Multitrack recording problems with Gnome and ALSA
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Multimedia
View previous topic :: View next topic  
MrSandman666
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper

PostPosted: Fri Mar 26, 2004 9:50 am    Post subject: Multitrack recording problems with Gnome and ALSA Reply with quote

Hi everybody,

I'm a hobby musician and every now and then I would like to record some of the stuff I've been playing. Now, I'm only one person and thus I have to record my multi-instrument songs one track at a time.

I'm planning using ardour for this, running on Gnome 2.4.2 (I think), and the Alsa from the gentoo-dev-sources 2.6.3-r1 kernel as well as jack 0.98

My problem is the following:
I'm having ardour render a tick into the output so that I have something to play along to, like a metronome. This tick should not be recorded, just be there for me to hear while playing. However, ardour (or any other sound recorder for that purpose, like audacity) records everything that comes in via the mic as well as everything that goes out via the pcm.
So, the metronome get's recorded and the what's even worse is that the stuff that I'm currently playing (which needs to be rendered to the pcm as well, so that I can hear what I'm playing while I'm playing it) get's recorded *twice* and creates some nasty feedback so that the result is totally unusable.
When I mute the pcm I can record everything just fine, quality is quite alright, but when I do that of course I can't hear what I'm playing and even worse I can't hear what I'M playing along to. Really bad thing when you want to record a one-man-jamsession.

Any ideas how to seperate the input and output channels so that only the sound coming in through the mic is recorded but all the sound (playback as well as mic input) is sent to the line out?