View previous topic :: View next topic |
Author |
Message |
TheCoop Veteran
Joined: 15 Jun 2002 Posts: 1814 Location: Where you least expect it
|
Posted: Wed Sep 11, 2002 12:32 pm Post subject: Getting the framebuffer to work with nvidia graphics cards |
|
|
Ok, I have tried and tried to get the framebuffer working with my gf4 ti, and have finally found the solution:
kernel config:
whether you use the nvagp driver or the kernel agpgart depends on your motherboard chipset, which can be found here: http://www.gentoo.org/doc/nvidia_tsg.html#doc_chap2
disable or enable the agpgart support in the kernel depending on your chipset, enable processor mtrr support, and enable all the usual framebuffer options (listed in the framebuffer howto), DISABLE the rivafb module but ENABLE the vesa module (and no other gfx card modules), and recompile the kernel
in your /boot/grub/menu.lst, add the following to the end of your kernel boot line (with bzImage...):
vga=ask video=vesa:ywrap,mtrr
reboot. A menu should come up with all the strange 640x480 modes listed, but instead enter 0317 at the prompt, to give you a 1024x768x16bit console resolution (even though it isnt in the menu)
hopefully the logo should come up at the top!
if it works, edit menu.lst so this is on the kernel line:
vga=791<change if needed> video=vesa:ywrap,mtrr _________________ 95% of all computer errors occur between chair and keyboard (TM)
"One World, One web, One program" - Microsoft Promo ad.
"Ein Volk, Ein Reich, Ein Führer" - Adolf Hitler
Change the world - move a rock
Last edited by TheCoop on Sun Jan 19, 2003 9:46 am; edited 4 times in total |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Tuxisuau Apprentice
Joined: 04 May 2002 Posts: 213 Location: Catalunya (Europe)
|
Posted: Wed Sep 11, 2002 4:01 pm Post subject: |
|
|
There's no need to disable the agpgart and the mttr.
(Here with a 600MHz athlon / Asus K7V motherboard / VIA KX133 chipset / GF4 MX440) _________________ IM me at tuxisuau@jabber.7a69ezine.org |
|
Back to top |
|
|
TheCoop Veteran
Joined: 15 Jun 2002 Posts: 1814 Location: Where you least expect it
|
Posted: Wed Sep 11, 2002 5:54 pm Post subject: |
|
|
some chipsets need the nvagp driver, and the mtrr driver improves performance _________________ 95% of all computer errors occur between chair and keyboard (TM)
"One World, One web, One program" - Microsoft Promo ad.
"Ein Volk, Ein Reich, Ein Führer" - Adolf Hitler
Change the world - move a rock |
|
Back to top |
|
|
voidzero Bodhisattva
Joined: 21 Jul 2002 Posts: 265 Location: Grnn
|
Posted: Thu Sep 12, 2002 12:27 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Tuxisuau wrote: | There's no need to disable the agpgart and the mttr.
(Here with a 600MHz athlon / Asus K7V motherboard / VIA KX133 chipset / GF4 MX440) |
It is here... _________________ Diplomacy is the art of letting the other party have things your way.
-- Daniele Vare |
|
Back to top |
|
|
TheCoop Veteran
Joined: 15 Jun 2002 Posts: 1814 Location: Where you least expect it
|
Posted: Thu Sep 12, 2002 4:15 pm Post subject: |
|
|
nvagp/agpgart depends on your chipset
ive updated the origional post for this _________________ 95% of all computer errors occur between chair and keyboard (TM)
"One World, One web, One program" - Microsoft Promo ad.
"Ein Volk, Ein Reich, Ein Führer" - Adolf Hitler
Change the world - move a rock |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Tuxisuau Apprentice
Joined: 04 May 2002 Posts: 213 Location: Catalunya (Europe)
|
Posted: Fri Sep 13, 2002 12:27 am Post subject: |
|
|
I trust more kernel's agpgart than nvidia's one. In my machine, it's probed to be more stable this way. (with nvidia agpgart I get random hangs) _________________ IM me at tuxisuau@jabber.7a69ezine.org |
|
Back to top |
|
|
voidzero Bodhisattva
Joined: 21 Jul 2002 Posts: 265 Location: Grnn
|
Posted: Fri Sep 13, 2002 8:52 am Post subject: |
|
|
Is there any way to get 1152x864 or even 1280x1024 fb resolution? I tried various other modes but they don't work? _________________ Diplomacy is the art of letting the other party have things your way.
-- Daniele Vare |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Kruuse n00b
Joined: 29 Aug 2002 Posts: 15 Location: Denmark
|
Posted: Fri Sep 13, 2002 10:05 am Post subject: |
|
|
Thank you, TheCoop. You just made me very happy.
Now I use:
vga=791 video=vesa:ywrap,mtrr
(791 = 0x0317)
Cheers,
Jens |
|
Back to top |
|
|
arkane l33t
Joined: 30 Apr 2002 Posts: 918 Location: Phoenix, AZ
|
Posted: Sun Sep 15, 2002 12:35 am Post subject: |
|
|
vocis wrote: | Is there any way to get 1152x864 or even 1280x1024 fb resolution? I tried various other modes but they don't work? |
I'd love to know that, also. I tried 31B, but that doesn't seem to work. (according to the /usr/src/linux/Documentation/fb/vesafb.txt file, 31B is 1280x1024-16k colors.)
Maybe I'll try 31A, which is 1280x1024-64K colors... (I still have "ask" on right now, so I can experiment) |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Tuxisuau Apprentice
Joined: 04 May 2002 Posts: 213 Location: Catalunya (Europe)
|
Posted: Sun Sep 15, 2002 8:20 am Post subject: |
|
|
I have the same problem... 31B mode never worked on me. Maybe we should file a kernel bug. _________________ IM me at tuxisuau@jabber.7a69ezine.org |
|
Back to top |
|
|
voidzero Bodhisattva
Joined: 21 Jul 2002 Posts: 265 Location: Grnn
|
Posted: Sun Sep 15, 2002 10:51 am Post subject: |
|
|
I think not -- I'm using the nvidia-driver not the xfree driver anyway. _________________ Diplomacy is the art of letting the other party have things your way.
-- Daniele Vare |
|
Back to top |
|
|
arkane l33t
Joined: 30 Apr 2002 Posts: 918 Location: Phoenix, AZ
|
Posted: Sun Sep 15, 2002 5:57 pm Post subject: |
|
|
vocis wrote: | I think not -- I'm using the nvidia-driver not the xfree driver anyway. |
Huh? You've lost me...
You never really use the nvidia driver at all until your in xfree. Everything is taken care of by the vesafb. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
voidzero Bodhisattva
Joined: 21 Jul 2002 Posts: 265 Location: Grnn
|
Posted: Sun Sep 15, 2002 9:28 pm Post subject: |
|
|
hmm... ok I thought it was one and the same module but I guess I'm mistaking there.. never mind
Mark _________________ Diplomacy is the art of letting the other party have things your way.
-- Daniele Vare |
|
Back to top |
|
|
ghost_o Tux's lil' helper
Joined: 10 Jul 2002 Posts: 119
|
Posted: Mon Sep 16, 2002 3:03 am Post subject: |
|
|
vocis wrote: | hmm... ok I thought it was one and the same module but I guess I'm mistaking there.. never mind
Mark |
Right, the video=vesa has to be video=riva to use the rivafb ( fb driver for riva and geforce cards) -- also, vga=372 (whatever you use) will not work, you have to pass the kernel: example: video=riva:1024x768-16@60
RivaFB support must be compiled intot he kernel for this to work. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
nitro322 Guru
Joined: 24 Jul 2002 Posts: 596 Location: USA
|
Posted: Tue Sep 17, 2002 2:56 pm Post subject: |
|
|
According to the nvidia README:
Quote: | Using both rivafb and the NVdriver kernel module at the same time is currently broken. In general, using two independent software drivers to drive the same piece of hardware is a bad idea. |
So, if we can't use rivafb, and the nvidia driver isn't used until loading X, how exactly do we get the accelerated framebuffer? I have fb working on my computer using plain VESA, but obviously it's not accelerated. Thanks. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
TheCoop Veteran
Joined: 15 Jun 2002 Posts: 1814 Location: Where you least expect it
|
Posted: Tue Sep 17, 2002 3:36 pm Post subject: |
|
|
you can't. you have to use the vesafb module to get a framebuffer at all _________________ 95% of all computer errors occur between chair and keyboard (TM)
"One World, One web, One program" - Microsoft Promo ad.
"Ein Volk, Ein Reich, Ein Führer" - Adolf Hitler
Change the world - move a rock |
|
Back to top |
|
|
arkane l33t
Joined: 30 Apr 2002 Posts: 918 Location: Phoenix, AZ
|
Posted: Tue Sep 17, 2002 9:16 pm Post subject: |
|
|
These are things we need to think about with the coming of xdirectfb to Gentoo. I would love to get my console running at 1280x1024 before that (I've used the masked version, but I can't get a console bigger than 1024x768.. that and Quake3 won't start because it can't find some extensions)
But a framebuffer larger than 1024x768 would rock for xdirectfb. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
TheCoop Veteran
Joined: 15 Jun 2002 Posts: 1814 Location: Where you least expect it
|
Posted: Tue Sep 17, 2002 9:37 pm Post subject: |
|
|
try adding '"Load" "extmod" to your x86config file in the modules section (this first one) _________________ 95% of all computer errors occur between chair and keyboard (TM)
"One World, One web, One program" - Microsoft Promo ad.
