View previous topic :: View next topic |
Author |
Message |
CellFish n00b
Joined: 19 Mar 2004 Posts: 6 Location: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
|
Posted: Fri Mar 19, 2004 11:45 pm Post subject: Mounting external firewire harddisk formatted in NTFS |
|
|
Hey guys,
I'm rather new to Linux. I can get around and do whatever I usually need to do but am rather new to the idea of mounting. I have a 60 gig external hard disk plugged into my firewire port that is NTFS. To my understanding, Gentoo has detected my firewire port and can mount ntfs disks in read-only, but I have no idea what I would need to do for this drive to be visible in the gui (Gnome).
I am using kernel 2.4.24 and Gentoo 2004.0. Is there documentation available that can walk me through the process of installing and configuring everything that is needed for the firewire drive to a) be visible, b) be accessible. I mostly want to remove some of the files I backed up onto the disk and bring them onto my main partition so that I can then reformat the disk in ext3 and then put some of the files back onto the disk.
Let me know,
Andre (proud of the fact that he donated 50$ to support Gentoo) _________________ "CellFish" Andre Matuch
"There's a curse in me, and it won't let me be."
mail: andre@slimey.ca
msn: andre@slimey.ca
icq: 7560435
aim: Annihilatus
www: www.slimey.ca
Running Gentoo Linux 2004.0 (kernel 2.4.24) |
|
Back to top |
|
|
tuxlover Apprentice
Joined: 21 Oct 2003 Posts: 297 Location: weltweit
|
Posted: Sat Mar 20, 2004 1:46 am Post subject: |
|
|
As far as I understand, firewire devices are handled just like usb devices under linux. There's plenty of information about this in this forum and the net.
Basically what you need is
1) support for firewire, scsi, scsi emulation compiled as modules for your kernel
2) the gentoo hotplug script installed and started in default runlevel:
Code: | # emerge hotplug
# rc-update add hotplug default |
then when you plug in the drive, the hotplug script will load the appropriate kernel modules (drivers) and make a file like /dev/sda1 that you can mount.
The mounting itself is usually very simple:
mount <devicefile> <mountpoint>
devicefile is the file mentioned above, that represents your drive, e.g. /dev/sda1
mountpoint is simply an empty directory somewhere on your computer where the newly mounted disk should "show up". in windows, a mountpoint is usually something like c: or d:. in linux these mountpoints can be anywhere on your system.
traditionally you make your mountpoints in the directory /mnt/. so for your external firewire hdd you can just make a directory there:
# mkdir /mnt/firewire
then, provided you have all the necessary stuff from above, you can mount your firewire drive into this directory like this:
# mount /dev/sda1 /mnt/firewire
if that works fine, you can now access the external hdd using any programm, in gnome you can simply use your filemanager to go to the directory /mnt/firewire and you'll be there.
soooo.... how far do you get in the above steps? |
|
Back to top |
|
|
CellFish n00b
Joined: 19 Mar 2004 Posts: 6 Location: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
|
Posted: Sat Mar 20, 2004 6:46 am Post subject: |
|
|
It didn't help me yet. I've learned a few things but am still unable to mount the firewire HD.
I suppose I would really have to start with installing the required modules. In other words, I would have to start from square 1 and I really have no idea what that is. _________________ "CellFish" Andre Matuch
"There's a curse in me, and it won't let me be."
mail: andre@slimey.ca
msn: andre@slimey.ca
icq: 7560435
aim: Annihilatus
www: www.slimey.ca
Running Gentoo Linux 2004.0 (kernel 2.4.24) |
|
Back to top |
|
|
cylgalad Veteran
Joined: 18 Apr 2003 Posts: 1327 Location: France
|
Posted: Sat Mar 20, 2004 11:03 am Post subject: |
|
|
Try that (as root):
Code: |
wget http://www.garloff.de/kurt/linux/rescan-scsi-bus.sh
chmod +x rescan-scsi-bus.sh
./rescan-scsi-bus.sh
|
And then see if it has detected the drive, and if so, try to mount it.
Check out /usr/src/linux/drivers/ieee1394/sbp2.c
Btw, why did you format it ntfs ? it's slower and less reliable than anything else (ever had a badblock on the mft ? ) |
|
Back to top |
|
|
tuxlover Apprentice
Joined: 21 Oct 2003 Posts: 297 Location: weltweit
|
Posted: Sat Mar 20, 2004 11:23 am Post subject: |
|
|
cylgalad wrote: | Try that (as root):
Code: |
[...]
