View previous topic :: View next topic |
Author |
Message |
Spaz17 n00b
Joined: 01 Jan 2004 Posts: 41 Location: /home/spaz
|
Posted: Tue Apr 06, 2004 8:48 pm Post subject: Apache 2.0.49 Issue(s) |
|
|
I recently formatted my web server (I'm still trying to figure out why), and when I reinstalled Gentoo, I emerged Apache 2.0.49. I had been running 2.0.48 on a similar Gentoo installation earlier.
I'm having two errors with Apache now:
1.) I can only restart the service once.
Code: |
spaz@pyschopompus spaz $ su
Password:
root@pyschopompus spaz # /etc/init.d/apache2 restart
* Stopping apache2... [ ok ] * Starting apache2... [ ok ]root@pyschopompus spaz # /etc/init.d/apache2 restart
* Stopping apache2... [ ok ] * Starting apache2...
(98)Address already in use: make_sock: could not bind to address 0.0.0.0:80
no listening sockets available, shutting down
Unable to open logs [ !! ]
root@pyschopompus spaz #
|
My vhosts section looks something like this:
Code: |
NameVirtualHost *:80
<VirtualHost *:80>
DocumentRoot /var/www/html/spazticenterprises.com
ServerName spazticenterprises.com
ServerAlias www.spazticenterprises.com
</VirtualHost>
|
...which may or may not have someting to do with that.
After I restart it twice and it fails to load, I have to restart the system entirely. Apache loads at boot.
2.) I'm having permissions errors.
Code: |
Forbidden
You don't have permission to access / on this server.
Apache/2.0.49 (Gentoo/Linux) Server at spazticenterprises.com Port 80
|
That's the output I get when I'm trying to access it from a web browser. I haven't changed the config files too much, and the indexes option is disabled by default. I do have my directory indexes set up correctly, though. The permissions of the directory with the documents are set 0775, which is pretty liberal, but I'm testing it right now. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
kcarlson n00b
Joined: 10 Mar 2003 Posts: 44
|
Posted: Tue Apr 06, 2004 9:14 pm Post subject: Re: Apache 2.0.49 Issue(s) |
|
|
Quote: | (98)Address already in use: make_sock: could not bind to address 0.0.0.0:80
no listening sockets available, shutting down |
Something is listening on port 80. Find out what it is. After stopping apache, try as root:
Code: | ps -ef | grep apache
netstat -pan | grep apache
netstat -pan | grep :80
|
Quote: | Unable to open logs [ !! ] |
This is disconcerting. Check the ServerRoot & ErrorLog parameters in your /etc/apache2/conf/apache2.conf file. The directory ServerRoot/ErrorLog must exist. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
The_Loserkid Tux's lil' helper
Joined: 16 Nov 2003 Posts: 101 Location: Merksem, Belgium
|
Posted: Tue Apr 06, 2004 10:25 pm Post subject: |
|
|
I'm currently having the same problem as Spazs second problem
i'm trying to make apache show an index of / when i go to my server
but instead i get the Code: | Forbidden
You don't have permission to access / on this server.
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Apache/2.0.49 (Gentoo/Linux) Server at The_Loserkid Port 8080 |
error, i've been trying for hours now to make it work
read practically the entire manual from apache etc
i've been trying hundreds (litterally) of combinations and it still wont frigging work, i'm near to giving up and kick the entire thing in the arse
this is what i've finally come up with, and i'm positive this HAS to work but for some reason it doesnt Code: | <Directory />
Options Indexes
AllowOverride None
<IfModule mod_access.c>
Order allow,deny
Allow from all
</IfModule>
</Directory> |
this should work isn't it????
please help both of us |
|
Back to top |
|
|
bone Apprentice
Joined: 07 Jun 2002 Posts: 255 Location: Midwest, USA
|
Posted: Tue Apr 06, 2004 10:58 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Your problem is that for it to process the "Order" and "Allow" parts of your <Directory> section below, it has to have the module mod_access loaded. I would check to confirm that this is loading correctly and or not erroring out.
