View previous topic :: View next topic |
Author |
Message |
Timo n00b
Joined: 30 Sep 2002 Posts: 23
|
Posted: Sat Apr 03, 2004 8:28 am Post subject: wlan_ng: Setting up an Ad-Hoc network |
|
|
Hi everybody,
I've got some trouble with wlan_ng. I'm trying to setup an Ad-Hoc network. These are my script which initializes the card:
Code: |
wlanctl-ng wlan0 lnxreq_ifstate ifstate=enable
# Set channel 11
wlanctl-ng wlan0 dot11req_mibset mibattribute=p2CnfOwnChannel=11
# Set foobar SSID
wlanctl-ng wlan0 dot11req_mibset mibattribute=p2CnfOwnSSID=foobar
# Yes, we want unencrypted packets
wlanctl-ng wlan0 dot11req_mibset mibattribute=dot11ExcludeUnencrypted=false
# No, we don't want WEP
wlanctl-ng wlan0 dot11req_mibset mibattribute=dot11PrivacyInvoked=false
# Set Ad-Hoc mode
wlanctl-ng wlan0 dot11req_mibset mibattribute=dot11DesiredBSSType=independent
# Set the wanted SSID
wlanctl-ng wlan0 dot11req_mibset mibattribute=dot11DesiredSSID=foobar
# Join the net with ssid foobar
wlanctl-ng wlan0 lnxreq_autojoin ssid=foobar authtype=opensystem
|
Here's the output of wlancfg wlan0:
Code: |
dot11StationID=00:02:72:45:0c:a0
dot11AuthenticationResponseTimeOut=0
dot11PowerManagementMode=active
dot11DesiredSSID='foobar'
dot11DesiredBSSType=independent
dot11OperationalRateSet=02:04:0b:16
dot11DTIMPeriod=1
dot11AuthenticationAlgorithmsEnable1=true
dot11AuthenticationAlgorithmsEnable2=false
dot11PrivacyInvoked=false
dot11WEPDefaultKeyID=0
dot11ExcludeUnencrypted=false
dot11MACAddress=00:02:72:45:0c:a0
dot11RTSThreshold=2500
dot11FragmentationThreshold=2500
dot11Address1=00:00:00:00:00:00
dot11Address2=00:00:00:00:00:00
dot11Address3=00:00:00:00:00:00
dot11Address4=00:00:00:00:00:00
dot11Address5=00:00:00:00:00:00
dot11Address6=00:00:00:00:00:00
dot11Address7=00:00:00:00:00:00
dot11Address8=00:00:00:00:00:00
dot11Address9=00:00:00:00:00:00
dot11Address10=00:00:00:00:00:00
dot11Address11=00:00:00:00:00:00
dot11Address12=00:00:00:00:00:00
dot11Address13=00:00:00:00:00:00
dot11Address14=00:00:00:00:00:00
dot11Address15=00:00:00:00:00:00
dot11Address16=00:00:00:00:00:00
dot11Address17=00:00:00:00:00:00
dot11Address18=00:00:00:00:00:00
dot11Address19=00:00:00:00:00:00
dot11Address20=00:00:00:00:00:00
dot11Address21=00:00:00:00:00:00
dot11Address22=00:00:00:00:00:00
dot11Address23=00:00:00:00:00:00
dot11Address24=00:00:00:00:00:00
dot11Address25=00:00:00:00:00:00
dot11Address26=00:00:00:00:00:00
dot11Address27=00:00:00:00:00:00
dot11Address28=00:00:00:00:00:00
dot11Address29=00:00:00:00:00:00
dot11Address30=00:00:00:00:00:00
dot11Address31=00:00:00:00:00:00
dot11Address32=00:00:00:00:00:00
p2MMTx=false
p2Comment=''
p2LogEvents=false
p2CnfPortType=1
p2CnfOwnMACAddress=00:02:72:45:0c:a0
p2CnfDesiredSSID='foobar'
p2CnfOwnChannel=11
p2CnfOwnSSID='foobar'
p2CnfOwnATIMWindow=5
p2CnfSystemScale=1
p2CnfMaxDataLength=2312
p2CnfWDSAddress=00:00:00:00:00:00
p2CnfPMEnabled=false
p2CnfPMEPS=false
p2CnfMulticastReceive=true
p2CnfMaxSleepDuration=800
p2CnfPMHoldoverDuration=100
p2CnfOwnName=''
p2CnfOwnDTIMPeriod=1
p2CnfWEPDefaultKeyID=0
p2CnfWEPFlags=
p2CnfAuthentication=0
p2CnfTxControl=0
p2CnfRoamingMode=3
p2CnfRcvCrcError=
p2CnfAltRetryCount=7
p2CnfSTAPCFInfo=0
wlancfg: p2CnfPriorityQUsage=data_string_too_short
wlancfg: p2CnfTIMCtrl=data_string_too_short
wlancfg: p2CnfThirty2Tally=data_string_too_short
p2CnfShortPreamble=mixed
p2CnfAuthenticationRspTO=0
p2CnfBasicRates=0,1,2,3
p2CnfSupportedRates=0,1,2,3
p2CreateIBSS=false
p2FragmentationThreshold=2500
p2RTSThreshold=2500
p2TxRateControl=0,1,2,3
p2PromiscuousMode=false
p2TickTime=10
wlancfg: p2TxPowerMax=data_string_too_short
|
However, this doesn't work. The card in the other computer works just fine if I use the same adapter with Windows. My WLAN-Adapter contains a ZIDAS-compatible Chipset. When I'm trying to ping, the following message appears in my dmesg-output:
Code: |
p80211knetdev_hard_start_xmit: Tx attempt prior to association, frame dropped.
|
Specific questions:
- How can I find out the current status of the adapter using wlan_ng, i.e. in which cell I am?
- Does autojoin work with Ad-Hoc modes?
Yes, I already googled and searched trough the forums, but I can't spot what's wrong. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
echo6 Guru
Joined: 04 Jan 2003 Posts: 587
|
Posted: Sat May 29, 2004 1:27 pm Post subject: |
|
|
If you find out how its done let me know!
I've been searching everywhere for a way to get Ad-Hoc set manually, I've managed got get WEP working with an access point.
I'm awaiting a response from a posting I made to the linux-wlan mailing list. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Timo n00b
Joined: 30 Sep 2002 Posts: 23
|
Posted: Sat May 29, 2004 1:36 pm Post subject: |
|
|
No, i didn't find out how it works; I dropped my wlan-project afterwards. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
|
|
You cannot post new topics in this forum You cannot reply to topics in this forum You cannot edit your posts in this forum You cannot delete your posts in this forum You cannot vote in polls in this forum
|
|