Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Latest Portage tree withour emerge world?
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Xaake
n00b
n00b

PostPosted: Mon Mar 29, 2004 10:43 am    Post subject: Latest Portage tree withour emerge world? Reply with quote

Hello!

I am doing a networkless stage1 installation, using the 2004.0 live CD:s and alot of downloaded distfiles. My problem is that even if I use the latest portage snapshot, when it comes to emerge gimp it emerges gimp 1.2 and not 2.0, it also emerges gnome 2.4 and not 2.6 on emerge gnome.

So since I am quite new to linux, I am thinking, either it has to do with the stage1 tarball I use (wich is the one from the live cd), or there is no substitution for emerge world.

I can't find any newer stage1 tarball than the one from the live cd, so that is not something I can do anything about.

I have not tried doing emerge --fetchonly world to see what files I need, I just got the idea, but if that fails, what do I need to do to get the latest portage tree?

/Rickard Haake
foton2
Guru
Guru

PostPosted: Mon Mar 29, 2004 10:58 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Quote:
if I use the latest portage snapshot, when it comes to emerge gimp it emerges gimp 1.2 and not 2.0, it also emerges gnome 2.4 and not 2.6 on emerge gnome.

try

Code:

ACCEPT_KEYWORDS="~x86" emerge something

Pentium4 2.4Ghz 533Mhz, Intel® Desktop Board D845GEBV2 + LAN, 768MB DDR 266Mhz RAM, 80GB Seagate Barracuda 7200.7, NVIDIA GeForce4 MX 440, SB Live! 5.1, TEAC CD-552E, TEAC DW-548D, Packard Bell 1512SL Monitor, HP DeskJet 640C, Opti UPS PowerPS 800ps.
Xaake
n00b
n00b

PostPosted: Mon Mar 29, 2004 11:53 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Update:

I was at school when I wrote this post, now that I've tested some things, this is what I want to update:

I am not talking about emerge world, but emerge sync