Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
ARGH% Help please!
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
stevenp
n00b
n00b


Joined: 29 Oct 2003
Posts: 14
Location: Glasgow, Scotland.

PostPosted: Tue Apr 13, 2004 1:35 pm    Post subject: ARGH% Help please! Reply with quote

Well, i tried to follow the instructions from other threads about duel booting gentoo wth XP using grub. Anyway, it resulted in my wiping and starting again. This is what ive got so far: -

/dev/hda1 - Windows XP NFTS
/dev/hda2 - gentoo boot
/dev/hda3 - gentoo swap
/dev/hda4 - gentoo root

How would i go about setting up my grub file for the above settings?Thanks!
_________________
Thanks, Steven Paton.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
nixnut
Bodhisattva
Bodhisattva


Joined: 09 Apr 2004
Posts: 10974
Location: the dutch mountains

PostPosted: Tue Apr 13, 2004 4:41 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Code:

default 0
timeout 30

title=Gentoo
root (hd0,0)
kernel (hd0,1)/kernel-2.4.24 root=/dev/hda4
initrd (hd0,1)/initrd-2.4.24

title=Windows XP
root (hd0,0)
chainloader +1

probably somthing like this. If your kernel has another name than "kernel-2.4.24" change the above config to reflect the real name. Same for initrd.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
stevenp
n00b
n00b


Joined: 29 Oct 2003
Posts: 14
Location: Glasgow, Scotland.

PostPosted: Tue Apr 13, 2004 5:20 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

OK, ive set it up like that but when i reboot.. grub loads with horrible white lines going down the screen and i get some error: -

Code:

'Booting gentoo linux'

root (hd0,0)
Filesystem unknown type, partition type 0x?
kernel (hd0,1)/kernel-2.4.22 root=dev/hda4

Error 15: File not found
Press any key to continue...


any ideas on this one ?:(
_________________
Thanks, Steven Paton.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
acidburn
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 09 Apr 2004
Posts: 148
Location: Albuquerque

PostPosted: Tue Apr 13, 2004 5:23 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

the white lines are happening to me also...i think its a corupted splash image on the liveCD try taking the splash image out of the grub.conf i haven't been home yet to try it myself
_________________
"In Nomeni Patri Et Fili Spiritus Sancti."
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Earthwings
Bodhisattva
Bodhisattva


Joined: 14 Apr 2003
Posts: 7753
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Tue Apr 13, 2004 5:25 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

root (hd0,0) must be
Code:

root (hd0,1)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
daveb
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 20 Nov 2003
Posts: 137
Location: In front of my computer, duh!

PostPosted: Tue Apr 13, 2004 5:26 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

To get rid of the error,
Code:
root (hd0,0)

should be
Code:
root (hd0,1)

so that it is pointing at your /boot partition.

EDIT: Hahahah, Earthwings beat me to it. I need to take speed typing lessons or something... :)
_________________
WARNING: Not reading the Gentoo Handbook can be hazardous to your computer!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
stevenp
n00b
n00b


Joined: 29 Oct 2003
Posts: 14
Location: Glasgow, Scotland.

PostPosted: Tue Apr 13, 2004 5:32 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Ok, i changed my grub file to look like:-

Code:

default 0
timeout 30

title=Gentoo
root (hd0,1)
kernel (hd0,1)/kernel-2.4.24 root=/dev/hda4
initrd (hd0,1)/initrd-2.4.24

title=Windows XP
root (hd0,0)
chainloader +1


still get the error 15 when i try to boot to gentoo :(
_________________
Thanks, Steven Paton.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Earthwings
Bodhisattva
Bodhisattva


Joined: 14 Apr 2003
Posts: 7753
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Tue Apr 13, 2004 5:35 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Check your kernel's name. The sticky thread "grub error collection" lists the steps to do this if you don't know how.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
stevenp
n00b
n00b


Joined: 29 Oct 2003
Posts: 14
Location: Glasgow, Scotland.

PostPosted: Tue Apr 13, 2004 5:43 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Right! its working now (i think), i click gentoo in grub and its starts spamming code and stops at a point where it asks me to

Code:

specify a device to boot, or 'shell' for a shell


is that supposed to happen ?:)
_________________
Thanks, Steven Paton.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Earthwings
Bodhisattva
Bodhisattva


Joined: 14 Apr 2003
Posts: 7753
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Tue Apr 13, 2004 5:56 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Looks like you used genkernel... "Then kernel (hd0,1)/kernel-2.4.24 root=/dev/hda4" has to be
Code:

kernel (hd0,1)/kernel-2.4.24 init=/linuxrc root=/dev/ram0 real_root=/dev/hda4

You didn't follow the install handbook, did you? :wink:
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
stevenp
n00b
n00b


Joined: 29 Oct 2003
Posts: 14
Location: Glasgow, Scotland.

PostPosted: Tue Apr 13, 2004 6:13 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Earthwings wrote:
Looks like you used genkernel... "Then kernel (hd0,1)/kernel-2.4.24 root=/dev/hda4" has to be
Code:

kernel (hd0,1)/kernel-2.4.24 init=/linuxrc root=/dev/ram0 real_root=/dev/hda4

You didn't follow the install handbook, did you? :wink:


yeah i did ;) (mostly;p) Anyway, i changed it to what you said and i stil lget the error! /me scratches head
_________________
Thanks, Steven Paton.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Earthwings
Bodhisattva
Bodhisattva


Joined: 14 Apr 2003
Posts: 7753
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Tue Apr 13, 2004 6:28 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Can you post some context for the error message? Like five lines above and the exact message
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
asgardwarrior
n00b
n00b


Joined: 07 Apr 2004
Posts: 46

PostPosted: Tue Apr 13, 2004 6:47 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I was having the same problem on my first install.
I did not use genkernel so I don't know if this will work.
In my grub file the kernel was listed as /boot/kernel-2.6.3/
I would get the same error you did so I made sure it was pointing it the actual kernel i.e. /boot/kernel-2.6.3/bzImage and it worked. Maybe something simular will work?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
stevenp
n00b
n00b


Joined: 29 Oct 2003
Posts: 14
Location: Glasgow, Scotland.

PostPosted: Tue Apr 13, 2004 7:16 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

The error is:-

Code:

Step4: Determining root device
Step 4a: Mounting Root
mount: Mounting /dev/hda4 on /newroot failed: Invalid Arguement
Could not monut specified ROOT, try again
Root block device unspecified or not detected
Please specify a device to boot, or "shell" for a shell.
: _


Its like that. Ive got no clue what to do :p
_________________
Thanks, Steven Paton.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Earthwings
Bodhisattva
Bodhisattva


Joined: 14 Apr 2003
Posts: 7753
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Tue Apr 13, 2004 7:23 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Edit: Try leaving out the "root=/dev/hda4" part in the kernel line.

If that doesn't help, too: Can you post your kernel config? It's in /usr/src/linux/.config

What filesystems do you use? Anything special about the hardware? Like SATA, SCSI etc.

Edit 2: Here's another thread with more tips.


Last edited by Earthwings on Tue Apr 13, 2004 7:31 pm; edited 2 times in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jtaylor72
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 01 Feb 2004
Posts: 197
Location: "the can", WA

PostPosted: Tue Apr 13, 2004 7:28 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

What filesystem are you using, and have you compiledit into the kernel? I had this problem once and it was because I had forgotten to compile reiserfs support into the kernel.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
nixnut
Bodhisattva
Bodhisattva


Joined: 09 Apr 2004
Posts: 10974
Location: the dutch mountains

PostPosted: Tue Apr 13, 2004 7:32 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Oops, I meant
Code:

default 0
timeout 30

title=Gentoo
#root (hd0,0)  <--uncomment this line
kernel (hd0,1)/kernel-2.4.24 root=/dev/hda4
initrd (hd0,1)/initrd-2.4.24

title=Windows XP
root (hd0,0)
chainloader +1
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
stevenp
n00b
n00b


Joined: 29 Oct 2003
Posts: 14
Location: Glasgow, Scotland.

PostPosted: Tue Apr 13, 2004 7:34 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I hope the following is what you mean, im a newb :p

Code:

# These flags were set by the catalyst build script that automatically built this stage
CFLAGS="-march=athlon-xp -pipe -02"
CHOST="1686-pc-linux-gnu"
USE="-gtk -gnome qt kde dvd alsa cdr"
CXXFLAGS="${CFLAGS}
GENTOO_MIRRORS="some html here ....... blah"


er.. nothing special in my hardware. ive got ide hard drives, athlon processor...

my root partition in reiserfs and y boot partition is ext3
_________________
Thanks, Steven Paton.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Earthwings
Bodhisattva
Bodhisattva


Joined: 14 Apr 2003
Posts: 7753
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Tue Apr 13, 2004 7:52 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

No. Boot from livecd, then
Code:

mount /dev/hda4 /mnt/gentoo
grep -v "^$\|^#" /mnt/gentoo/usr/src/linux/.config

Hope you already have access to this forum in gentoo (links is fine). Copy the output with the mouse and paste it here.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum