View previous topic :: View next topic |
Author |
Message |
beanfield n00b
Joined: 12 Nov 2003 Posts: 19
|
Posted: Fri Apr 16, 2004 3:09 pm Post subject: amd64 bootstrap fails |
|
|
I've tried bootstrap.sh about 8 times now and it seems to fail on different packages each time, but usually on gcc 3.3
On the last boostrap, I recieved this error:
Code: |
gcc -shared .libs/bindtextdom.o .libs/dcgettext.o .libs/dgettext.o .libs/gettext.o .libs/finddomain.o .libs/loadmsgcat.o .libs/localealias.o .libs/textdomain.o .libs/l10nflist.o .libs/explodename.o .libs/dcigettext.o .libs/dcngettext.o .libs/dngettext.o .libs/ngettext.o .libs/plural.o .libs/plural-exp.o .libs/localcharset.o .libs/relocatable.o .libs/localename.o .libs/log.o .libs/osdep.o .libs/intl-compat.o -lc -Wl,-soname -Wl,libgnuintl.so.2 -o .libs/libgnuintl.so.2.3.0
/usr/lib/gcc-lib/x86_64-pc-linux-gnu/3.3.3/../../../../x86_64-pc-linux-gnu/bin/ld: .libs/bindtextdom.o: relocation R_X86_64_32 can not be used when making a shared object; recompile with -fPIC
.libs/bindtextdom.o: could not read symbols: Bad value
collect2: ld returned 1 exit status
make[3]: *** [libgnuintl.la] Error 1
make[3]: Leaving directory `/var/tmp/portage/gettext-0.12.1-r1/work/gettext-0.12.1/gettext-runtime/intl'
make[2]: *** [all-recursive] Error 1
make[2]: Leaving directory `/var/tmp/portage/gettext-0.12.1-r1/work/gettext-0.12.1/gettext-runtime'
make[1]: *** [all] Error 2
make[1]: Leaving directory `/var/tmp/portage/gettext-0.12.1-r1/work/gettext-0.12.1/gettext-runtime'
make: *** [all-recursive] Error 1
!!! ERROR: sys-devel/gettext-0.12.1-r1 failed.
!!! Function src_compile, Line 50, Exitcode 2
!!! (no error message)
|
My /etc/make.conf
Code: |
# These settings were set by the catalyst build script that automatically built this stage
# CFLAGS="-O3 -pipe -mmmx -m3dnow -msse -mfpmath=sse,387 -m64"
CFLAGS="-02"
CHOST="x86_64-pc-linux-gnu"
USE="X kde alsa qt gtk2 mozilla ssh -gnome qtmt"
CXXFLAGS="$CFLAGS"
ACCEPT_KEYWORDS="amd64 ~amd64"
|
|
|
Back to top |
|
|
Mahony n00b
Joined: 16 Apr 2004 Posts: 5
|
Posted: Fri Apr 16, 2004 5:34 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Try 'emerge sync' and 'emerge rsync' (no quotes). |
|
Back to top |
|
|
beanfield n00b
Joined: 12 Nov 2003 Posts: 19
|
Posted: Fri Apr 16, 2004 10:10 pm Post subject: |
|
|
I did the emerge sync and emerge rsync..then scripts/bootstrap.sh
Code: | /var/tmp/portage/gcc-3.3.3/work/gcc-3.3.3/libobjc/Object.m: In function `+[Object new]':
/var/tmp/portage/gcc-3.3.3/work/gcc-3.3.3/libobjc/Object.m:50: warning: dereferencing type-punned pointer will break strict-aliasing rules
/var/tmp/portage/gcc-3.3.3/work/build/gcc/xgcc -B/var/tmp/portage/gcc-3.3.3/work/build/gcc/ -B/usr/x86_64-pc-linux-gnu/bin/ -B/usr/x86_64-pc-linux-gnu/lib/ -isystem /usr/x86_64-pc-linux-gnu/include -fgnu-runtime -c -I. -I/var/tmp/portage/gcc-3.3.3/work/gcc-3.3.3/libobjc -O2 -W -Wall -Wwrite-strings -Wstrict-prototypes -DHAVE_GTHR_DEFAULT -DIN_GCC -DIN_TARGET_LIBS -I/var/tmp/portage/gcc-3.3.3/work/gcc-3.3.3/libobjc/objc -I/var/tmp/portage/gcc-3.3.3/work/gcc-3.3.3/libobjc/../gcc -I/var/tmp/portage/gcc-3.3.3/work/gcc-3.3.3/libobjc/../gcc/config -I../../gcc -I/var/tmp/portage/gcc-3.3.3/work/gcc-3.3.3/libobjc/../include /var/tmp/portage/gcc-3.3.3/work/gcc-3.3.3/libobjc/Object.m -o Object.o >/dev/null 2>&1
make[2]: *** [Object.lo] Error 1
make[2]: Leaving directory `/var/tmp/portage/gcc-3.3.3/work/build/x86_64-pc-linux-gnu/libobjc'
make[1]: *** [all-target-libobjc] Error 2
make[1]: Leaving directory `/var/tmp/portage/gcc-3.3.3/work/build'
make: *** [bootstrap-lean] Error 2
!!! ERROR: sys-devel/gcc-3.3.3 failed.
