Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
eth0 takes forever to "bring up"..
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Goto page Previous  1, 2  
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Networking & Security
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
miqorz
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 04 Apr 2004
Posts: 1170
Location: Pissing into the wind.

PostPosted: Wed Apr 07, 2004 3:43 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

/etc/conf.d/net

Code:

# /etc/conf.d/net:
# $Header: /home/cvsroot/gentoo-src/rc-scripts/etc/conf.d/net,v 1.7 2002/11/18 19:39:22 azarah Exp $
                                                                                                                     
# Global config file for net.* rc-scripts
                                                                                                                     
# This is basically the ifconfig argument without the ifconfig $iface
#
#iface_eth0="192.168.0.2 broadcast 192.168.0.255 netmask 255.255.255.0"
#iface_eth1="207.170.82.202 broadcast 207.0.255.255 netmask 255.255.0.0"
                                                                                                                     
# For DHCP set iface_eth? to "dhcp"
# For passing options to dhcpcd use dhcpcd_eth?
#
#iface_eth0="dhcp"
#dhcpcd_eth0="..."
                                                                                                                     
# For adding aliases to a interface
#
#alias_eth0="192.168.0.3 192.168.0.4"
                                                                                                                     
# NB:  The next is only used for aliases.
#
# To add a custom netmask/broadcast address to created aliases,
# uncomment and change accordingly.  Leave commented to assign
# defaults for that interface.
#
#broadcast_eth0="192.168.0.255 192.168.0.255"
#netmask_eth0="255.255.255.0 255.255.255.0"
                                                                                                                     
                                                                                                                     
# For setting the default gateway
#
#gateway="eth0/192.168.0.1"
                                                                                                                     
iface_eth0="dhcp"


I dont seem to have an /etc/conf.d/dhcp

My ifconfig while not behind my router.

Code:

root@melvin mike # /sbin/ifconfig eth0
eth0      Link encap:Ethernet  HWaddr 00:40:CA:4A:A3:BE
          inet addr:192.168.1.97  Bcast:255.255.255.255  Mask:255.255.255.0
          UP BROADCAST NOTRAILERS RUNNING MULTICAST  MTU:1500  Metric:1
          RX packets:2106 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
          TX packets:2121 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
          collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
          RX bytes:1321124 (1.2 Mb)  TX bytes:191248 (186.7 Kb)
          Interrupt:18
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Suicidal
l33t
l33t


Joined: 30 Jul 2003
Posts: 959
Location: /dev/null

PostPosted: Wed Apr 07, 2004 3:50 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

miqorz wrote:
Eh Im sorry but I just noticed one more thing when I just rebooted (I emerged gnome..)

My DSL modem turned off and back on... is this normal at all?!


Loosing sync maybe? could indicate a bad line, have the telco test it.

It could also be that your dhcp client is requesting it's old IP and the telco DHCP server is refusing to issue it back because it has already issued it to another client.

If you have a hub (not switch - wont work) and another computer plug them into the hub and then from there into the DSL modem then run ethereal during boot up to see what is going on.

Also what do you mean sometimes you are behind a router and sometimes you are not? Is this a laptop? If so that could explain the long time to init eth0 as it is probably trying to contact a dhcp server that it cant reach.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
theJupiter
n00b
n00b


Joined: 10 Jun 2004
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Thu Jun 10, 2004 9:46 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I have the same problem when bringing eth0 up in boot. I've been having this problem since I recompiled my kernel with IPv6 support. It looks for a IPv6 router (which I don't have) and I believe that's why it takes so long.

Can I disable IPv6 in net.eth0 whithout having to recompile my kernel?

p.s this problem isn't consistant, sometimes it actually loads fast
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
sabaisabai
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 05 May 2004
Posts: 83
Location: Singapore

PostPosted: Fri Jun 11, 2004 2:22 am    Post subject: perhaps this will work? Reply with quote

I had the same long delay with my 2.6 boot, but I didn't previously have the problem with 2.4. The only difference I could find was that 2.4 used a *module* for my modem driver (b44). So I changed the 2.6 config to include b44 as a module rather than build it in, and this has solved the problem :)

I don't know why it would solve it though, but I'm not compaining.

I too would like to know whether it's safe to disable IPv6 in the kernel, because it's causing a second problem that I've yet to solve - slow DNS lookup in mozilla/firefox.

[later]

Disabling IPv6 support solved the DNS lookup problem and caused no adverse effects.


Last edited by sabaisabai on Fri Jun 11, 2004 4:01 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
theJupiter
n00b
n00b


Joined: 10 Jun 2004
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Fri Jun 11, 2004 11:58 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

good point there, I also didn't have this problem with 2.4 but as far as I remember I had the same settings for my networkcard in that kernel.

My current 2.6 kernel has the driver (8139too) for my RealTek RTL-8139 built-in. in /var/log/messages i have:
Code:
Jun 11 13:12:50 jupiter eth0: link up, 100Mbps, full-duplex, lpa 0x45E1
Jun 11 13:13:00 jupiter eth0: no IPv6 routers present

and ifconfig gives me:
Code:
eth0      Link encap:Ethernet  HWaddr 00:10:DC:2E:7C:66
          inet addr:192.168.2.100  Bcast:192.168.2.255  Mask:255.255.255.0
          inet6 addr: fe80::210:dcff:fe2e:7c66/64 Scope:Link
          UP BROADCAST NOTRAILERS RUNNING MULTICAST  MTU:1500  Metric:1
          RX packets:2140 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
          TX packets:2203 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
          collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
          RX bytes:2011642 (1.9 Mb)  TX bytes:343550 (335.4 Kb)
          Interrupt:21 Base address:0xc800
 
lo        Link encap:Local Loopback
          inet addr:127.0.0.1  Mask:255.0.0.0
          inet6 addr: ::1/128 Scope:Host
          UP LOOPBACK RUNNING  MTU:16436  Metric:1
          RX packets:60 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
          TX packets:60 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
          collisions:0 txqueuelen:0
          RX bytes:3000 (2.9 Kb)  TX bytes:3000 (2.9 Kb)


I think looking for an IPv6 router causes the delay, I've yet to try disabling IPv6 support.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Networking & Security All times are GMT
Goto page Previous  1, 2
Page 2 of 2

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum