Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
weird OOo compile errors
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Other Things Gentoo
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
MADcow
l33t
l33t


Joined: 23 Jan 2003
Posts: 742
Location: RIT (Henrietta, New York, United States)

PostPosted: Mon Mar 15, 2004 11:55 pm    Post subject: weird OOo compile errors Reply with quote

i'm compiling Openoffice.org for the first time on my laptop.. and after about 15 hours of running smoothly, it says this:
Code:
RX645  -DSHAREDLIB -D_DLL_  -DMULTITHREAD   -o ../../unxlngi4.pro/slo/analysis.o
/var/tmp/portage/openoffice-1.1.0-r2/work/oo_1.1_src/scaddins/source/analysis/analysis.cxx
In file included from /var/tmp/portage/openoffice-1.1.0-r2/work/oo_1.1_src/scaddins/source/analysis/analysis.hxx:77,
                 from /var/tmp/portage/openoffice-1.1.0-r2/work/oo_1.1_src/scaddins/source/analysis/analysis.cxx:62:
/var/tmp/portage/openoffice-1.1.0-r2/work/oo_1.1_src/scaddins/source/analysis/analysishelper.hxx:617: warning: friend
declaration requires class-key, i.e. `friend struct ConvertDataList'
/var/tmp/portage/openoffice-1.1.0-r2/work/oo_1.1_src/scaddins/source/analysis/analysis.cxx: In member function `virtual
rtl::OUString AnalysisAddIn::getBin2Hex(const com::sun::star::uno::Reference<com::sun::star::beans::XPropertySet>&,
const rtl::OUString&, const com::sun::star::uno::Any&)':
/var/tmp/portage/openoffice-1.1.0-r2/work/oo_1.1_src/scaddins/source/analysis/analysis.cxx:1012: warning: integer
constant is too large for "long" type
/var/tmp/portage/openoffice-1.1.0-r2/work/oo_1.1_src/scaddins/source/analysis/analysis.cxx:1012: warning: integer
constant is too large for "long" type
/var/tmp/portage/openoffice-1.1.0-r2/work/oo_1.1_src/scaddins/source/analysis/analysis.cxx: In member function `virtual
rtl::OUString AnalysisAddIn::getOct2Hex(const com::sun::star::uno::Reference<com::sun::star::beans::XPropertySet>&,
const rtl::OUString&, const com::sun::star::uno::Any&)':
/var/tmp/portage/openoffice-1.1.0-r2/work/oo_1.1_src/scaddins/source/analysis/analysis.cxx:1031: warning: integer
constant is too large for "long" type
/var/tmp/portage/openoffice-1.1.0-r2/work/oo_1.1_src/scaddins/source/analysis/analysis.cxx:1031: warning: integer
constant is too large for "long" type
/var/tmp/portage/openoffice-1.1.0-r2/work/oo_1.1_src/scaddins/source/analysis/analysis.cxx: In member function `virtual
rtl::OUString AnalysisAddIn::getDec2Hex(const com::sun::star::uno::Reference<com::sun::star::beans::XPropertySet>&,
double, const com::sun::star::uno::Any&)':
/var/tmp/portage/openoffice-1.1.0-r2/work/oo_1.1_src/scaddins/source/analysis/analysis.cxx:1049: warning: integer
constant is too large for "long" type
/var/tmp/portage/openoffice-1.1.0-r2/work/oo_1.1_src/scaddins/source/analysis/analysis.cxx:1049: warning: integer
constant is too large for "long" type

cc1plus: out of memory allocating 69713920 bytes after a total of 9805824 bytes
dmake:  Error code 1, while making '../../unxlngi4.pro/slo/analysis.obj'
---* TG_SLO.MK *---

ERROR: Error 65280 occurred while making /var/tmp/portage/openoffice-1.1.0-r2/work/oo_1.1_src/scaddins/source/analysis

!!! ERROR: app-office/openoffice-1.1.0-r2 failed.
!!! Function src_compile, Line 470, Exitcode 1
!!! Build failed!


please help!
(it's a P3 (850 MHZ) with 128 megs of RAM and 128 megs of swap)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
bombcar
Guru
Guru


Joined: 08 Apr 2003
Posts: 453
Location: Wisconsin

PostPosted: Tue Mar 16, 2004 12:07 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

It seems that it ran out of memory.

Can you enable more swap? Maybe you should try the binary packages. OO compiles are huge.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
MADcow
l33t
l33t


Joined: 23 Jan 2003
Posts: 742
Location: RIT (Henrietta, New York, United States)

PostPosted: Tue Mar 16, 2004 12:29 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

i could have SERIOUSLY ran out of memory?i had taken that error message as just plain not possible...
oh, CFLAGS="-O2 -march=pentium3 -fomit-frame-pointer -pipe"
ok, i'll try the binary...
is that emerge -k?
and how can i print to TCP/IP and SAMBA printers using AbiWord and OOo? neither of them seem to have a very amazing printer config... i might just switch to kword...
oh.. more swap, eh? that's not really possible... i'll try using GNU/parted, but i don't think it'll help
EDIT: do you have a link for the binary package for 1.1.0-r2 or r3? i'll look...


Last edited by MADcow on Tue Mar 16, 2004 12:39 am; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
bombcar
Guru
Guru


Joined: 08 Apr 2003
Posts: 453
Location: Wisconsin

PostPosted: Tue Mar 16, 2004 12:38 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

If you have cups working correctly, and configured, then you just tell 00 to use lpr.

Getting CUPS to work correctly is a whole 'nother story, though...... :)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
MADcow
l33t
l33t


Joined: 23 Jan 2003
Posts: 742
Location: RIT (Henrietta, New York, United States)

PostPosted: Tue Mar 16, 2004 12:52 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

# lpr
lpr: error - scheduler not responding!


i grabbed the package from here
http://download.openoffice.org/1.1.0/index.html

but... emerge -K says no package satasfies it... i BELIEVE that i set PKGDIR correctly
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
MADcow
l33t
l33t


Joined: 23 Jan 2003
Posts: 742
Location: RIT (Henrietta, New York, United States)

PostPosted: Tue Mar 16, 2004 12:59 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

ah, whatever. i'll just install it like it says on the site and bypass portage
using lpr is all well and good, but i can't really switch between printers very fast...
my understanding is that i need to change the "command" entry to lpr -P printer to change them?
or is that abiword?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
MADcow
l33t
l33t


Joined: 23 Jan 2003
Posts: 742
Location: RIT (Henrietta, New York, United States)

PostPosted: Tue Mar 16, 2004 1:12 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

the binary is working fine now.
but "printer settings" completly sucks and is only showing up "SGENPRT" and not any of the stuff in my /etc/cups/printers.conf
blerg

according to the help file, i have to use "spadmin"
that was NOT obvious...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
MADcow
l33t
l33t


Joined: 23 Jan 2003
Posts: 742
Location: RIT (Henrietta, New York, United States)

PostPosted: Tue Mar 16, 2004 1:17 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

spadmin sucks.
what should i use for the "command line" option for SAMBA and TCP/IP printing?
just lpr? and hope it uses my printers.conf?

EDIT: i don't think it's actually using my printers.conf. argh
i must have cups set up wrong.
hey... lpr doesn't error out anymore when i run it on the console... that's a start
lpr -P printer file doesn't error anymore... but it doesn't print anything... that could be a windows netbios problem... i'll try printing to a TCP/IP printer when i get to school tomorrow... i think they have an FTP printer somewhere... actually, what would it be other than FTP? it's on the network with it's own IP address, plugged straight into a switch with a piece of CAT-5
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
MADcow
l33t
l33t


Joined: 23 Jan 2003
Posts: 742
Location: RIT (Henrietta, New York, United States)

PostPosted: Tue Mar 16, 2004 1:31 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

do i need to do something with classes.conf?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
bombcar
Guru
Guru


