Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
New Phoenix (0.2) web browser ebuild (updated)
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours
View posts from last 7 days

Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9  Next  
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
dcstimm
Guru
Guru


Joined: 19 Jun 2002
Posts: 321

PostPosted: Fri Sep 27, 2002 12:17 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I am using gcc 2.95-3. I havent upgraded in a long long time. Things like java and other things are making me affraid to try gcc 3.2.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
taskara
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 10 Apr 2002
Posts: 3763
Location: Australia

PostPosted: Fri Sep 27, 2002 3:42 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

well I must say that I've had more success with gcc 3.2 lately than I did with 2.953 for a while.

only thing that's not working is this java plugin for mozilla and as I develop with java it's driving me bananas!!!!! ARGH!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
niyogi
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 10 Apr 2002
Posts: 199
Location: Austin, TX

PostPosted: Fri Sep 27, 2002 4:55 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

any screenshots of this browser? or is it exactly like mozilla?

-n
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ghost_o
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 10 Jul 2002
Posts: 119

PostPosted: Fri Sep 27, 2002 5:02 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Ebuild does not work for me. ?? Any ideas.

Code:
 -Wno-return-type -w -pipe -ansi  -pthread -O2 -fPIC  -UDEBUG  -DMOZILLA_CLIENT=1 -DNDEBUG=1 -DXP_UNIX=1 -D_POSIX_SOURCE=1 -D_BSD_SOURCE=1 -D_SVID_SOURCE=1 -D_LARGEFILE64_SOURCE=1 -DHAVE_FCNTL_FILE_LOCKING=1 -DLINUX=1 -Di386=1 -DHAVE_LCHOWN=1 -DHAVE_STRERROR=1 -D_REENTRANT=1  -DFORCE_PR_LOG -D_PR_PTHREADS -UHAVE_CVAR_BUILT_ON_SEM -D_NSPR_BUILD_ -I/usr/portage/tmp/portage/phoenix-0.1/work/mozilla/dist/include/nspr -I../../../pr/include -I../../../pr/include/private  prdtoa.c
{standard input}: Assembler messages:
{standard input}:186: Error: suffix or operands invalid for `movd'
make[5]: *** [prdtoa.o] Error 1
make[5]: Leaving directory `/usr/portage/tmp/portage/phoenix-0.1/work/mozilla/nsprpub/pr/src/misc'
make[4]: *** [export] Error 2
make[4]: Leaving directory `/usr/portage/tmp/portage/phoenix-0.1/wmake[3]: *** [export] Error 2
make[3]: Leaving directory `/usr/portage/tmp/portage/phoenix-0.1/work/mozilla/nsprpub/pr'
make[2]: *** [export] Error 2
make[2]: Leaving directory `/usr/portage/tmp/portage/phoenix-0.1/work/mozilla/nsprpub'
make[1]: *** [nspr] Error 2
make[1]: Leaving directory `/usr/portage/tmp/portage/phoenix-0.1/work/mozilla'
make: *** [default] Error 2

!!! ERROR: The ebuild did not complete successfully.
!!! Function src_compile, Line 23, Exitcode 2
!!! (no error message)

Here is my make.conf

Code:

CFLAGS="-march=pentium4 -mmmx -msse -msse2 -mfpmath=sse -O3 -pipe -fomit-frame-pointer"
USE="X dvd alsa sse2 sse mmx moznomail -gtk -arts -oss -qt -qtmt -kde -gnome"


-G
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
dcstimm
Guru
Guru


Joined: 19 Jun 2002
Posts: 321

PostPosted: Fri Sep 27, 2002 5:05 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

here is a screenshot if anyone is interested in how phoenix looks check it out.

Sorry my gtk2 fonts are so big:-)

http://linux.darylstimm.com/Screenshot-10.png
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
dcstimm
Guru
Guru


Joined: 19 Jun 2002
Posts: 321

PostPosted: Fri Sep 27, 2002 5:14 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

ghost try doing export USE="" then emerge phoenix..
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Tuxisuau
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 04 May 2002
Posts: 213
Location: Catalunya (Europe)

PostPosted: Fri Sep 27, 2002 7:48 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

It doesn't work and i'm sad :(.

By the way, I USE "gtk2". Error posted back in the forums.
_________________
IM me at tuxisuau@jabber.7a69ezine.org
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
dcstimm
Guru
Guru


Joined: 19 Jun 2002
Posts: 321

PostPosted: Fri Sep 27, 2002 8:05 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Tuxisuau wrote:
It doesn't work and i'm sad :(.

By the way, I USE "gtk2". Error posted back in the forums.


Yeah gtk2 cant be in your USE, I know I have the option in the ebuild but it wont compile if you have it in your USE.