The_Loserkid wrote: | I'm currently having the same problem as Spazs second problem
Code: |
<Directory />
Options Indexes
AllowOverride None
<IfModule mod_access.c>
Order allow,deny
Allow from all
</IfModule>
</Directory>
|
this should work isn't it????
please help both of us |
Last edited by bone on Tue Apr 06, 2004 11:17 pm; edited 1 time in total |
|
Back to top |
|
|
The_Loserkid Tux's lil' helper
Joined: 16 Nov 2003 Posts: 101 Location: Merksem, Belgium
|
Posted: Tue Apr 06, 2004 11:13 pm Post subject: |
|
|
bone wrote: | Your problem is that for it to process the "Order" and "Allow" parts of your <Directory> section below, it has to have the module mod_access loaded. I would check to confirm that this is loading correctly and or not erroring out. |
i guess it's not cos when i place a .jpg in my htdocs folder and i type the entire url in my internet explorer i can access the file _________________ Arma virumque cano, Troiae qui primus ab oris |
|
Back to top |
|
|
bone Apprentice
Joined: 07 Jun 2002 Posts: 255 Location: Midwest, USA
|
Posted: Tue Apr 06, 2004 11:53 pm Post subject: |
|
|
What errors are in your access_log and error_log when attempting to view the DocumentRoot or VirtualHost directory?
The_Loserkid wrote: | bone wrote: | Your problem is that for it to process the "Order" and "Allow" parts of your <Directory> section below, it has to have the module mod_access loaded. I would check to confirm that this is loading correctly and or not erroring out. |
i guess it's not cos when i place a .jpg in my htdocs folder and i type the entire url in my internet explorer i can access the file |
|
|
Back to top |
|
|
The_Loserkid Tux's lil' helper
Joined: 16 Nov 2003 Posts: 101 Location: Merksem, Belgium
|
Posted: Tue Apr 06, 2004 11:55 pm Post subject: |
|
|
bone wrote: | What errors are in your access_log and error_log when attempting to view the DocumentRoot or VirtualHost directory? |
how do i check ? _________________ Arma virumque cano, Troiae qui primus ab oris |
|
Back to top |
|
|
bone Apprentice
Joined: 07 Jun 2002 Posts: 255 Location: Midwest, USA
|
Posted: Wed Apr 07, 2004 12:16 am Post subject: |
|
|
If the URL that you are trying to access is your main DocumentRoot, then check your logs directory, if its a VirtualHost then you might have an alternative log file/directory specifed for that VirtualHost in which case you would have to check there. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
The_Loserkid Tux's lil' helper
Joined: 16 Nov 2003 Posts: 101 Location: Merksem, Belgium
|
Posted: Wed Apr 07, 2004 9:15 am Post subject: |
|
|
bone wrote: | If the URL that you are trying to access is your main DocumentRoot, then check your logs directory, if its a VirtualHost then you might have an alternative log file/directory specifed for that VirtualHost in which case you would have to check there. |
here's what the logs says when i tried to acces / Code: | [Wed Apr 07 11:21:21 2004] [error] [client 192.168.0.2] Directory index forbidden by rule: /var/www/localhost/htdocs/ |
client 192.168.0.2 is my computer _________________ Arma virumque cano, Troiae qui primus ab oris |
|
Back to top |
|
|
UberLord Retired Dev
Joined: 18 Sep 2003 Posts: 6835 Location: Blighty
|
|
Back to top |
|
|
The_Loserkid Tux's lil' helper
Joined: 16 Nov 2003 Posts: 101 Location: Merksem, Belgium
|
Posted: Wed Apr 07, 2004 9:42 am Post subject: |
|
|
the <Directory ....> thing i pasted was from my commonapache2.conf file _________________ Arma virumque cano, Troiae qui primus ab oris |
|
Back to top |
|
|
kcarlson n00b
Joined: 10 Mar 2003 Posts: 44
|
Posted: Sun Apr 11, 2004 2:57 am Post subject: apache problems |
|
|
I found that I was better off leaving most options unchanged in commonapache2.conf and apache2.conf -> and then creating a virtual host for any sites on my domain.
The Important bits are:
Code: | /etc/apache2/conf/apache2.conf
###
### Virtual Hosts
###
# We include different templates for Virtual Hosting. Have a look in the
# vhosts directory and modify to suit your needs.
Include conf/vhosts/vhosts.conf
#Include conf/vhosts/dynamic-vhosts.conf
#Include conf/vhosts/virtual-homepages.conf |
Code: | /etc/apache2/conf/vhosts/vhosts.conf
...
include conf/vhosts/your_site_name.conf
|
Code: | /etc/apache2/conf/vhosts/your_site_name.conf
<VirtualHost *:80>
ServerName your_site_name
ServerAlias www.your_site_name
ServerAdmin webmaster@localhost
# Directories
DocumentRoot "/share/web/"
<Directory />
Options -All -Multiviews +Followsymlinks +Includes +Indexes
Allow from all
</Directory>
</VirtualHost>
|
- If you can access a single file directly from a URL ( http://my_site.com/my_jpeg.jpg ) successfully, then you are accessing the web site as intended.
- The "Directory index forbidden by rule" error is apache saying that you do not have a default web page in that location, and that apache is not configured to provide essentially a 'dir' or 'ls' listing of your htdocs directory. The +Indexes option above is what allows that, if that is actually what you intend.
-Make sure there is no .htaccess file in your htdocs directory that forbids this as well.
- You likely should just make a default web document in your htdocs directory. Default documents are parsed in the order found by the apache directive DirectoryIndex, found in the commonapache2.conf file.
( DirectoryIndex index.html index.html.var index.php index.php3 index.shtml index.cgi index.pl index.htm Default.htm default.htm
)
Hope some of this helped. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
infecticide Apprentice
Joined: 10 Mar 2004 Posts: 262 Location: Regina, SK Canada
|
Posted: Tue Apr 20, 2004 9:58 am Post subject: |
|
|
I've done as shown above and tried the VirtualHosts.
Still no luck.
I have all my hosted files on a FAT32 partition that I dual boot WinXP from and it seems to me that this could be a problem with the permissions set in fstab or something?
I tried the chmod 777 /mnt/windows/htdocs
But it still gives me 403.
access_log
Code: |
127.0.0.1 - - [20/Apr/2004:03:52:16 -0600] "GET / HTTP/1.1" 403 406 "-" "Mozilla/5.0 (compatible; Konqueror/3.2; Linux 2.4.25-gentoo) (KHTML, like Gecko)"
|
error_log
Code: |
[Tue Apr 20 03:52:05 2004] [notice] Apache/2.0.49 (Gentoo/Linux) configured -- resuming normal operations
[Tue Apr 20 03:52:16 2004] [error] [client 127.0.0.1] (13)Permission denied: access to / denied
|
Any pointers? Thanks in advance. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
infecticide Apprentice
Joined: 10 Mar 2004 Posts: 262 Location: Regina, SK Canada
|
Posted: Tue Apr 20, 2004 10:26 am Post subject: |
|
|
Igot curious about those fstab permissions and took a look around. Found a fstab tag gid=users, uid=0000, these did the trick. Apache and mySQL now have no problem accessing the files. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
kcarlson n00b
Joined: 10 Mar 2003 Posts: 44
|
Posted: Sat Apr 24, 2004 1:00 am Post subject: |
|
|
infecticide wrote: | I have all my hosted files on a FAT32 partition that I dual boot WinXP from and it seems to me that this could be a problem with the permissions set in fstab or something?
I tried the chmod 777 /mnt/windows/htdocs
But it still gives me 403.
Any pointers? Thanks in advance. |
Possibly a few pointers. Once you mount a partition, the permissions can change based on who mounts it, etc. I do not know if WinXP will try to muck with the files either.
1. First best advice: FAT32 sucks. Use NTFS for WinXP. Make a new partition for Linux and use ext3 or reiserfs.
2. Change your fstab to a line similar to:
/dev/hdxx /mnt/windows vfat rw,user,uid=___,gid=_____
- hdxx is of course your drive and partition. Ex. /dev/hdc3
- fill in the blanks for the uid and gid of your apache user and group. On my box apache runs as user:apache, group: apache. To find the uid/gid do this:
cat /etc/passwd | grep apache
apache:x:81:81:apache:/home/httpd:/bin/false
cat /etc/group | grep apache
apache::81:apache,jsmith
so I would use uid=81, and coincidentally gid=81.
This should help set permissions to be accessible to your web server. I don't know if this will solve your problem, but I've never attempted to deal with linux filesystem priviledges on a FAT32 partition either.
later. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
syscrash Guru
Joined: 14 Apr 2003 Posts: 541
|
Posted: Sat Apr 24, 2004 2:05 am Post subject: |
|
|
I am also experiencing the same issue (#1).
Code: | sigma apache2 # /etc/init.d/apache2 restart
* Starting apache2... [ ok ]
sigma apache2 # netstat -pan | grep :80
tcp 0 0 0.0.0.0:80 0.0.0.0:* LISTEN 11618/apache2
tcp 427 0 192.168.0.6:80 192.168.0.4:33566 CLOSE_WAIT -
sigma apache2 # /etc/init.d/apache2 stop
* Stopping apache2... [ ok ]
sigma apache2 # netstat -pan | grep :80
tcp 0 0 0.0.0.0:80 0.0.0.0:* LISTEN 11618/apache2
tcp 427 0 192.168.0.6:80 192.168.0.4:33566 CLOSE_WAIT -
sigma apache2 # killall apache2
sigma apache2 # netstat -pan | grep :80
sigma apache2 # netstat -pan | grep :80
sigma apache2 # netstat -pan | grep apache2
sigma apache2 # /etc/init.d/apache2 start
* Starting apache2... [ ok ]
sigma apache2 # netstat -pan | grep apache2
tcp 0 0 0.0.0.0:80 0.0.0.0:* LISTEN 11724/apache2
sigma apache2 #
|
It seems to load the first time around though, but it is a bit of a hassle for me to reboot the server.
Any ideas? Is it an apache bug? |
|
Back to top |
|
|
compucoder Apprentice
Joined: 16 Sep 2002 Posts: 246 Location: London, Canada
|
Posted: Sat Apr 24, 2004 2:36 am Post subject: |
|
|
I had some issues like this with apache 2 and it ended resolving the problem by adding apache to the users group and also making sure the docroot and virtual host root was owned by 'root'.
Might want to give this a try. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Spaz17 n00b
Joined: 01 Jan 2004 Posts: 41 Location: /home/spaz
|
Posted: Sat Apr 24, 2004 2:34 pm Post subject: |
|
|
I'm back.
I was away for a while. Thanks for stealing me thread
I resolved my first issue, but I don't remember how, since it was such a long time ago.
However, I'm still having issues trying to actually serve my files. I can only do so out of the default /var/www/localhost/htdocs directory. When I change the DocumentRoot in my apache2.conf file, I get that forbidden error. The permission of the folder I change it to are the same as that of htdocs.
Ideas? |
|
Back to top |
|
|
kcarlson n00b
Joined: 10 Mar 2003 Posts: 44
|
Posted: Mon Apr 26, 2004 4:29 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Spaz17 wrote: |
However, I'm still having issues trying to actually serve my files. I can only do so out of the default /var/www/localhost/htdocs directory. When I change the DocumentRoot in my apache2.conf file, I get that forbidden error. The permission of the folder I change it to are the same as that of htdocs.
Ideas? |
Can you post the relevant lines from the access/error logs found in /var/log/apache2/ ? |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Chris W l33t
Joined: 25 Jun 2002 Posts: 972 Location: Brisbane, Australia
|
Posted: Mon Apr 26, 2004 10:34 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Spaz17, you are most likely getting the 403 errors because Apache does not have permission to access the contents of the OS directory /var/www/html/spazticenterprises.com (The / in the 403 error refers to the document root not the real root). Unless you have specifically allowed it, the default entries in commonapache.conf disallow it. The disallowing entry looks like: Code: | <Directory />
Options -All -Multiviews
AllowOverride None
<IfModule mod_access.c>
Order deny,allow
Deny from all
</IfModule>
</Directory> | where the <Directory> directive applies to the operating system root directory and all subordinates. You need to allow access to /var/www/html/spazticenterprises.com in same fashion that access is allowed to the /var/www/localhost/htdocs tree. For example: Code: | <Directory /var/www/html/spazticenterprises.com>
Options -Indexes FollowSymLinks MultiViews
AllowOverride All
<IfModule mod_access.c>
Order allow,deny
Allow from all
</IfModule>
</Directory> |
Hope this helps. _________________ Cheers,
Chris W
"Common sense: The collection of prejudices acquired by age 18." -- Einstein |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Spaz17 n00b
Joined: 01 Jan 2004 Posts: 41 Location: /home/spaz
|
Posted: Wed Apr 28, 2004 9:24 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Wow, I swear I posted a response to this a long time ago.
Well, thanks Chris W, that's what it was. It's weird that I've never had to do that before, though.
But my first error seems to still be appearing, though.
After stopping Apache:
Code: |
pyschopompus root # ps -ef | grep apache
root 29240 1 0 21:52 ? 00:00:00 /usr/sbin/apache2 -k start -D SSL -D PHP4
apache 29360 29240 0 21:54 ? 00:00:00 /usr/sbin/apache2 -k start -D SSL -D PHP4
apache 29361 29240 0 21:54 ? 00:00:00 /usr/sbin/apache2 -k start -D SSL -D PHP4
apache 29362 29240 0 21:54 ? 00:00:00 /usr/sbin/apache2 -k start -D SSL -D PHP4
apache 29363 29240 0 21:54 ? 00:00:00 /usr/sbin/apache2 -k start -D SSL -D PHP4
apache 29364 29240 0 21:54 ? 00:00:00 /usr/sbin/apache2 -k start -D SSL -D PHP4
apache 29365 29240 0 21:54 ? 00:00:00 /usr/sbin/apache2 -k start -D SSL -D PHP4
root 29402 29141 0 21:57 pts/2 00:00:00 grep apache
pyschopompus root # netstat -pan | grep apache
tcp 0 0 0.0.0.0:80 0.0.0.0:* LISTEN 29240/apache2
tcp 0 0 0.0.0.0:443 0.0.0.0:* LISTEN 29240/apache2
unix 2 [ ACC ] STREAM LISTENING 22130 29360/apache2 /var/run/cgisock
pyschopompus root # netstat -pan | grep :80
tcp 0 0 0.0.0.0:80 0.0.0.0:* LISTEN 29240/apache2
pyschopompus root #
|
Eh? |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Chris W l33t
Joined: 25 Jun 2002 Posts: 972 Location: Brisbane, Australia
|
Posted: Wed Apr 28, 2004 10:13 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Does Apache _really_ stop if you use: Code: | # apache2ctl -k stop |
Is your /etc/init.d/apache2 up to date? Have you been running etc-update and merging changes? Code: | ptolemy root # md5sum /etc/init.d/apache2
ec04063f55e79fc73de02c4f4647b135 /etc/init.d/apache2
|
Perhaps there is a permission problem with the PID file: Code: | ptolemy root # ls -l /var/run/apache2.pid
-rw-r--r-- 1 root root 6 Apr 27 13:35 /var/run/apache2.pid |
_________________ Cheers,
Chris W
"Common sense: The collection of prejudices acquired by age 18." -- Einstein |
|
Back to top |
|
|
infecticide Apprentice
Joined: 10 Mar 2004 Posts: 262 Location: Regina, SK Canada
|
Posted: Fri Apr 30, 2004 5:53 am Post subject: |
|
|
Just incase anyone is wondering how I solved my issue of serving Apache2 from FAT32. I had to add gid=users, umask=0000 to fstab. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Larcen Apprentice
Joined: 21 Mar 2004 Posts: 174
|
Posted: Fri May 07, 2004 4:02 am Post subject: |
|
|
Help!
..now that thats taken care of.
I was running on FreeBSD for months, and then decided to migrate to Gentoo. Very good move.. BUT I can't seem to get VirtualHosts working under Gentoo. FreeBSD was simple, installed apache2 and set it up, boom, done. Worked fine. But Gentoo.. I dunno whats goin on. in using the vhosts include, or putting my virtualhosts right in apache2.conf I either get.. Permissioned denied trying to access / on this server also there was an error in the error document handling etc etc.. OR I just keep getting the default htdocs directory for all addresses. www.* test.* whatever.domain.com Any suggestions? |
|
Back to top |
|
|
|