"Ein Volk, Ein Reich, Ein Führer" - Adolf Hitler
Change the world - move a rock |
|
Back to top |
|
|
nitro322 Guru
Joined: 24 Jul 2002 Posts: 596 Location: USA
|
Posted: Wed Sep 18, 2002 4:59 am Post subject: |
|
|
TheCoop wrote: | you can't. you have to use the vesafb module to get a framebuffer at all |
Oh. Hmm... I thought this thread was about getting it to work specifically for the nVidia hardware (as in accelerated), not just generic VESA. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
TheCoop Veteran
Joined: 15 Jun 2002 Posts: 1814 Location: Where you least expect it
|
Posted: Wed Sep 18, 2002 7:18 am Post subject: |
|
|
it is. you cant use the rivafb module and the NVdriver module at the same time, you, have to use the vesafb for the console and the NVdriver for X. That is how you get nvidia cards working _________________ 95% of all computer errors occur between chair and keyboard (TM)
"One World, One web, One program" - Microsoft Promo ad.
"Ein Volk, Ein Reich, Ein Führer" - Adolf Hitler
Change the world - move a rock |
|
Back to top |
|
|
dioxmat Bodhisattva
Joined: 04 May 2002 Posts: 709 Location: /home/mat
|
Posted: Wed Sep 18, 2002 8:10 am Post subject: |
|
|
btw. the rivafb module is hardware accelarated I believe, and the vesa one is not. so dont plan to use things like mplayer :)
(however Id be curious to know if anyone ever tried xdirectfb with a nvidia card with the vesa or rivafb module...) |
|
Back to top |
|
|
arkane l33t
Joined: 30 Apr 2002 Posts: 918 Location: Phoenix, AZ
|
Posted: Wed Sep 18, 2002 4:28 pm Post subject: |
|
|
dioxmat wrote: | btw. the rivafb module is hardware accelarated I believe, and the vesa one is not. so dont plan to use things like mplayer
(however Id be curious to know if anyone ever tried xdirectfb with a nvidia card with the vesa or rivafb module...) |
I've used xdirectfb with my nvidia card using the vesa.. I can't remember if I've tried using rivafb, I probably have. It works, but Quake3 dies out on me, complaining about not having the proper extensions. (go figure, it's not an accelerated x server) Other than that, it starts up sweet, has a very snappy feeling to it, and gives you an all around "apple" style feel. (with the responsiveness) I do believe it's the way of the future, honestly. Either that, or some other derivative.
I just want something larger than 1024x768 LOL!!! |
|
Back to top |
|
|
arkane l33t
Joined: 30 Apr 2002 Posts: 918 Location: Phoenix, AZ
|
Posted: Wed Sep 18, 2002 4:32 pm Post subject: |
|
|
TheCoop wrote: | it is. you cant use the rivafb module and the NVdriver module at the same time, you, have to use the vesafb for the console and the NVdriver for X. That is how you get nvidia cards working |
I was going ot leave this go, but I just can't.. it needs correcting.
the framebuffer stuff (rivafb, and vesafb) are purely console and are mutually exclusive from the NVdriver module. They don't need each other, and as a matter of fact they don't even know about each other. You can use the rivafb module together with the NVdriver module, because they are in different modes. The only downfall to it is the artifact left on the cursor when you drop out of X. (XServer is not cleaning up after itself properly, according to the docs on framebuffer) But, thats not a problem with incompatibility, it's a problem with the xserver. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
TheCoop Veteran
Joined: 15 Jun 2002 Posts: 1814 Location: Where you least expect it
|
Posted: Wed Sep 18, 2002 7:44 pm Post subject: |
|
|
i stand corrected _________________ 95% of all computer errors occur between chair and keyboard (TM)
"One World, One web, One program" - Microsoft Promo ad.
"Ein Volk, Ein Reich, Ein Führer" - Adolf Hitler
Change the world - move a rock |
|
Back to top |
|
|
kode54 n00b
Joined: 16 May 2002 Posts: 42
|
Posted: Sun Sep 29, 2002 3:45 am Post subject: |
|
|
I haven't tried mplayer with framebuffer, but I have no problem using its vesa driver, even with high resolution videos. (-vo vesa) |
|
Back to top |
|
|
|