed Aug 25, 2004 8:50 pm Post subject: That did it!!! |
|
|
Yay that did it, you are the brain!!!
I am able to load the cpqarray module now and use fdisk, etc...
I'm not familiar with the udev vs. DevFS, as up till now I've only used the 2.4 kernel. I think I will install the 2.6 kernel on this machine and try it out.
Do you know where I can read more about udev as opposed to DevFS?? Is this just something you compile in the kernel, instead of /dev?
I know that last question is off topic, so I'll just say THANK YOU THANK YOU for all your help Brain!! QUICK reply too, that was even better!!
Take care! _________________ Travis |
|
Back to top |
|
|
brain Apprentice
Joined: 16 May 2002 Posts: 229 Location: Farmington Hills, MI
|
Posted: Wed Aug 25, 2004 8:56 pm Post subject: Re: That did it!!! |
|
|
trudolph wrote: | Yay that did it, you are the brain!!!
I am able to load the cpqarray module now and use fdisk, etc...
I'm not familiar with the udev vs. DevFS, as up till now I've only used the 2.4 kernel. I think I will install the 2.6 kernel on this machine and try it out.
Do you know where I can read more about udev as opposed to DevFS?? Is this just something you compile in the kernel, instead of /dev?
I know that last question is off topic, so I'll just say THANK YOU THANK YOU for all your help Brain!! QUICK reply too, that was even better!!
Take care! |
Sure, the Gentoo doc team has done a great job and posted a how-to here:
http://www.gentoo.org/doc/en/udev-guide.xml
If you get it working, do us a favor and post back your experience in this thread. I've been using udev on a few non-RAID Compaq boxes, but haven't had the chance to try it out on a Smart/2 box. _________________ --brain |
|
Back to top |
|
|
|
|
You cannot post new topics in this forum You cannot reply to topics in this forum You cannot edit your posts in this forum You cannot delete your posts in this forum You cannot vote in polls in this forum
|
|