!!! Function src_compile, Line 465, Exitcode 2
!!! (no error message)
|
And then I try again...
Code: | checking for ranlib... ranlib
checking for gcc... gcc
checking whether the C compiler (gcc ) works... yes
checking whether the C compiler (gcc ) is a cross-compiler... no
checking whether we are using GNU C... yes
checking whether gcc accepts -g... yes
checking for ld used by GCC... /usr/x86_64-pc-linux-gnu/bin/ld
checking if the linker (/usr/x86_64-pc-linux-gnu/bin/ld) is GNU ld... yes
checking for BSD-compatible nm... /usr/bin/nm -B
checking whether ln -s works... yes
updating cache ./config.cache
loading cache ./config.cache within ltconfig
ltconfig: you must specify a host type if you use `--no-verify'
Try `ltconfig --help' for more information.
configure: error: libtool configure failed
!!! ERROR: dev-libs/glib-1.2.10-r5 failed.
!!! Function econf, Line 365, Exitcode 1
!!! econf failed
|
|
|
Back to top |
|
|
tomk Bodhisattva
Joined: 23 Sep 2003 Posts: 7221 Location: Sat in front of my computer
|
Posted: Sat Apr 17, 2004 3:28 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Moved from Installing Gentoo, you'll probably get more help here. _________________ Search | Read | Answer | Report | Strip |
|
Back to top |
|
|
beanfield n00b
Joined: 12 Nov 2003 Posts: 19
|
Posted: Sat Apr 17, 2004 4:11 pm Post subject: |
|
|
tomk wrote: | Moved from Installing Gentoo, you'll probably get more help here. |
Thanks.
I ran memtest86+ for one compelete pass and it came up without any errors. When I first got the PC though, I had to change the ram voltage from auto to 2.8 though. I also manually set my timings according to the manufacturer (OCZ).
Anyway, I gave up on Stage1 and just did a Stage2 install and so far everything is peachy keen. I'm emerging the kernel. now. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Lv Retired Dev
Joined: 22 Jun 2003 Posts: 352
|
Posted: Sat Apr 17, 2004 6:15 pm Post subject: |
|
|
this is a known and really annoying bug.... for now you'll be able to get around it by doing an "emerge libtool" before doing your bootstrap |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Lv Retired Dev
Joined: 22 Jun 2003 Posts: 352
|
|
Back to top |
|
|
beanfield n00b
Joined: 12 Nov 2003 Posts: 19
|
Posted: Mon Apr 19, 2004 5:39 am Post subject: |
|
|
ttilley wrote: | this is a known and really annoying bug.... for now you'll be able to get around it by doing an "emerge libtool" before doing your bootstrap |
Well, it didn't work
Code: | checking how to recognise dependent libraries... pass_all
checking how to run the C preprocessor... gcc -E
checking for ANSI C header files... yes
checking for sys/types.h... yes
checking for sys/stat.h... yes
checking for stdlib.h... yes
checking for string.h... yes
checking for memory.h... yes
checking for strings.h... yes
checking for inttypes.h... yes
checking for stdint.h... yes
checking for unistd.h... yes
checking dlfcn.h usability... yes
checking dlfcn.h presence... yes
checking for dlfcn.h... yes
checking how to run the C++ preprocessor... /lib/cpp
configure: error: C++ preprocessor "/lib/cpp" fails sanity check
See `config.log' for more details.
!!! ERROR: sys-devel/libtool-1.5.2-r5 failed.
