Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
amd64 bootstrap fails
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Gentoo on AMD64
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
beanfield
n00b
n00b


Joined: 12 Nov 2003
Posts: 19

PostPosted: Fri Apr 16, 2004 3:09 pm    Post subject: amd64 bootstrap fails Reply with quote

I've tried bootstrap.sh about 8 times now and it seems to fail on different packages each time, but usually on gcc 3.3

On the last boostrap, I recieved this error:

Code:

gcc -shared  .libs/bindtextdom.o .libs/dcgettext.o .libs/dgettext.o .libs/gettext.o .libs/finddomain.o .libs/loadmsgcat.o .libs/localealias.o .libs/textdomain.o .libs/l10nflist.o .libs/explodename.o .libs/dcigettext.o .libs/dcngettext.o .libs/dngettext.o .libs/ngettext.o .libs/plural.o .libs/plural-exp.o .libs/localcharset.o .libs/relocatable.o .libs/localename.o .libs/log.o .libs/osdep.o .libs/intl-compat.o  -lc  -Wl,-soname -Wl,libgnuintl.so.2 -o .libs/libgnuintl.so.2.3.0
/usr/lib/gcc-lib/x86_64-pc-linux-gnu/3.3.3/../../../../x86_64-pc-linux-gnu/bin/ld: .libs/bindtextdom.o: relocation R_X86_64_32 can not be used when making a shared object; recompile with -fPIC
.libs/bindtextdom.o: could not read symbols: Bad value
collect2: ld returned 1 exit status
make[3]: *** [libgnuintl.la] Error 1
make[3]: Leaving directory `/var/tmp/portage/gettext-0.12.1-r1/work/gettext-0.12.1/gettext-runtime/intl'
make[2]: *** [all-recursive] Error 1
make[2]: Leaving directory `/var/tmp/portage/gettext-0.12.1-r1/work/gettext-0.12.1/gettext-runtime'
make[1]: *** [all] Error 2
make[1]: Leaving directory `/var/tmp/portage/gettext-0.12.1-r1/work/gettext-0.12.1/gettext-runtime'
make: *** [all-recursive] Error 1

!!! ERROR: sys-devel/gettext-0.12.1-r1 failed.
!!! Function src_compile, Line 50, Exitcode 2
!!! (no error message)


My /etc/make.conf

Code:

# These settings were set by the catalyst build script that automatically built this stage
# CFLAGS="-O3 -pipe -mmmx -m3dnow -msse -mfpmath=sse,387 -m64"
CFLAGS="-02"
CHOST="x86_64-pc-linux-gnu"
USE="X kde alsa qt gtk2 mozilla ssh -gnome qtmt"
CXXFLAGS="$CFLAGS"
ACCEPT_KEYWORDS="amd64 ~amd64"
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Mahony
n00b
n00b


Joined: 16 Apr 2004
Posts: 5

PostPosted: Fri Apr 16, 2004 5:34 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Try 'emerge sync' and 'emerge rsync' (no quotes).
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
beanfield
n00b
n00b


Joined: 12 Nov 2003
Posts: 19

PostPosted: Fri Apr 16, 2004 10:10 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I did the emerge sync and emerge rsync..then scripts/bootstrap.sh

Code:
/var/tmp/portage/gcc-3.3.3/work/gcc-3.3.3/libobjc/Object.m: In function `+[Object new]':
/var/tmp/portage/gcc-3.3.3/work/gcc-3.3.3/libobjc/Object.m:50: warning: dereferencing type-punned pointer will break strict-aliasing rules
/var/tmp/portage/gcc-3.3.3/work/build/gcc/xgcc -B/var/tmp/portage/gcc-3.3.3/work/build/gcc/ -B/usr/x86_64-pc-linux-gnu/bin/ -B/usr/x86_64-pc-linux-gnu/lib/ -isystem /usr/x86_64-pc-linux-gnu/include -fgnu-runtime -c -I. -I/var/tmp/portage/gcc-3.3.3/work/gcc-3.3.3/libobjc -O2 -W -Wall -Wwrite-strings -Wstrict-prototypes -DHAVE_GTHR_DEFAULT -DIN_GCC -DIN_TARGET_LIBS -I/var/tmp/portage/gcc-3.3.3/work/gcc-3.3.3/libobjc/objc -I/var/tmp/portage/gcc-3.3.3/work/gcc-3.3.3/libobjc/../gcc -I/var/tmp/portage/gcc-3.3.3/work/gcc-3.3.3/libobjc/../gcc/config -I../../gcc -I/var/tmp/portage/gcc-3.3.3/work/gcc-3.3.3/libobjc/../include /var/tmp/portage/gcc-3.3.3/work/gcc-3.3.3/libobjc/Object.m -o Object.o >/dev/null 2>&1
make[2]: *** [Object.lo] Error 1
make[2]: Leaving directory `/var/tmp/portage/gcc-3.3.3/work/build/x86_64-pc-linux-gnu/libobjc'
make[1]: *** [all-target-libobjc] Error 2
make[1]: Leaving directory `/var/tmp/portage/gcc-3.3.3/work/build'
make: *** [bootstrap-lean] Error 2

