View previous topic :: View next topic |
Author |
Message |
John19 n00b

Joined: 01 Mar 2004 Posts: 43 Location: The Netherlands
|
Posted: Thu Apr 08, 2004 6:48 pm Post subject: mount NTFS (Windows XP) . |
|
|
I'm having 3 NTFS partitions on my harddisk. Windows XP is using this drives. How can I get into that partitions to play mp3's from the 3 harddisks?
I have set NTFS modules load into the kernel. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Voltago Advocate


Joined: 02 Sep 2003 Posts: 2593 Location: userland
|
Posted: Thu Apr 08, 2004 6:59 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Supposing, hda5 was the partition in question, adding
Code: | /dev/hda5 /mnt/hda5 ntfs ro,auto,umask=0002 0 0 |
to /etc/fstab would automount your partition user-readible at startup (read-only). Make sure your mountpoint (/dev/hda5 in this case) exists. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
John19 n00b

Joined: 01 Mar 2004 Posts: 43 Location: The Netherlands
|
Posted: Fri Apr 09, 2004 7:42 am Post subject: |
|
|
Quote: | Supposing, hda5 was the partition in question, adding
Code:
/dev/hda5 /mnt/hda5 ntfs ro,auto,umask=0002 0 0
to /etc/fstab would automount your partition user-readible at startup (read-only). Make sure your mountpoint (/dev/hda5 in this case) exists. |
If reboot after this I'm having the following error:
Code: | map /mnt/hda5 does not exist. |
in /mnt only the map floppy exist.
 |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Pseud Apprentice

Joined: 19 Mar 2004 Posts: 273 Location: Bangalore, India
|
Posted: Fri Apr 09, 2004 7:44 am Post subject: |
|
|
create all the mount points you need. in this case, you should (as root) create /mnt/hda5. (I suppose Voltago meant to say make sure /mnt/hda5 exists.)
reboot after this and it should work. _________________ eschew obfuscation |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
John19 n00b

Joined: 01 Mar 2004 Posts: 43 Location: The Netherlands
|
Posted: Fri Apr 09, 2004 8:01 am Post subject: |
|
|
Afters I made the maps. I reboot.
I see the following:
Code: | * Mounting local filesystems
modprobe: modprobe: Can't locate module ntfs
mount: fs type ntfs not supported by kernel
* Some local filesystems failed to mount. |
I have kernel 2.4.
I'm sure I have set "NTFS file system support (read only)" in make menuconfig. I also have recompiled the kernel |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Pseud Apprentice

Joined: 19 Mar 2004 Posts: 273 Location: Bangalore, India
|
Posted: Fri Apr 09, 2004 8:12 am Post subject: |
|
|
You have probably done this, but just to be sure: After you recompiled your Kernel, did you copy your bzImage to /boot?
[ I'm a li'l helper starting with this post] _________________ eschew obfuscation |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
John19 n00b

Joined: 01 Mar 2004 Posts: 43 Location: The Netherlands
|
Posted: Fri Apr 09, 2004 8:22 am Post subject: |
|
|
Pseud wrote: | You have probably done this, but just to be sure: After you recompiled your Kernel, did you copy your bzImage to /boot?
|
I'm sure I copy bzImage to /boot |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Pseud Apprentice

Joined: 19 Mar 2004 Posts: 273 Location: Bangalore, India
|
Posted: Fri Apr 09, 2004 8:33 am Post subject: |
|
|
Ok, its been a while since I compiled my kernel, so I don't remember exactly (and besides, mine's 2.6.3, and I suggest you upgrate too, sometime soon), but did you include ntfs support as a module or did you make it part of the kernel? (I think I had this option with 2.6.3, don't know if its the same with 2.4 -- there is a substantial difference in the menuconfig options for 2.4 and 2.6.x).
From your dmesg it looks like it was added as a module but you might have forgotten to emerge the relevant module? (I dont know which this would be cos I've not done it that way).
Hope this helps. _________________ eschew obfuscation |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
John19 n00b

Joined: 01 Mar 2004 Posts: 43 Location: The Netherlands
|
Posted: Fri Apr 09, 2004 8:37 am Post subject: |
|
|
I made it part of the kernel. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Pseud Apprentice

Joined: 19 Mar 2004 Posts: 273 Location: Bangalore, India
|
Posted: Fri Apr 09, 2004 8:50 am Post subject: |
|
|
Hmm, I don't know much to help. The only thing I can think of is to try a newer kernel; perhaps your 2.4 kernel is missing some patches (especially true if its from a vanilla source). Or you can hope for someone more knowledgeable than me to come along Good luck! _________________ eschew obfuscation |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
smiley Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 03 Dec 2003 Posts: 127
|
Posted: Sun Apr 11, 2004 12:39 am Post subject: |
|
|
John19 wrote: | I made it part of the kernel. |
open up /etc/modules.autoload.d/kernel-2.4
if it says ntfs, delete that line. Basically, the init process is being told to load the ntfs module, however you have ntfs built directly into the kernel, so it doesn't need to load a module.
smiley
Edit: Oops, the first time I read your error, I didn't notice that the kernel says it doesn't have ntfs support. Just to be absolutely sure, did you mount your boot partition before copying your bzImage to boot? |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
|