./rescan-scsi-bus.sh
|
And then see if it has detected the drive, and if so, try to mount it.
|
what's the advantage of this tool over gentoo's hotplug script?
Quote: |
Btw, why did you format it ntfs ?
|
as I understood his post he's coming from windows and was using the drive there. under windows it's arguably best to use ntfs on an external drive because it's a journalling fs and therefore it's not as bad to just unplugg the drive (without umounting it) as with fat.
he also wrote that he wants to format it in ext3 now. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
tuxlover Apprentice
Joined: 21 Oct 2003 Posts: 297 Location: weltweit
|
Posted: Sat Mar 20, 2004 11:28 am Post subject: |
|
|
CellFish wrote: | It didn't help me yet. |
ok so the problem is probably compiling/installing the kernel (modules).
I'm not 100% sure but I think if you use the genkernel you probably have all the kernel modules that you need.
so my suggestion is that you start with step 2 from my first post and emerge the hotplug script and add it to your default runlevel (2 lines of code I posted). then plug your drive in, wait some seconds and look for a /dev/sda1 file and if it's there, try to mount it to a directory of your choice.
tell us how far you get. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
CellFish n00b
Joined: 19 Mar 2004 Posts: 6 Location: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
|
Posted: Mon Mar 22, 2004 10:57 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Over the weekend I decided to reinstall with kernel 2.6.3-gentoo-r1 and now I can mount it fine (after recompiling to add ntfs support). However, I have had a consistent problem in transferring information from the HD onto my /home/cellfish drive.
I have several folders on the drive, all of which are relatively small, that copied perfectly onto my HD. All I had to do to make them run properly is chmod 777 them and all was fine. However, there is one very big folder called 'My Music' on the ntfs firewire drive and it has many subfolders. Whenever I try to copy the folder to my HD, whether through GUI (both through KDE and Gnome) or through console (cp -R /mnt/firewire/backup/My\ Music /home/cellfish), the process ends up freezing my system entirely. It does about 5-6% of copying and then everything freezes. Originally, I thought this was a limitation of ext3 so I tried reinstalling with reiserfs. However, even through reiserfs I have the same problem. Is there any way of knowing what's freezing the system? IS there any way around this? I have the same 2.5 gigs of music stored on my iPod (formatted as FAT32), but I think such a transfer is safer to do from a firewire HD.
Let me know,
Andre _________________ "CellFish" Andre Matuch
"There's a curse in me, and it won't let me be."
mail: andre@slimey.ca
msn: andre@slimey.ca
icq: 7560435
aim: Annihilatus
www: www.slimey.ca
Running Gentoo Linux 2004.0 (kernel 2.4.24) |
|
Back to top |
|
|
tuxlover Apprentice
Joined: 21 Oct 2003 Posts: 297 Location: weltweit
|
Posted: Tue Mar 23, 2004 12:10 pm Post subject: |
|
|
CellFish wrote: | freezing my system entirely. It does about 5-6% of copying and then everything freezes. ... Is there any way of knowing what's freezing the system? |
you could cp -Rv ... (verbose) which will print the name of every file *before* copying it. this way you would know where it crashes.
other than that, strange problem!
Quote: | IS there any way around this? I have the same 2.5 gigs of music stored on my iPod (formatted as FAT32), but I think such a transfer is safer to do from a firewire HD. |
if you can mount the ipod as a usb storage device, it should be just the same as if copying from your firewire hdd. I don't know if that's possible though. I guess you could just try this. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
vamanos n00b
Joined: 06 Apr 2004 Posts: 24 Location: Reykjavik, Iceland
|
Posted: Sat Apr 10, 2004 8:23 pm Post subject: |
|
|
I am having the exact same problem. My system will just freeze completely somewhere in the copy process. I tried moving just a folder at a time but that made no difference.
Any suggestions as to what this could be? Kinda frustrating not being able to complete the migration from M$ due to this. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
hinken Tux's lil' helper
Joined: 16 Jan 2004 Posts: 109
|
Posted: Sun Apr 11, 2004 11:10 am Post subject: |
|
|
Same problem here with a vfat-firewire-disk.
The computer completely hangs, and the reset-button is my only option.....
(Destroyed 3 reiserfs-main-system because of the freezes)
....I ended up selling my firewire-disk......
I wish you more luck ! |
|
Back to top |
|
|
|