95%  [ 43 ]
no
4%
 4%  [ 2 ]
Total Votes : 45

count
Apprentice
Apprentice

PostPosted: Fri Sep 20, 2002 9:12 pm    Post subject: To install or not to install (gentoo) Reply with quote

I've been runing Gentoo on my server for several months, and have been quite pleased. I run RedHat on my main system and have been torn on whether to replace it with Gentoo.

Here are my reasons to stick with RedHat
1. Easy to use (graphically speaking) and stable
2. It's one of the most popular distros so I never have trouble finding software on RPM.
3. Their collection of graphical configuration utilities
4. Ximian RedCarpet
5. RedHat 8 is coming out soon

Reasons to switch to Gentoo
1. More secure (easier to secure)
2. Emerge/Portage
3. System performance
4. I know what I'm doing and can fix just about anything thats fixable and configure anything configurable.
5. I really like Gentoo

So my question to you is:
What reasons would you give for or against a decision to switch? (and not Gentoo is cool and redhat sucks ... and please no RedHat bashing)

I've never installed X on Gentoo, so I'm also asking what you think of X on Gentoo?

Thanks in advance to all who reply!
This message is free software; you can redistribute it and/or modify it under the terms of the GNU General Public License as published by the Free Software Foundation. For more info visit http://joemonti.org/
lanark
Apprentice
Apprentice

PostPosted: Fri Sep 20, 2002 9:33 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I run X with blackbox on my gentoobox, and it runs fast and wonderful
ikshaar
Veteran
Veteran

PostPosted: Fri Sep 20, 2002 10:10 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

My own experience :

I switched from Redhat 7.1/Ximian1.4 to Gentoo 1.2/Gnome2 6 months ago (upgrading to 1.4 right now). So far I'm using as my workstation without trouble. Of course, I had to fix few things but these forums answered almost all my questions.