Joined: 08 Apr 2003
Posts: 453
Location: Wisconsin

PostPosted: Tue Mar 16, 2004 4:50 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

You may feel better after reading a rant by one of the more famous Open Source advoctes about why CUPS is annoying:

http://www.catb.org/~esr/writings/cups-horror.html

:)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
SysOP XXL
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 27 Jan 2004
Posts: 139
Location: Kecskemét, Hungary

PostPosted: Tue Mar 16, 2004 4:57 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

MADcow wrote:
# lpr
lpr: error - scheduler not responding!


i grabbed the package from here
http://download.openoffice.org/1.1.0/index.html

but... emerge -K says no package satasfies it... i BELIEVE that i set PKGDIR correctly


You don't need to download anything by hand, neither have to use emerge -k. Just say
Code:
emerge openoffice-bin
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
MADcow
l33t
l33t


Joined: 23 Jan 2003
Posts: 742
Location: RIT (Henrietta, New York, United States)

PostPosted: Tue Mar 16, 2004 6:33 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

heh. i feel dumb now.
thanks
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
MADcow
l33t
l33t


Joined: 23 Jan 2003
Posts: 742
Location: RIT (Henrietta, New York, United States)

PostPosted: Tue Mar 16, 2004 7:42 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

so.. uh.. anyway, i tried using both the CUPS web interface and gnome-cups-manager... i got the printer set up how i think it should be, and it shows up just fine in openoffice now but jobs just disappear... they never print, and never show up in the job list.
same thing with 'print test page' and when printing from openoffice
help!
(it's probably a problem with windows netbios... i'll try the network printers at school tomorrow, as those are more important)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
bombcar
Guru
Guru


Joined: 08 Apr 2003
Posts: 453
Location: Wisconsin

PostPosted: Tue Mar 16, 2004 10:53 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Code:
/etc/init.d/cups status
/etc/init.d/cups start
rc-update add cups default
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
MADcow
l33t
l33t


Joined: 23 Jan 2003
Posts: 742
Location: RIT (Henrietta, New York, United States)

PostPosted: Wed Mar 17, 2004 12:49 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

yeah.. i've already done that.
thanks, though
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
bombcar
Guru
Guru


Joined: 08 Apr 2003
Posts: 453
Location: Wisconsin

PostPosted: Wed Mar 17, 2004 12:55 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

OK. So you've a windows network.

First, I give you my sympathy.

Then, I tell you of a fun little trick:

Code:

smbclient //nameofpc/nameofprinter -U username


should connect you to the printer (maybe asking for a password?). Typing "put /etc/fstab" should cause your fstab file to be printed.

If that works, then the problem is in CUPS. If it doesn't then the problem is in NetBIOS or windows somewhere.

:)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
MADcow
l33t
l33t


Joined: 23 Jan 2003
Posts: 742
Location: RIT (Henrietta, New York, United States)

PostPosted: Wed Mar 17, 2004 2:21 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

oh yes, i should have mentioned that that works. and it would be a good printing solution, except that it expects a windows newline format and a plaintext file... whatever newline format that's being used in gentoo causes weird output in the printer...


it's not exactly a windows network... only one windows computer on it... but also one printer.
both the computer and the printer belong to my parents.
thus the delima.

edit: i just noticed that if i type 'translate' first it will print files fine.
but they still have to be plaintext...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
MADcow
l33t
l33t


Joined: 23 Jan 2003
Posts: 742
Location: RIT (Henrietta, New York, United States)

PostPosted: Wed Mar 17, 2004 2:41 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

WHEE!
i don't know what i did different, but i tried adding it ONE MORE time with the web interface for CUPS and the test page WORKS! it looks amazing
whee
whee
thanks!

edit: AbiWord and OpenOffice both print wonderfully, now.
next challange: the network printers at school. didn't get a chance to try today because it snowed :)
so, i take back what i said about CUPS... you just need to try enough for it to start working :)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Other Things Gentoo All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum