View previous topic :: View next topic |
Author |
Message |
Andru n00b
Joined: 28 Mar 2004 Posts: 24
|
Posted: Tue Mar 30, 2004 12:04 am Post subject: Network for final install... [solved!] |
|
|
All through the install my network "just worked", but now I'm actually logging into the gentoo kernel, it doesn't bring my network up, and ifconfig shows only the loopback, not eth0.
I've tried following the guide for configuring the network, but there's nothing in my /lib/modules/2.4.25-gentoo/kernel/drivers/net directory but dummy.o
Any ideas how I can get my network card recognized? It's a 3com card and like I said, I had no problems at all during install - it just popped up on its own.
Last edited by Andru on Wed Mar 31, 2004 8:06 pm; edited 1 time in total |
|
Back to top |
|
|
BradN Advocate
Joined: 19 Apr 2002 Posts: 2391 Location: Wisconsin (USA)
|
Posted: Tue Mar 30, 2004 12:28 am Post subject: |
|
|
How did you compile the kernel? Manually or with genkernel?
If you did it manually, you need to make sure to make support for that network card built-in or as a module (it's easier as built-in in 95% of cases). Otherwise if you use genkernel, make sure you set up hotplug and all that stuff as per the install docs.
On second thought, you said the kernel module isn't there. If you used genkernel, it missed building the module for you... you might want to tweak the config (add the card support) and rebuild.
good luck |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Andru n00b
Joined: 28 Mar 2004 Posts: 24
|
Posted: Tue Mar 30, 2004 5:04 pm Post subject: |
|
|
I compiled the kernal manually and, not knowing what kind of 3com card I have and being too lazy to take a peek, I just selected every type of 3com card listed.
I'll take a look tonight and find out exactly what card I have, but as I said, it worked fine before so the drivers must be on the livecd somewhere...right? |
|
Back to top |
|
|
NeddySeagoon Administrator
Joined: 05 Jul 2003 Posts: 54847 Location: 56N 3W
|
Posted: Tue Mar 30, 2004 5:55 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Andru,
Boot the liveCD and do a lsmod. If you can spot your network driver good, otherwise make a list of the loaded modules.
Boot your hard drive and do lsmod again. Cross anything off your original list that appears in this lsmod.
One of the modules left on the list is you network card.
Work your way though the remaining modules with modprobe.
After each modprobe, do
Code: | /etc/init.d/net.eth0 restart | ignore any errors about eth0 not runnning.
When this command works, eth0 will be up. Put the module name from the last modprobe into /etc/modules.autoload _________________ Regards,
NeddySeagoon
Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Andru n00b
Joined: 28 Mar 2004 Posts: 24
|
Posted: Tue Mar 30, 2004 6:00 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Thanks for the help, NeddySeaGoon (God I hate the internet, I'd never have to refer to someone as NeddySeaGoon in real life ), I'll try it as soon as I get home.
But considering I'm stuck in college scanning negatives at a rate of one every 20 mins, I'm guessing I'll be here 'till they kick me out! |
|
Back to top |
|
|
NeddySeagoon Administrator
Joined: 05 Jul 2003 Posts: 54847 Location: 56N 3W
|
Posted: Tue Mar 30, 2004 6:47 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Andru,
The usual form of address is Neddy. _________________ Regards,
NeddySeagoon
Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Andru n00b
Joined: 28 Mar 2004 Posts: 24
|
Posted: Tue Mar 30, 2004 6:59 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Well, lsmod from the livecd lists a rather perfect hardware setup. lsmod from my gentoo installation is a rather different story - it lists absolutely nothing.
That can't be good
Any ideas why? |
|
Back to top |
|
|
NeddySeagoon Administrator
Joined: 05 Jul 2003 Posts: 54847 Location: 56N 3W
|
Posted: Tue Mar 30, 2004 7:20 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Andru,
lsmod lists installed modules - you may have none.
The kernel can be monolitic - everything built in. You would have to answer Y or N (never M) in make menuconfig.
The modules were not built or not installed (or both)
Did you do when you built the kernel?
and Code: | make modules_install |
If you chose some modules and made and installed them, they will be in the directory tree starting at /lib/modules/<kernel_version>.
Have a look through this directory tree. _________________ Regards,
NeddySeagoon
Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Andru n00b
Joined: 28 Mar 2004 Posts: 24
|
Posted: Tue Mar 30, 2004 7:56 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Yep, I answered Y to build eveything I needed into the kernel, and yeah I did "make dep && make bzImage modules modules_install" as in the guide.
I can't find them anywhere in that directory tree, just some dummy.o fils in "kernel" and what I assume to be the source files in "build".
I've reconfigured and compiled the kernel just to be sure I followed the guide to the letter, and I'm still having exactly the same problem.
As this would appear to be more of an installation problem than a network one, is there any chance a mod could move it to the appropriate forum? |
|
Back to top |
|
|
NeddySeagoon Administrator
Joined: 05 Jul 2003 Posts: 54847 Location: 56N 3W
|
Posted: Wed Mar 31, 2004 6:51 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Andru,
Since you said 'Y' you don't have any modules. All the drivers you chose are in the bzImage file. This makes debug with lsmod and modprobe impossible.
Do lspci and post what you get the mentions Ethernet.
You have either missed a module, or not got /etc/conf.d/net set up right.
If all else fails, you will need to post your /usr/src/linux/.config file. _________________ Regards,
NeddySeagoon
Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Andru n00b
Joined: 28 Mar 2004 Posts: 24
|
Posted: Wed Mar 31, 2004 7:38 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Well all I have in my /etc/conf.d/net is "iface_eth0="dhcp"" since I'm using a different machine as the server (for now - there's a reason I'm installing gentoo on the other box ).
lspci doesn't seem to be a valid command for some reason, though it worked fine when I used it on my livecd.
But running from the livecd, lsmod lists the following...
3c59x
floppy
serial
isa-pnp
usb-storage
hid
uhci
usbcore
Running from my gentoo installation it lists nothing...surely it should list floppy, serial, etc, even if it doesn't list my network card module?
As for my /usr/src/linux.config file...I'm not entirely sure how to post that without typing it all out on this comp (unless I can use links2 from the livecd somehow?)
Still mystified |
|
Back to top |
|
|
NeddySeagoon Administrator
Joined: 05 Jul 2003 Posts: 54847 Location: 56N 3W
|
Posted: Wed Mar 31, 2004 8:02 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Andru,
Your network needs the 3c59x module. _________________ Regards,
NeddySeagoon
Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Andru n00b
Joined: 28 Mar 2004 Posts: 24
|
Posted: Wed Mar 31, 2004 8:05 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Yeah, I had that selected in the kernel config, hence my confusion.
I've finally figured it out though, and like all big problems it was something stupidly small
I was forgetting to mount /boot before I copied the new kernel accross!
Thanks for everyones help, now I can finally get on with installing a Window Manager |
|
Back to top |
|
|
BradN Advocate
Joined: 19 Apr 2002 Posts: 2391 Location: Wisconsin (USA)
|
Posted: Fri Apr 02, 2004 4:07 am Post subject: |
|
|
by the way, lspci is part of the pciutils package |
|
Back to top |
|
|
|