View previous topic :: View next topic |
Author |
Message |
mohdtaha n00b
Joined: 19 Mar 2004 Posts: 34
|
Posted: Fri Jun 04, 2004 5:56 pm Post subject: |
|
|
hey i dont know if u solved the problem yet ... but try this
if u do an lsmod u should have atleast these
Code: |
snd_bt87x 7876 0
tuner 14476 0
msp3400 19092 0
bttv 125932 0
video_buf 11780 1 bttv
i2c_algo_bit 7944 1 bttv
v4l2_common 4096 1 bttv
btcx_risc 3336 1 bttv
i2c_core 12932 4 tuner,msp3400,bttv,i2c_algo_bit
videodev 5632 1 bttv
|
if u dont then u should add them in the kernel
then u should type the following ... my card is the ati tv wonder PCI
Code: | rmmod tuner
modprobe tuner type=2
rmmod bttv
modprobe bttv card=63
|
run tvtime , if u get a message sayin that it could not open /dev/v4l/video
then u need to change the permissions on the file
if this works out .. then add them to ur /etc/modules.autoload.d/kernel-2.6
try this and tell me what happens
good luck |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Solution_9 Guru
Joined: 22 Jun 2003 Posts: 311
|
Posted: Sat Jun 05, 2004 6:20 am Post subject: |
|
|
That never worked. Here is my lsmod:
Code: |
Module Size Used by
sd_mod 14112 1
usb_storage 27776 1
nvidia 1704108 10
vmnet 30736 6
vmmon 89824 5
snd_seq_oss 34432 0
snd_seq_midi_event 7424 1 snd_seq_oss
snd_seq 56208 4 snd_seq_oss,snd_seq_midi_event
snd_seq_device 7816 2 snd_seq_oss,snd_seq
snd_pcm_oss 50212 0
snd_pcm 90272 1 snd_pcm_oss
snd_page_alloc 10372 1 snd_pcm
snd_timer 24324 2 snd_seq,snd_pcm
snd_mixer_oss 18944 1 snd_pcm_oss
snd 49380 8 snd_seq_oss,snd_seq_midi_event,snd_seq,snd_seq_device,snd_pcm_oss,snd_pcm,snd_timer,snd_mixer_oss
serport 4096 0
msp3400 23188 0
bttv 144492 0
i2c_algo_bit 9992 0
tuner 18060 0
btcx_risc 5000 1 bttv
video_buf 18052 1 bttv
tvaudio 21388 0
i2c_core 20153 1
|
_________________ "The X server has to be the biggest program I've ever seen that doesn't do anything for you."
- Ken Thompson |
|
Back to top |
|
|
mohdtaha n00b
Joined: 19 Mar 2004 Posts: 34
|
Posted: Sat Jun 05, 2004 10:27 pm Post subject: |
|
|
the problem is .. why ur i2c's arent all with the i2c core u did something wrong when u added ur modules .. remove all of them and then add them in starting with i2c-core ... |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Solution_9 Guru
Joined: 22 Jun 2003 Posts: 311
|
Posted: Sun Jun 06, 2004 4:29 pm Post subject: |
|
|
I did what you suggested and still no dice. My dmesg is now:
Code: |
Module Size Used by
sg 31776 0
vmnet 30736 4
vmmon 89824 0
snd_seq_midi 7712 0
snd_emu10k1_synth 7936 0
snd_emux_synth 37504 1 snd_emu10k1_synth
snd_seq_virmidi 7040 1 snd_emux_synth
snd_seq_midi_emul 7808 1 snd_emux_synth
snd_emu10k1 95236 2 snd_emu10k1_synth
snd_rawmidi 22176 3 snd_seq_midi,snd_seq_virmidi,snd_emu10k1
snd_ac97_codec 60420 1 snd_emu10k1
snd_util_mem 4480 2 snd_emux_synth,snd_emu10k1
snd_hwdep 8736 2 snd_emux_synth,snd_emu10k1
snd_seq_oss 34432 0
snd_seq_midi_event 7424 3 snd_seq_midi,snd_seq_virmidi,snd_seq_oss
snd_seq 56208 8 snd_seq_midi,snd_emux_synth,snd_seq_virmidi,snd_seq_midi_emul,snd_seq_oss,snd_seq_midi_event
snd_seq_device 7816 7 snd_seq_midi,snd_emu10k1_synth,snd_emux_synth,snd_emu10k1,snd_rawmidi,snd_seq_oss,snd_seq
snd_pcm_oss 50212 0
snd_pcm 90272 2 snd_emu10k1,snd_pcm_oss
snd_page_alloc 10372 2 snd_emu10k1,snd_pcm
snd_timer 24324 2 snd_seq,snd_pcm
snd_mixer_oss 18944 1 snd_pcm_oss
snd 49380 18 snd_seq_midi,snd_emux_synth,snd_seq_virmidi,snd_emu10k1,snd_rawmidi,snd_ac97_codec,snd_util_mem,snd_hwdep,snd_seq_oss,snd_seq_midi_event,snd_seq,snd_seq_device,snd_pcm_oss,snd_pcm,snd_timer,snd_mixer_oss
tuner 18060 0
bttv 144492 0
i2c_algo_bit 9992 1 bttv
soundcore 8800 2 snd,bttv
btcx_risc 5000 1 bttv
video_buf 18052 1 bttv
videodev 8832 1 bttv
v4l2_common 6016 1 bttv
tvaudio 21388 0
msp3400 23188 0
i2c_core 20100 5 tuner,bttv,i2c_algo_bit,tvaudio,msp3400
serport 4096 0
nvidia 1704108 10 |
_________________ "The X server has to be the biggest program I've ever seen that doesn't do anything for you."
- Ken Thompson |
|
Back to top |
|
|
shakti Guru
Joined: 15 May 2002 Posts: 358 Location: omnipresent
|
Posted: Sun Jun 06, 2004 5:06 pm Post subject: |
|
|
For me it works using hotplug and my modules.autoload is empty. _________________ Using Gentoo since 2002. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Solution_9 Guru
Joined: 22 Jun 2003 Posts: 311
|
Posted: Mon Jun 07, 2004 3:47 am Post subject: |
|
|
hotplug? _________________ "The X server has to be the biggest program I've ever seen that doesn't do anything for you."
- Ken Thompson |
|
Back to top |
|
|
shakti Guru
Joined: 15 May 2002 Posts: 358 Location: omnipresent
|
Posted: Mon Jun 07, 2004 4:01 am Post subject: |
|
|
hotplug scans pci bus and autoloads modules as needed, so no /etc/modules.autoload/kernelx.x.x
emerge -s hotplug _________________ Using Gentoo since 2002. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
mohdtaha n00b
Joined: 19 Mar 2004 Posts: 34
|
Posted: Mon Jun 07, 2004 2:05 pm Post subject: |
|
|
hey .. can u show us the output when u type lspci to check if the card is being detected
|
|
Back to top |
|
|
mohdtaha n00b
Joined: 19 Mar 2004 Posts: 34
|
Posted: Mon Jun 07, 2004 10:38 pm Post subject: |
|
|
ok im not sure what ur doin wrong .. i just re installed linux last night .. and i just got my video to work again ...
u must be doin something wrong ... not sure exactly what ... but try removing them all and then add them just like my list .. and then u should have a video0 in ur /dev directory ... emerge tvtime .. and u should be able to view cable
that's what i did .. and i got it
good luck |
|
Back to top |
|
|
|
|
You cannot post new topics in this forum You cannot reply to topics in this forum You cannot edit your posts in this forum You cannot delete your posts in this forum You cannot vote in polls in this forum
|
|