I get the same exact error when gtk2 is in my USE. Hopefully with the next release we will have gtk2 support.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Tuxisuau
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 04 May 2002
Posts: 213
Location: Catalunya (Europe)

PostPosted: Fri Sep 27, 2002 3:20 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks. I'm going to build it with USE="-gtk2" emerge phoenix :)
_________________
IM me at tuxisuau@jabber.7a69ezine.org
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
heim
n00b
n00b


Joined: 31 May 2002
Posts: 5

PostPosted: Fri Sep 27, 2002 7:03 pm    Post subject: Working on PPC Reply with quote

Appears to be working good here on PPC (300mhz powerbook). It seems quicker at rendering pages than mozilla; start times are about the same.

Built it last night in my gcc 3.2 chroot. CFLAGS and USE vars follow

Code:

[root@pdq /]# grep ^CFLAGS /etc/make.conf && grep ^USE /etc/make.conf
CFLAGS="-O3 -pipe -mcpu=750 -mpowerpc-gfxopt -mno-altivec -fsigned-char"
USE="encode crypt gnome kde qt arts esd sdl X ssl apm xv avi mpeg quicktime esd oss xmms dvd snmp java xv slang readline gpm berkdb gdbm tcpd pam libwww nls mitshm perl python jpeg png gif imlib oggvorbis  gtk motif opengl mozilla bonobo tcltk imlib truetype mysql"
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
pdouble
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 24 Aug 2002
Posts: 89
Location: USA

PostPosted: Fri Sep 27, 2002 7:53 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

ghost_o wrote:
Ebuild does not work for me. ?? Any ideas.

Code:
 -Wno-return-type -w -pipe -ansi  -pthread -O2 -fPIC  -UDEBUG  -DMOZILLA_CLIENT=1 -DNDEBUG=1 -DXP_UNIX=1 -D_POSIX_SOURCE=1 -D_BSD_SOURCE=1 -D_SVID_SOURCE=1 -D_LARGEFILE64_SOURCE=1 -DHAVE_FCNTL_FILE_LOCKING=1 -DLINUX=1 -Di386=1 -DHAVE_LCHOWN=1 -DHAVE_STRERROR=1 -D_REENTRANT=1  -DFORCE_PR_LOG -D_PR_PTHREADS -UHAVE_CVAR_BUILT_ON_SEM -D_NSPR_BUILD_ -I/usr/portage/tmp/portage/phoenix-0.1/work/mozilla/dist/include/nspr -I../../../pr/include -I../../../pr/include/private  prdtoa.c
{standard input}: Assembler messages:
{standard input}:186: Error: suffix or operands invalid for `movd'
make[5]: *** [prdtoa.o] Error 1
make[5]: Leaving directory `/usr/portage/tmp/portage/phoenix-0.1/work/mozilla/nsprpub/pr/src/misc'
make[4]: *** [export] Error 2
make[4]: Leaving directory `/usr/portage/tmp/portage/phoenix-0.1/wmake[3]: *** [export] Error 2
make[3]: Leaving directory `/usr/portage/tmp/portage/phoenix-0.1/work/mozilla/nsprpub/pr'
make[2]: *** [export] Error 2
make[2]: Leaving directory `/usr/portage/tmp/portage/phoenix-0.1/work/mozilla/nsprpub'
make[1]: *** [nspr] Error 2
make[1]: Leaving directory `/usr/portage/tmp/portage/phoenix-0.1/work/mozilla'
make: *** [default] Error 2

!!! ERROR: The ebuild did not complete successfully.
!!! Function src_compile, Line 23, Exitcode 2
!!! (no error message)

Here is my make.conf

Code:

CFLAGS="-march=pentium4 -mmmx -msse -msse2 -mfpmath=sse -O3 -pipe -fomit-frame-pointer"
USE="X dvd alsa sse2 sse mmx moznomail -gtk -arts -oss -qt -qtmt -kde -gnome"


-G


I have similar flags and had to remove -msse -msse2. If you notice the ebuild changes pentium4 ro pentium3 because of known compiler errors. I also took out -mmmx.


Last edited by pdouble on Fri Sep 27, 2002 8:30 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
pjp
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 16 Apr 2002
Posts: 20067

PostPosted: Fri Sep 27, 2002 8:14 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

While poking around with Phoenix, I noticed that Help -> About Phoenix lists Phoenix 0.2. Clicking on the Copyright and contributor information link brings up an HTML page that mentions the same thing.
_________________
Quis separabit? Quo animo?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
dcstimm
Guru
Guru


Joined: 19 Jun 2002
Posts: 321

PostPosted: Fri Sep 27, 2002 10:00 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

kanuslupus wrote:
While poking around with Phoenix, I noticed that Help -> About Phoenix lists Phoenix 0.2. Clicking on the Copyright and contributor information link brings up an HTML page that mentions the same thing.


Yeah I noticed that too after I made the ebuild. Its because I used the cvs source after the 0.1 release. Kinda neat:-)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Tuxisuau
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 04 May 2002
Posts: 213
Location: Catalunya (Europe)

PostPosted: Fri Sep 27, 2002 11:03 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

It works now, with USE="-gtk2" :)
_________________
IM me at tuxisuau@jabber.7a69ezine.org
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ebrostig
Bodhisattva
Bodhisattva


Joined: 20 Jul 2002
Posts: 3152
Location: Orlando, Fl

PostPosted: Fri Sep 27, 2002 11:44 pm    Post subject: Phoenix looks good! Reply with quote

All!

I have just emerge'd Phoenix and I'm now writing this in Phoenix.

The feel of Phoenix really makes me wanna use this browser. I have been using Opera for a long time and during the past week or so I have been trying to use Mozilla. Mozilla is not a bad browser, but it includes so many features and stuff that I don't need. Besides that it feels really slow.

Phoenix has a snappy attitude, it renders just as good as Mozilla and much more lightweight, although not in memory consumption during use. Right now it clocks in at 33MB of memory used.

I'm going to try it for a while and decide if I'm going back to Opera.

Erik
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
pjp
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 16 Apr 2002
Posts: 20067

PostPosted: Fri Sep 27, 2002 11:48 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Ewww... just discovered that clicking on links opens up another browser instead of a tab.
_________________
Quis separabit? Quo animo?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ebrostig
Bodhisattva
Bodhisattva


Joined: 20 Jul 2002
Posts: 3152
Location: Orlando, Fl

PostPosted: Sat Sep 28, 2002 12:02 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

kanuslupus wrote:
Ewww... just discovered that clicking on links opens up another browser instead of a tab.

If you have a wheel based mouse, click on the link with the wheel-button and it will open the link in a new tab.

Erik
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
pjp
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 16 Apr 2002
Posts: 20067

PostPosted: Sat Sep 28, 2002 12:09 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Awkward, but it works. My wheel (Logitech) doesn't click as easy as a regular button (which is a Good Thing).
_________________
Quis separabit? Quo animo?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ebrostig
Bodhisattva
Bodhisattva


Joined: 20 Jul 2002
Posts: 3152
Location: Orlando, Fl

PostPosted: Sat Sep 28, 2002 12:34 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

kanuslupus wrote:
Awkward, but it works. My wheel (Logitech) doesn't click as easy as a regular button (which is a Good Thing).


Well, I guess it is a matter of preference. I do like it that way, but you can change the bahaviour of the various mouse buttons, either from preferences or by editing the prefs.js file.

Erik
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
dcstimm
Guru
Guru


Joined: 19 Jun 2002
Posts: 321

PostPosted: Sat Sep 28, 2002 2:31 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Quote:
Right now it clocks in at 33MB of memory used.


Im sure it will get better and better with every release. I read on the phoenix website that they plan on making it even more streamline.

They will release a new version every 2 weeks based on the mozilla trunk.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
lowgitek
n00b
n00b


Joined: 08 Sep 2002
Posts: 25
Location: Tomar - Portugal

PostPosted: Sat Sep 28, 2002 1:28 pm    Post subject: Java nightmare... Reply with quote

taskara wrote:
well I must say that I've had more success with gcc 3.2 lately than I did with 2.953 for a while.

only thing that's not working is this java plugin for mozilla and as I develop with java it's driving me bananas!!!!! ARGH!



Same here and I'm starting getting a little crazy here :\
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
giant
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 01 Aug 2002
Posts: 107

PostPosted: Sat Sep 28, 2002 3:43 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

dcstimm :-)

Just emerged phoenix here.
I am using 1.4 ( from the pre rc installed )with gcc 3.2 and the ebuild compiled without a problem.

Working like a charm, thanks a lot for all your work :-)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
kingLatency
n00b
n00b


Joined: 28 Sep 2002
Posts: 61
Location: Amherst, MA

PostPosted: Sat Sep 28, 2002 7:47 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks, dcstimm. Installed just fine, working fine so far. :)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Rechenwerk
n00b
n00b


Joined: 27 Sep 2002
Posts: 9
Location: Wetzlar, Hesse, Germany

PostPosted: Sat Sep 28, 2002 9:26 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Great!!! Thanks dcstimm.
That's just what I was waiting for.. Galeon needs all that Gnome-Stuff
(I prefer blackbox), The free Version of Opera has adds, Netscape is
junk an Mozilla has too many unused features. Phoenix is just right.
It compiled without problems.. At the moment, I don't get Java working,
but it looks like I'm not alone with that... :wink:
There is only one problem.. Phoenix seems to crash when changing
the font size (Ctrl + or Ctrl -) on a page using extern CSS-files.
Try it! (ie. Go to www.philogenesis.de and hit Ctrl +)
Does it also crash on your PC?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
dcstimm
Guru
Guru


Joined: 19 Jun 2002
Posts: 321

PostPosted: Sat Sep 28, 2002 11:10 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Rechenwerk wrote:
Great!!!
There is only one problem.. Phoenix seems to crash when changing
the font size (Ctrl + or Ctrl -) on a page using extern CSS-files.
Try it! (ie. Go to www.philogenesis.de and hit Ctrl +)
Does it also crash on your PC?


Yep that is the first site it crashed on doing that. weird.. But not my problem, but maybe we should submit a bug report:-)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments All times are GMT
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9  Next
Page 2 of 9

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum