View previous topic :: View next topic |
Author |
Message |
papal_authority Veteran
![Veteran Veteran](/images/ranks/rank_rect_5_vet.gif)
![](images/avatars/101649746447a8e5f5d66a5.png)
Joined: 31 Mar 2004 Posts: 1823 Location: Canada
|
Posted: Mon May 03, 2004 11:07 pm Post subject: hdparm |
|
|
I'm trying to set DMA on my new HD. However I get an error:
# hdparm -d1 /dev/hda
/dev/hda:
setting using_dma to 1 (on)hda: WDC WD400JB-00FMA0, ATA DISK drive
HDIO_SET_DMA failed: Operation not permitted
using_dma = 0 (off)
This is what dmesg has to say about the HD:
hda: WDC WD400JB-00FMA0, ATA DISK drive
hda: attached ide-disk driver.
hda: host protected area => 1
hda: 78165360 sectors (40021 MB) w/8192KiB Cache, CHS=77545/16/63
Here's the DMA related lines from my kernel config:
# CONFIG_BLK_DEV_IDEDMA_FORCED is not set
CONFIG_IDEDMA_PCI_AUTO=y
# CONFIG_IDEDMA_ONLYDISK is not set
CONFIG_BLK_DEV_IDEDMA=y
# CONFIG_IDEDMA_PCI_WIP is not set
# CONFIG_BLK_DEV_ADMA100 is not set
# CONFIG_HPT34X_AUTODMA is not set
CONFIG_IDEDMA_AUTO=y
# CONFIG_IDEDMA_IVB is not set
# CONFIG_DMA_NONPCI is not set
# CONFIG_SCSI_EATA_DMA is not set
Any ideas? TIA ![Question :?:](images/smiles/icon_question.gif) |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
adaptr Watchman
![Watchman Watchman](/images/ranks/rank-G-2-watchman.gif)
![](images/avatars/17218567054377b9b6104ea.jpg)
Joined: 06 Oct 2002 Posts: 6730 Location: Rotterdam, Netherlands
|
Posted: Mon May 03, 2004 11:09 pm Post subject: |
|
|
And, erm, you are root ?
Else the permissions on the HD device may be wrong.
I'm sure I've seen this before - search the forum, it's bound to come up! _________________ >>> emerge (3 of 7) mcse/70-293 to /
Essential tools: gentoolkit eix profuse screen |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
Vulpes_Vulpes Apprentice
![Apprentice Apprentice](/images/ranks/rank_rect_2.gif)
![](images/avatars/11869051053fd6eafcc0acc.gif)
Joined: 10 Dec 2003 Posts: 264 Location: Amsterdam
|
Posted: Mon May 03, 2004 11:55 pm Post subject: |
|
|
I had the same kind of problems. Go to:
Code: |
Device Drivers --->
ATA/ATAPI/MFM/RLL support --->
.....
[*] Generic PCI bus-master DMA support
[ ] Force enable legacy 2.0.X HOSTS to use DMA
[*] Use PCI DMA by default when available
[ ] Enable DMA only for disks
.....
|
That did the trick for me. (this is in a 2.6.3 kernel)
[edit]
If I remember corectly the following was also important:
Code: |
<*> VIA82CXXX chipset support
|
Please don't shoot me if I'm wrong... It was a long time ago.
[/edit] |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
papal_authority Veteran
![Veteran Veteran](/images/ranks/rank_rect_5_vet.gif)
![](images/avatars/101649746447a8e5f5d66a5.png)
Joined: 31 Mar 2004 Posts: 1823 Location: Canada
|
Posted: Tue May 04, 2004 1:22 am Post subject: SOLVED |
|
|
Thanks Vulpes_Vulpes, I recompiled my 2.4.24 kernel with these options:
CONFIG_BLK_DEV_GENERIC=y
CONFIG_BLK_DEV_VIA82CXXX=y
Now it works! It seems that it has now turned off my SoundBlaster game port however... |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
Vulpes_Vulpes Apprentice
![Apprentice Apprentice](/images/ranks/rank_rect_2.gif)
![](images/avatars/11869051053fd6eafcc0acc.gif)
Joined: 10 Dec 2003 Posts: 264 Location: Amsterdam
|
Posted: Tue May 04, 2004 8:46 am Post subject: |
|
|
In the proces of trying to get your game port working I would advice you to upgrade to a newer kernelversion. I think there was a prety serious bug in the =< 2.4.24 versions... (vanilla-sources). Upgrade to 2.4.25 or to 2.4.26 while your a it.
I am using the 2.6.* very happily for some time now. It took me some time to get ALSA working properly but there are loads of manuals and tips for on this forum now. |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
|