View previous topic :: View next topic |
Author |
Message |
lotusvale Guru


Joined: 06 Mar 2003 Posts: 339 Location: Canada
|
Posted: Fri Aug 08, 2003 12:40 am Post subject: quickcam express |
|
|
i've been trying to get quickcam express working under gentoo.
i got qce-ga-0.40d and when i try to run quickcam.sh, it gives:
Code: | bash-2.05b# ./quickcam.sh
insmod: videodev: no module by that name found
insmod: usbcore: no module by that name found
insmod: usb-uhci: no module by that name found
insmod: usb-ohci: no module by that name found
insmod: uhci: no module by that name found
./quickcam.sh: line 36: /proc/sys/kernel/sysrq: No such file or directory
mod_quickcam.o: unresolved symbol video_proc_entry
Module Size Used by Tainted: P
snd-emu10k1 75348 0 (autoclean)
snd-pcm 68192 0 (autoclean) [snd-emu10k1]
snd-timer 16904 0 (autoclean) [snd-pcm]
snd-page-alloc 5584 0 (autoclean) [snd-emu10k1 snd-pcm]
snd-hwdep 5344 0 (autoclean) [snd-emu10k1]
snd-ac97-codec 38368 0 (autoclean) [snd-emu10k1]
snd-rawmidi 15328 0 (autoclean) [snd-emu10k1]
snd-util-mem 1632 0 (autoclean) [snd-emu10k1]
snd-seq-device 4516 0 (autoclean) [snd-emu10k1 snd-rawmidi]
snd-mixer-oss 13944 0 (autoclean) (unused)
snd 34244 0 (autoclean) [snd-emu10k1 snd-pcm snd-timer snd-hwdep snd-ac97-codec snd-rawmidi snd-util-mem snd-seq-device snd-mixer-oss]
nvidia 1542688 10
|
what should i load in kernel?
i've enabled video for linux, and usb connection. thx _________________
-SuSe shot- | -G shot-
Shadowrider's Lair |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Carlos Guru


Joined: 07 Aug 2002 Posts: 458 Location: Providence, RI
|
Posted: Fri Aug 08, 2003 2:03 am Post subject: |
|
|
Have you insmod'ed mod_quickcam? If you've compiled the USB and V4L stuff into the kernel, then just the insmod command should be enough to get the camera working. If you've compiled V4L and such as modules, then you should insmod mod_quickcam, then run quickcam.sh. _________________ Man must shape his tools lest they shape him. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
lotusvale Guru


Joined: 06 Mar 2003 Posts: 339 Location: Canada
|
Posted: Fri Aug 08, 2003 8:11 pm Post subject: |
|
|
well it says in the readme, that if i've compiled usb and V4L into kernel, all i gotta do is run quickcam.sh
but as you see the errors from above.
is there any specific option i need to compile under kernel?
Code: | bash-2.05b# insmod mod_quickcam
insmod: mod_quickcam: no module by that name found
bash-2.05b#
|
_________________
-SuSe shot- | -G shot-
Shadowrider's Lair |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
lotusvale Guru


Joined: 06 Mar 2003 Posts: 339 Location: Canada
|
Posted: Fri Aug 08, 2003 8:17 pm Post subject: |
|
|
in addition here's what i've compiled under kernel:
V4L information in proc filesystem
Quickcam Colour Video for Linux (EXPERIMENTAL)
UHCI Alternate Driver (JE) support
USB full HID support
HID input layer support
/dev/hiddev raw HID device support
USB Philips Cameras (i'm not sure whether i should do this or not, but somebody mentioned this should be enabled) _________________
-SuSe shot- | -G shot-
Shadowrider's Lair |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Carlos Guru


Joined: 07 Aug 2002 Posts: 458 Location: Providence, RI
|
Posted: Sat Aug 09, 2003 1:45 am Post subject: |
|
|
lotusvale wrote: | well it says in the readme, that if i've compiled usb and V4L into kernel, all i gotta do is run quickcam.sh
but as you see the errors from above.
is there any specific option i need to compile under kernel?
Code: | bash-2.05b# insmod mod_quickcam
insmod: mod_quickcam: no module by that name found
bash-2.05b#
|
| Well, if you're unable to insmod it yourself, then quickcam.sh won't be able to either. You probably didn't install the module correctly.
Is /usr/src/linux a symlink to the kernel you're running (and was this the case when you emerged qce-ga)? Check /lib/modules/kernelname/ to see if the mod_quickcam module is in there, because it should be. _________________ Man must shape his tools lest they shape him. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
lotusvale Guru


Joined: 06 Mar 2003 Posts: 339 Location: Canada
|
Posted: Sun Aug 10, 2003 5:23 am Post subject: |
|
|
yes /usr/src/linux points to the correct kernel.
but /lib/modules/kernelname/ does not contain mod_quickcam module.
how do you get that module?
i didn't install anything as modules in the kernel. just enabled them. _________________
-SuSe shot- | -G shot-
Shadowrider's Lair |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Carlos Guru


Joined: 07 Aug 2002 Posts: 458 Location: Providence, RI
|
Posted: Sun Aug 10, 2003 1:46 pm Post subject: |
|
|
lotusvale wrote: | yes /usr/src/linux points to the correct kernel.
but /lib/modules/kernelname/ does not contain mod_quickcam module.
how do you get that module?
i didn't install anything as modules in the kernel. just enabled them. | You emerged the qce-ga ebuild and it didn't put the module in /lib/modules/kernelname/? _________________ Man must shape his tools lest they shape him. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
lotusvale Guru


Joined: 06 Mar 2003 Posts: 339 Location: Canada
|
Posted: Sun Aug 10, 2003 4:41 pm Post subject: |
|
|
oh sorry. i didn't emerge the ebuild. i was just trying to compile it from source.
alright i'll try that. _________________
-SuSe shot- | -G shot-
Shadowrider's Lair |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
lotusvale Guru


Joined: 06 Mar 2003 Posts: 339 Location: Canada
|
Posted: Mon Aug 11, 2003 12:12 am Post subject: |
|
|
ok i've emerged qce-ga
Code: | bash-2.05b# insmod mod_quickcam
Using /lib/modules/2.4.20-gaming-r3/misc/mod_quickcam.o
/lib/modules/2.4.20-gaming-r3/misc/mod_quickcam.o: unresolved symbol video_proc_entry
bash-2.05b#
|
but that looks to me still doesn't work. _________________
-SuSe shot- | -G shot-
Shadowrider's Lair |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Carlos Guru


Joined: 07 Aug 2002 Posts: 458 Location: Providence, RI
|
Posted: Mon Aug 11, 2003 10:13 am Post subject: |
|
|
lotusvale wrote: | ok i've emerged qce-ga
Code: | bash-2.05b# insmod mod_quickcam
Using /lib/modules/2.4.20-gaming-r3/misc/mod_quickcam.o
/lib/modules/2.4.20-gaming-r3/misc/mod_quickcam.o: unresolved symbol video_proc_entry
bash-2.05b#
|
but that looks to me still doesn't work. | Hmm... Perhaps you need V4L info in the /proc filesystem (this is one of the options) to use the module? Check the qce-ga website again and make doubly sure that you have all the other modules/options they require. _________________ Man must shape his tools lest they shape him. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
lotusvale Guru


Joined: 06 Mar 2003 Posts: 339 Location: Canada
|
Posted: Thu Aug 21, 2003 9:41 pm Post subject: |
|
|
i have V4L under /proc fs and built it in instead of as module.
or should i make it as a module? _________________
-SuSe shot- | -G shot-
Shadowrider's Lair |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
juliancoccia Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 10 Jan 2004 Posts: 91 Location: Opensource World
|
Posted: Fri Mar 26, 2004 8:52 pm Post subject: |
|
|
This is how I selected with menuconfig and works great.
Code: | Multimedia devices ---> <M> Video For Linux
Multimedia devices ---> Video For Linux ---> [*] V4L information in proc filesystem |
I have also emerged gqcam in order to test the camera. Gnomemeeting works great too. _________________ http://julian.coccia.com
http://www.linuxespanol.com |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
|