View previous topic :: View next topic |
Author |
Message |
miqorz Veteran
Joined: 04 Apr 2004 Posts: 1170 Location: Pissing into the wind.
|
Posted: Wed Apr 07, 2004 3:43 am Post subject: |
|
|
/etc/conf.d/net
Code: |
# /etc/conf.d/net:
# $Header: /home/cvsroot/gentoo-src/rc-scripts/etc/conf.d/net,v 1.7 2002/11/18 19:39:22 azarah Exp $
# Global config file for net.* rc-scripts
# This is basically the ifconfig argument without the ifconfig $iface
#
#iface_eth0="192.168.0.2 broadcast 192.168.0.255 netmask 255.255.255.0"
#iface_eth1="207.170.82.202 broadcast 207.0.255.255 netmask 255.255.0.0"
# For DHCP set iface_eth? to "dhcp"
# For passing options to dhcpcd use dhcpcd_eth?
#
#iface_eth0="dhcp"
#dhcpcd_eth0="..."
# For adding aliases to a interface
#
#alias_eth0="192.168.0.3 192.168.0.4"
# NB: The next is only used for aliases.
#
# To add a custom netmask/broadcast address to created aliases,
# uncomment and change accordingly. Leave commented to assign
# defaults for that interface.
#
#broadcast_eth0="192.168.0.255 192.168.0.255"
#netmask_eth0="255.255.255.0 255.255.255.0"
# For setting the default gateway
#
#gateway="eth0/192.168.0.1"
iface_eth0="dhcp"
|
I dont seem to have an /etc/conf.d/dhcp
My ifconfig while not behind my router.
Code: |
root@melvin mike # /sbin/ifconfig eth0
eth0 Link encap:Ethernet HWaddr 00:40:CA:4A:A3:BE
inet addr:192.168.1.97 Bcast:255.255.255.255 Mask:255.255.255.0
UP BROADCAST NOTRAILERS RUNNING MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1
RX packets:2106 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
TX packets:2121 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
RX bytes:1321124 (1.2 Mb) TX bytes:191248 (186.7 Kb)
Interrupt:18
|
|
|
Back to top |
|
|
Suicidal l33t
Joined: 30 Jul 2003 Posts: 959 Location: /dev/null
|
Posted: Wed Apr 07, 2004 3:50 am Post subject: |
|
|
miqorz wrote: | Eh Im sorry but I just noticed one more thing when I just rebooted (I emerged gnome..)
My DSL modem turned off and back on... is this normal at all?! |
Loosing sync maybe? could indicate a bad line, have the telco test it.
It could also be that your dhcp client is requesting it's old IP and the telco DHCP server is refusing to issue it back because it has already issued it to another client.
If you have a hub (not switch - wont work) and another computer plug them into the hub and then from there into the DSL modem then run ethereal during boot up to see what is going on.
Also what do you mean sometimes you are behind a router and sometimes you are not? Is this a laptop? If so that could explain the long time to init eth0 as it is probably trying to contact a dhcp server that it cant reach. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
theJupiter n00b
Joined: 10 Jun 2004 Posts: 2
|
Posted: Thu Jun 10, 2004 9:46 am Post subject: |
|
|
I have the same problem when bringing eth0 up in boot. I've been having this problem since I recompiled my kernel with IPv6 support. It looks for a IPv6 router (which I don't have) and I believe that's why it takes so long.
Can I disable IPv6 in net.eth0 whithout having to recompile my kernel?
p.s this problem isn't consistant, sometimes it actually loads fast |
|
Back to top |
|
|
sabaisabai Tux's lil' helper
Joined: 05 May 2004 Posts: 83 Location: Singapore
|
Posted: Fri Jun 11, 2004 2:22 am Post subject: perhaps this will work? |
|
|
I had the same long delay with my 2.6 boot, but I didn't previously have the problem with 2.4. The only difference I could find was that 2.4 used a *module* for my modem driver (b44). So I changed the 2.6 config to include b44 as a module rather than build it in, and this has solved the problem
I don't know why it would solve it though, but I'm not compaining.
I too would like to know whether it's safe to disable IPv6 in the kernel, because it's causing a second problem that I've yet to solve - slow DNS lookup in mozilla/firefox.
[later]
Disabling IPv6 support solved the DNS lookup problem and caused no adverse effects.
Last edited by sabaisabai on Fri Jun 11, 2004 4:01 pm; edited 1 time in total |
|
Back to top |
|
|
theJupiter n00b
Joined: 10 Jun 2004 Posts: 2
|
Posted: Fri Jun 11, 2004 11:58 am Post subject: |
|
|
good point there, I also didn't have this problem with 2.4 but as far as I remember I had the same settings for my networkcard in that kernel.
My current 2.6 kernel has the driver (8139too) for my RealTek RTL-8139 built-in. in /var/log/messages i have:
Code: | Jun 11 13:12:50 jupiter eth0: link up, 100Mbps, full-duplex, lpa 0x45E1
Jun 11 13:13:00 jupiter eth0: no IPv6 routers present |
and ifconfig gives me:
Code: | eth0 Link encap:Ethernet HWaddr 00:10:DC:2E:7C:66
inet addr:192.168.2.100 Bcast:192.168.2.255 Mask:255.255.255.0
inet6 addr: fe80::210:dcff:fe2e:7c66/64 Scope:Link
UP BROADCAST NOTRAILERS RUNNING MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1
RX packets:2140 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
TX packets:2203 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
RX bytes:2011642 (1.9 Mb) TX bytes:343550 (335.4 Kb)
Interrupt:21 Base address:0xc800
lo Link encap:Local Loopback
inet addr:127.0.0.1 Mask:255.0.0.0
inet6 addr: ::1/128 Scope:Host
UP LOOPBACK RUNNING MTU:16436 Metric:1
RX packets:60 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
TX packets:60 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
collisions:0 txqueuelen:0
RX bytes:3000 (2.9 Kb) TX bytes:3000 (2.9 Kb) |
I think looking for an IPv6 router causes the delay, I've yet to try disabling IPv6 support. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
|