!!! Function src_compile, Line 171, Exitcode 1
!!! (no error message)
|
Any other ideas? |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Lv Retired Dev
Joined: 22 Jun 2003 Posts: 352
|
Posted: Mon Apr 19, 2004 7:16 am Post subject: |
|
|
build from stage2 until a fix is in portage. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
beanfield n00b
Joined: 12 Nov 2003 Posts: 19
|
Posted: Mon Apr 19, 2004 12:12 pm Post subject: |
|
|
ttilley wrote: | build from stage2 until a fix is in portage. |
gotcha |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Lv Retired Dev
Joined: 22 Jun 2003 Posts: 352
|
Posted: Mon Apr 19, 2004 4:16 pm Post subject: |
|
|
sorry for not being more usefull on that one. :/ |
|
Back to top |
|
|
jeffk l33t
Joined: 13 Sep 2003 Posts: 671
|
Posted: Sun May 02, 2004 4:39 am Post subject: |
|
|
I'm helping someone installing Gentoo 2004.1 on a new amd64 box. Ready to kick off a stage 1 bootstrap, and I'm getting a similar error messaeg to the one that started this thread:
Code: | checking for c compiler
configure: error: /bin/sh ' ./configure' failed for autoconf-lib-link
error: sys-devel/gettext-0.1.12.1-r1 failed
econf failed: function econf line 365 exit code 1 |
Can anyone suggest a workaround? I think the details may be a little different now that the 2004.1 CD is being used. Thanks. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Gelfling Tux's lil' helper
Joined: 21 Jan 2003 Posts: 106 Location: Avenel, NJ
|
Posted: Tue May 04, 2004 3:57 am Post subject: |
|
|
I tried LiveCD 2004.1 and bootstrapping from stage1 still errors out but I'm getting something about openssl errors. I'm trying a bootstrap for the 3rd time, if it fails again I'll try doing a stage2 or 3 install. _________________ Phanbox64: MSI K8N Neo2, AMD Athlon64 3500+, ATI Radeon 9800XT, Corsair TwinX1024-3200C2 1024MB SDRAM, 2 WD 74GB Raptors & 120GB SATA HD, Audigy2 ZS, Plextor PX-708A DVD-/+RW, Pioneer DVD-106S DVD-ROM, CoolerMaster WaveMaster Case |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Gelfling Tux's lil' helper
Joined: 21 Jan 2003 Posts: 106 Location: Avenel, NJ
|
Posted: Tue May 04, 2004 5:09 am Post subject: |
|
|
I might have found the answer to the problem, there's an error in the stage1 file, /dev was left out. The fix is:
After chrooting:
# mkdir -p /dev
# cd /dev
# MAKEDEV generic-i386
then continue with the rest of the installation. Hope this helps everyone out. _________________ Phanbox64: MSI K8N Neo2, AMD Athlon64 3500+, ATI Radeon 9800XT, Corsair TwinX1024-3200C2 1024MB SDRAM, 2 WD 74GB Raptors & 120GB SATA HD, Audigy2 ZS, Plextor PX-708A DVD-/+RW, Pioneer DVD-106S DVD-ROM, CoolerMaster WaveMaster Case |
|
Back to top |
|
|
wmartino Tux's lil' helper
Joined: 30 Mar 2004 Posts: 140
|
Posted: Tue May 04, 2004 11:47 am Post subject: |
|
|
Gelfling wrote: | I might have found the answer to the problem, there's an error in the stage1 file, /dev was left out. The fix is:
After chrooting:
# mkdir -p /dev
# cd /dev
# MAKEDEV generic-i386
then continue with the rest of the installation. Hope this helps everyone out. |
I thought this only pretained to the 2004.0 cd. Have you managed to bootstarp and emerge system yet. Please let us know.
Bill |
|
Back to top |
|
|
mitchlinguist n00b
Joined: 29 Apr 2004 Posts: 8 Location: Texas
|
Posted: Tue May 04, 2004 1:51 pm Post subject: |
|
|
The fact that this is happening with gettext, the first package in the bootstrap sequence to build makes em think it might be something in your make.conf. Have you tried it without ACCEPT_KEYWORDS="amd64 ~amd64" ?
Mitch Smith |
|
Back to top |
|
|
wmartino Tux's lil' helper
Joined: 30 Mar 2004 Posts: 140
|
Posted: Tue May 04, 2004 2:11 pm Post subject: |
|
|
I had posted in a previous post that when I changed my memory timings I managed to bootstrap just fine. My only problem now is system freezing with a kernel panic. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
ryker Guru
Joined: 28 May 2003 Posts: 412 Location: Portage, IN
|
Posted: Sun May 30, 2004 8:01 pm Post subject: |
|
|
I had the same gettext error during the bootstrap step. I was following the amd64 technotes for creating a 32bit chroot. Removing '-fomit-frame-pointer' from my make.conf made it work fine. _________________ Athlon 64 3200+, 80G WD sata hd + 200G IDE, 1G Geil DDR400, MSI K8T Neo
IntelCore2Duo 2.0Ghz MSI laptop,100G SATA hd, 2G RAM |
|
Back to top |
|
|
bvhendricks n00b
Joined: 06 Jun 2004 Posts: 11
|
Posted: Sun Jun 06, 2004 3:48 am Post subject: |
|
|
wmartino wrote: | Gelfling wrote: | I might have found the answer to the problem, there's an error in the stage1 file, /dev was left out. The fix is:
After chrooting:
# mkdir -p /dev
# cd /dev
# MAKEDEV generic-i386
then continue with the rest of the installation. Hope this helps everyone out. |
I thought this only pretained to the 2004.0 cd. Have you managed to bootstarp and emerge system yet. Please let us know.
Bill |
I am also trying a stage 1 install using the 2004.1 cd and am getting the error. The bug is assigned to amd64. I'm seeing this on a Pentium 4 from a stage 1 The amd64 team has lowered the status as they have a temporary work around. Has anyone else seen this on P4 systems? |
|
Back to top |
|
|
ag_x Tux's lil' helper
Joined: 11 Jun 2004 Posts: 142 Location: Self Sarkarm.
|
Posted: Sat Jun 12, 2004 11:51 am Post subject: |
|
|
bvhendricks wrote: |
I am also trying a stage 1 install using the 2004.1 cd and am getting the error. The bug is assigned to amd64. I'm seeing this on a Pentium 4 from a stage 1 The amd64 team has lowered the status as they have a temporary work around. Has anyone else seen this on P4 systems? |
In a Pentium -M 1400 centrino.Ar ryker said above,removing -fomit-frame-pointer from CFLAGS will do the tryck,at least it did it for me. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
outspoken Guru
Joined: 14 Feb 2004 Posts: 464 Location: orlando, fl
|
Posted: Thu Jul 01, 2004 1:01 am Post subject: |
|
|
im surprised that nobody has solved this for you guys yet. the problem with not being able to compile in bootstrap is you probably have some bad cflags set in your make.conf - check http://www.freehackers.org/gentoo/gccflags/flag_gcc3.html for a nice safe flag setting on your cpu. if that doesnt work then double check to see if you typed everything right. add more flags later on if needed but proceed with caution and check them one by one instead of adding 5 new flags like funroll-loops, etc. nobody replied to ag_x's post about removing a flag, though that one particular flag will not do the trick for everyone and really that is a useful flag for just about every modern processor. good luck everyone!
Code: | Phanbox64: MSI K8T Neo-FIS2R, AMD Athlon64 3200+, ATI Radeon 9800XT, ATI TV Wonder PCI, Corsair TwinX1024-3200C2 1024MB SDRAM, 2 WD 74GB Raptors & 120GB SATA HD, Mad Dog Entertainer 7.1, Plextor PX-708A DVD-/+RW, CoolerMaster TAC-T01 WaveMaster Case |
whenever i see stuff like this i initially think 'man i want all that cool stuff' then i remember that i have a family, a house, car payments (plural), and all those other things that just make it impossible. damn adulthood! |
|
Back to top |
|
|
vicaya n00b
Joined: 26 Jun 2004 Posts: 57
|
Posted: Thu Jul 01, 2004 3:41 am Post subject: |
|
|
Most likely you're trying to do something none standard. I was trying to use some symlink magic to move usr var etc around. Got the same error. I then let it bootstrap on a clean root partition, everything works fine. You can always move things around later.
BTW, I was using the 2004.1 live cd and an emachine m6809 amd64 laptop. I have to say that I prefer the gentoo approach, which makes you explore, learn and optimize! |
|
Back to top |
|
|
|