!!! ERROR: sys-devel/gcc-3.3.3 failed.
!!! Function src_compile, Line 465, Exitcode 2
!!! (no error message)


And then I try again...

Code:
checking for ranlib... ranlib
checking for gcc... gcc
checking whether the C compiler (gcc  ) works... yes
checking whether the C compiler (gcc  ) is a cross-compiler... no
checking whether we are using GNU C... yes
checking whether gcc accepts -g... yes
checking for ld used by GCC... /usr/x86_64-pc-linux-gnu/bin/ld
checking if the linker (/usr/x86_64-pc-linux-gnu/bin/ld) is GNU ld... yes
checking for BSD-compatible nm... /usr/bin/nm -B
checking whether ln -s works... yes
updating cache ./config.cache
loading cache ./config.cache within ltconfig
ltconfig: you must specify a host type if you use `--no-verify'
Try `ltconfig --help' for more information.
configure: error: libtool configure failed

!!! ERROR: dev-libs/glib-1.2.10-r5 failed.
!!! Function econf, Line 365, Exitcode 1
!!! econf failed
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
tomk
Bodhisattva
Bodhisattva


Joined: 23 Sep 2003
Posts: 7221
Location: Sat in front of my computer

PostPosted: Sat Apr 17, 2004 3:28 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Moved from Installing Gentoo, you'll probably get more help here.
_________________
Search | Read | Answer | Report | Strip
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
beanfield
n00b
n00b


Joined: 12 Nov 2003
Posts: 19

PostPosted: Sat Apr 17, 2004 4:11 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

tomk wrote:
Moved from Installing Gentoo, you'll probably get more help here.


Thanks.

I ran memtest86+ for one compelete pass and it came up without any errors. When I first got the PC though, I had to change the ram voltage from auto to 2.8 though. I also manually set my timings according to the manufacturer (OCZ).

Anyway, I gave up on Stage1 and just did a Stage2 install and so far everything is peachy keen. I'm emerging the kernel. now.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Lv
Retired Dev
Retired Dev


Joined: 22 Jun 2003
Posts: 352

PostPosted: Sat Apr 17, 2004 6:15 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

this is a known and really annoying bug.... for now you'll be able to get around it by doing an "emerge libtool" before doing your bootstrap
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Lv
Retired Dev
Retired Dev


Joined: 22 Jun 2003
Posts: 352

PostPosted: Sat Apr 17, 2004 6:16 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

for completeness, more information about this bug can be found at https://bugs.gentoo.org/show_bug.cgi?id=47950
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
beanfield
n00b
n00b


Joined: 12 Nov 2003
Posts: 19

PostPosted: Mon Apr 19, 2004 5:39 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

ttilley wrote:
this is a known and really annoying bug.... for now you'll be able to get around it by doing an "emerge libtool" before doing your bootstrap


Well, it didn't work :(

Code:
checking how to recognise dependent libraries... pass_all
checking how to run the C preprocessor... gcc -E
checking for ANSI C header files... yes
checking for sys/types.h... yes
checking for sys/stat.h... yes
checking for stdlib.h... yes
checking for string.h... yes
checking for memory.h... yes
checking for strings.h... yes
checking for inttypes.h... yes
checking for stdint.h... yes
checking for unistd.h... yes
checking dlfcn.h usability... yes
checking dlfcn.h presence... yes
checking for dlfcn.h... yes
checking how to run the C++ preprocessor... /lib/cpp
configure: error: C++ preprocessor "/lib/cpp" fails sanity check
See `config.log' for more details.

!!! ERROR: sys-devel/libtool-1.5.2-r5 failed.
!!! Function src_compile, Line 171, Exitcode 1
!!! (no error message)


Any other ideas?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Lv
Retired Dev
Retired Dev


Joined: 22 Jun 2003
Posts: 352

PostPosted: Mon Apr 19, 2004 7:16 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

build from stage2 until a fix is in portage. :?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
beanfield
n00b
n00b


Joined: 12 Nov 2003
Posts: 19

PostPosted: Mon Apr 19, 2004 12:12 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

ttilley wrote:
build from stage2 until a fix is in portage. :?


gotcha
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Lv
Retired Dev
Retired Dev


Joined: 22 Jun 2003
Posts: 352

PostPosted: Mon Apr 19, 2004 4:16 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

sorry for not being more usefull on that one. :/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jeffk
l33t
l33t


Joined: 13 Sep 2003
Posts: 671

PostPosted: Sun May 02, 2004 4:39 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I'm helping someone installing Gentoo 2004.1 on a new amd64 box. Ready to kick off a stage 1 bootstrap, and I'm getting a similar error messaeg to the one that started this thread:
Code:
checking for c compiler
configure: error: /bin/sh ' ./configure' failed for autoconf-lib-link
error: sys-devel/gettext-0.1.12.1-r1 failed
econf failed: function econf line 365 exit code 1

Can anyone suggest a workaround? I think the details may be a little different now that the 2004.1 CD is being used. Thanks.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Gelfling
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 21 Jan 2003
Posts: 106
Location: Avenel, NJ

PostPosted: Tue May 04, 2004 3:57 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I tried LiveCD 2004.1 and bootstrapping from stage1 still errors out but I'm getting something about openssl errors. I'm trying a bootstrap for the 3rd time, if it fails again I'll try doing a stage2 or 3 install.
_________________
Phanbox64: MSI K8N Neo2, AMD Athlon64 3500+, ATI Radeon 9800XT, Corsair TwinX1024-3200C2 1024MB SDRAM, 2 WD 74GB Raptors & 120GB SATA HD, Audigy2 ZS, Plextor PX-708A DVD-/+RW, Pioneer DVD-106S DVD-ROM, CoolerMaster WaveMaster Case
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Gelfling
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 21 Jan 2003
Posts: 106
Location: Avenel, NJ

PostPosted: Tue May 04, 2004 5:09 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I might have found the answer to the problem, there's an error in the stage1 file, /dev was left out. The fix is:

After chrooting:

# mkdir -p /dev
# cd /dev
# MAKEDEV generic-i386

then continue with the rest of the installation. Hope this helps everyone out.
_________________
Phanbox64: MSI K8N Neo2, AMD Athlon64 3500+, ATI Radeon 9800XT, Corsair TwinX1024-3200C2 1024MB SDRAM, 2 WD 74GB Raptors & 120GB SATA HD, Audigy2 ZS, Plextor PX-708A DVD-/+RW, Pioneer DVD-106S DVD-ROM, CoolerMaster WaveMaster Case
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
wmartino
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 30 Mar 2004
Posts: 140

PostPosted: Tue May 04, 2004 11:47 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Gelfling wrote:
I might have found the answer to the problem, there's an error in the stage1 file, /dev was left out. The fix is:

After chrooting:

# mkdir -p /dev
# cd /dev
# MAKEDEV generic-i386

then continue with the rest of the installation. Hope this helps everyone out.


I thought this only pretained to the 2004.0 cd. Have you managed to bootstarp and emerge system yet. Please let us know.

Bill
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mitchlinguist
n00b
n00b


Joined: 29 Apr 2004
Posts: 8
Location: Texas

PostPosted: Tue May 04, 2004 1:51 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

The fact that this is happening with gettext, the first package in the bootstrap sequence to build makes em think it might be something in your make.conf. Have you tried it without ACCEPT_KEYWORDS="amd64 ~amd64" ?

Mitch Smith
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
wmartino
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 30 Mar 2004
Posts: 140

PostPosted: Tue May 04, 2004 2:11 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I had posted in a previous post that when I changed my memory timings I managed to bootstrap just fine. My only problem now is system freezing with a kernel panic.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ryker
Guru
Guru


Joined: 28 May 2003
Posts: 412
Location: Portage, IN

PostPosted: Sun May 30, 2004 8:01 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I had the same gettext error during the bootstrap step. I was following the amd64 technotes for creating a 32bit chroot. Removing '-fomit-frame-pointer' from my make.conf made it work fine.
_________________
Athlon 64 3200+, 80G WD sata hd + 200G IDE, 1G Geil DDR400, MSI K8T Neo
IntelCore2Duo 2.0Ghz MSI laptop,100G SATA hd, 2G RAM
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
bvhendricks
n00b
n00b


Joined: 06 Jun 2004
Posts: 11

PostPosted: Sun Jun 06, 2004 3:48 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

wmartino wrote:
Gelfling wrote:
I might have found the answer to the problem, there's an error in the stage1 file, /dev was left out. The fix is:

After chrooting:

# mkdir -p /dev
# cd /dev
# MAKEDEV generic-i386

then continue with the rest of the installation. Hope this helps everyone out.


I thought this only pretained to the 2004.0 cd. Have you managed to bootstarp and emerge system yet. Please let us know.

Bill


I am also trying a stage 1 install using the 2004.1 cd and am getting the error. The bug is assigned to amd64. I'm seeing this on a Pentium 4 from a stage 1 The amd64 team has lowered the status as they have a temporary work around. Has anyone else seen this on P4 systems?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ag_x
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 11 Jun 2004
Posts: 142
Location: Self Sarkarm.

PostPosted: Sat Jun 12, 2004 11:51 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

bvhendricks wrote:


I am also trying a stage 1 install using the 2004.1 cd and am getting the error. The bug is assigned to amd64. I'm seeing this on a Pentium 4 from a stage 1 The amd64 team has lowered the status as they have a temporary work around. Has anyone else seen this on P4 systems?

In a Pentium -M 1400 centrino.Ar ryker said above,removing -fomit-frame-pointer from CFLAGS will do the tryck,at least it did it for me.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
outspoken
Guru
Guru


Joined: 14 Feb 2004
Posts: 464
Location: orlando, fl

PostPosted: Thu Jul 01, 2004 1:01 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

im surprised that nobody has solved this for you guys yet. the problem with not being able to compile in bootstrap is you probably have some bad cflags set in your make.conf - check http://www.freehackers.org/gentoo/gccflags/flag_gcc3.html for a nice safe flag setting on your cpu. if that doesnt work then double check to see if you typed everything right. add more flags later on if needed but proceed with caution and check them one by one instead of adding 5 new flags like funroll-loops, etc. nobody replied to ag_x's post about removing a flag, though that one particular flag will not do the trick for everyone and really that is a useful flag for just about every modern processor. good luck everyone!

Code:
Phanbox64: MSI K8T Neo-FIS2R, AMD Athlon64 3200+, ATI Radeon 9800XT, ATI TV Wonder PCI, Corsair TwinX1024-3200C2 1024MB SDRAM, 2 WD 74GB Raptors & 120GB SATA HD, Mad Dog Entertainer 7.1, Plextor PX-708A DVD-/+RW, CoolerMaster TAC-T01 WaveMaster Case


whenever i see stuff like this i initially think 'man i want all that cool stuff' then i remember that i have a family, a house, car payments (plural), and all those other things that just make it impossible. damn adulthood!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
vicaya
n00b
n00b


Joined: 26 Jun 2004
Posts: 57

PostPosted: Thu Jul 01, 2004 3:41 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Most likely you're trying to do something none standard. I was trying to use some symlink magic to move usr var etc around. Got the same error. I then let it bootstrap on a clean root partition, everything works fine. You can always move things around later.

BTW, I was using the 2004.1 live cd and an emachine m6809 amd64 laptop. I have to say that I prefer the gentoo approach, which makes you explore, learn and optimize!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Gentoo on AMD64 All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum