View previous topic :: View next topic |
Author |
Message |
hummus n00b
Joined: 17 Sep 2002 Posts: 40
|
Posted: Wed Mar 31, 2004 11:59 pm Post subject: remote Xterm |
|
|
ok i have a dilemma
a server at my university runs SunOS 5.8. This server is running some sort of Xserver that allows windows clients using an Xterm emulator called "Exceed" to access the xserver and have xwindows forwarded over some sort of connection
now this server is not running any sshd, so its not X-forwarding through this, nor is it any sort of vnc
i attempted something suggested in a previous thread using a telnet connection and "export display" command, however there is no "export" command available to users
so i'm stuck here with windows users using an Xterm emulator able to access the server, but me with an actual xterm and xserver not being able to use it......
any ideas? |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Epyon l33t
Joined: 11 Sep 2003 Posts: 754 Location: NJ, USA
|
Posted: Thu Apr 01, 2004 12:46 am Post subject: |
|
|
Have you tried "Xnest -query ipaddress :display" ? |
|
Back to top |
|
|
hummus n00b
Joined: 17 Sep 2002 Posts: 40
|
Posted: Thu Apr 01, 2004 12:38 pm Post subject: |
|
|
thanks for the reply
i cant run this on the server as it doesnt work, (i can't find it anywhere in the X bin directories as it is on my machine
when i run it on my machine i get something like this.....
Code: |
_XSERVTransSocketINETCreateListener: ...SocketCreateListener() failed
_XSERVTransMakeAllCOTSServerListeners: server already running
Fatal server error:
Cannot establish any listening sockets - Make sure an X server isn't already running
|
im starting to thing it has something to do with XDMCP, but this topic is a bit confusing so I'm going to have to look into it further..... |
|
Back to top |
|
|
smart Guru
Joined: 19 Nov 2002 Posts: 455
|
Posted: Thu Apr 01, 2004 2:44 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Exceed is an Xserver for windows and it does in the end pretty much the same thing as what was mentionned to you with this mysterious export thing you cannot find. We will do exactly that.
To get further, we need some things.
We need a network setup that allows the server to contact your machine. That is, you shall not sit behind a NAT or firewall. If you do, which is not too unlikely and also a good thing in some respect, you need to prepare these. We'll expect your iformation first before going on with this part.
We need your machine to run an Xserver, unfortunately we do not know anything about the client machine you try to log in with. That a proper gentoo box ?
If it does provide an Xserver, then allow it to receive connections from your server by using the "xhost" command. e.g.:
xhost +
as a catchall to allow for any host to connect, which is not too good an idea, but this shall be left to your exploration in the man pages...
We need to know the shell you run.
echo $SHELL
to let you know of your variant of "export" which could, for example also be "setenv".
then you will do either this export or setenv definition, or alternatively, you can give the xterm you'll start the same information in a commandline option, which would read:
xterm -display yourclientmachinenameoraddress:0.0 |
|
Back to top |
|
|
hummus n00b
Joined: 17 Sep 2002 Posts: 40
|
Posted: Thu Apr 01, 2004 5:31 pm Post subject: |
|
|
ok thanks, i hope i understand
the server side is running SunOS 5.8, and i dont have root access as Im only a student client
interpretitng your post this is what i will try when i get home(correct me if Im wrong please)
conditions: no nat or firewall in place, my machine(client)=gentoo box w/Xserver, server = SunOS 5.8
Code: |
my machine $ xhost + domain.name.of.server
|
ok i did try that, now i telneted into the server and got the shell
Code: |
server % echo $SHELL
/bin/csh
|
back on my machine the shell is bash
Code: |
my machine $ echo $SHELL
/bin/bash
|
now i set the environment variable once I'm telneted into the server side, correct?
Code: |
mymachine $ telnet server
login.....
server% setenv DISPLAY=mymachine:0.0
|
by doing so I'm telling it to display on my xserver back on mymachine, right?
i will try this asap thanks agian! |
|
Back to top |
|
|
hummus n00b
Joined: 17 Sep 2002 Posts: 40
|
Posted: Mon Apr 05, 2004 12:51 am Post subject: |
|
|
this is output i get
Code: | // cannot connect to Xserver 'mymachine:0.0='
// X server is not running
// Cannot initialize device driver.
// ERROR -- Unhandled exception caught:
Connection to hardware type X11dd failed
26147: /export/home/idea/pkgs/des_arch/_bin/da.exe -nocable
fdd1fa04 waitid (0, 6625, ffbee838, 3).................... |
except I do have an xserver running
does it have something to do with options set in gdm.conf or xdm confs do you think?
i changed a coule of those while looking at other threads? |
|
Back to top |
|
|
hummus n00b
Joined: 17 Sep 2002 Posts: 40
|
Posted: Mon Apr 05, 2004 12:35 pm Post subject: |
|
|
what would cause my machine to refuse the connection?
Code: | tesla% xcalc &
[1] 2659
tesla% Xlib: connection to "mymachine:0.0" refused by server
Xlib: No protocol specified
Error: Can't open display: mymachine:0.0
[1] Exit 1 xcalc |
|
|
Back to top |
|
|
hummus n00b
Joined: 17 Sep 2002 Posts: 40
|
Posted: Mon Apr 05, 2004 1:12 pm Post subject: |
|
|
i did run xhost + and xhost +server
Code: | access control disabled, clients can connect from any host
INET:tesla |
what other permissions affect whether my xserver will allow a connection? |
|
Back to top |
|
|
|