Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Two partion and filesystem questions.
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Goto page Previous  1, 2  
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Other Things Gentoo
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 54312
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Fri Apr 23, 2004 7:24 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Jerrac,

You need to choose the modules you want to build, In order of user friendlieness, try
Code:

make xconfig
make menuconfig
make config

The first one needs X, the second one uses ncurses to draw windows in the text console and the last one is a raw as it gets,

After you have chosen your modules, you run the two commands I gave in my last post. No need to reboot, no need to mount /boot or to copy the bzImage to /boot. No danger of messing up your working booting kernel either.

As these are filesystem modules, the mount command will load them when they are needed. In general, modules are prefered because they make debugging easier. The only exceptions are modules you need to boot. They must be built in.
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Jerrac
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 22 Jun 2003
Posts: 111

PostPosted: Fri Apr 23, 2004 7:29 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Ok, I will try those two commands in a bit since I just checked the kernel config and the filesystems are already selected as M. :D
_________________
Soar with God!
David
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 54312
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Fri Apr 23, 2004 8:34 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Jerrac,

If those modules were seleted that way when you last built the kernel they are already built and installed.

Try mounting a DOS or Windows floppy with
Code:
mount -t vfat /dev/fd0 /mnt/floppy

Then
Code:
ls /mnt/floppy
will show you the content of the floppy.

The mount point /mnt/floppy needs to exist beforehand.
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
einstein1981
Guru
Guru


Joined: 10 Mar 2004
Posts: 395
Location: Venezuela , Caracas

PostPosted: Fri Apr 23, 2004 8:43 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

to merge two partition I think there is a way to do it with fdisk, i' ve never done it before , but it's worth a try..

fdisk /dev/hdx
then select the x option, ( x= expert)

there are some options to change the cilinders and sectors, I REPEAT, I' VE NEVER DONE THIS BEFORE, SO DON'T HOLD IT AGAINST ME IF YOU SCREW UP YOUR SYSTEM!!
_________________
thesis.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Jerrac
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 22 Jun 2003
Posts: 111

PostPosted: Fri Apr 23, 2004 9:05 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Code:
root@tux linux-2.6.4-gentoo-r1 # mount /dev/hda2 /mnt/win_c
mount: fs type ntfs not supported by kernel
root@tux linux-2.6.4-gentoo-r1 # mount /dev/hda5 /mnt/win_c
mount: fs type vfat not supported by kernel

That is what I get after making sure that vfat and ntfs are included in the kernel. Do I need to reboot?

I ran
make modules
make modules_install
_________________
Soar with God!
David
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Jerrac
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 22 Jun 2003
Posts: 111

PostPosted: Fri Apr 23, 2004 9:06 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Eh, can't try floppy, I don't have one on my laptop.
_________________
Soar with God!
David
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Jerrac
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 22 Jun 2003
Posts: 111

PostPosted: Fri Apr 23, 2004 9:18 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

ok, I just rebooted and it still won't mount. Same message.

Side issue, my usb mouse won't work anymore....
_________________
Soar with God!
David
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 54312
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Fri Apr 23, 2004 9:20 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Jerrac,

No. You don't need to reboot - thats one of the good features of modules.

Do
Code:
modprobe ntfs
modprobe vfat
and post any error messages.

If there are no errors, try your mount commands again.
Code:
lsmod
should show vfat and ntfs modules loaded.
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
einstein1981
Guru
Guru


Joined: 10 Mar 2004
Posts: 395
Location: Venezuela , Caracas

PostPosted: Fri Apr 23, 2004 9:23 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

did you add the entries in fstab?

your fat partition line should look something like:

/dev/hdc8 /mnt/compartido vfat rw,user,noauto

and fot ntfs, I don't know
i' m posting this because the first time I tried to mount fat32 filesystems on my gentoo i put this in fstab
/dev/hdc8 /mnt/compartido fat32 rw,user,noauto $
_________________
thesis.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
YopWongSapn
l33t
l33t


Joined: 26 Jan 2004
Posts: 627

PostPosted: Fri Apr 23, 2004 9:58 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Jerrac wrote:
Code:
root@tux linux-2.6.4-gentoo-r1 # mount /dev/hda2 /mnt/win_c
mount: fs type ntfs not supported by kernel
root@tux linux-2.6.4-gentoo-r1 # mount /dev/hda5 /mnt/win_c
mount: fs type vfat not supported by kernel

That is what I get after making sure that vfat and ntfs are included in the kernel. Do I need to reboot?

I ran
make modules
make modules_install


This is why I recommended compiling it directly into the kernel, as you don't need to deal with the modules. If you want to keep vfat and ntfs as modules, you can put them in /etc/modules.autoload/kernel-<version>. This will load the modules on boot so you don't have to worry about it.
_________________
Gentoo...it's like wiping your ass with silk. Or sandpaper.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 54312
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Fri Apr 23, 2004 10:02 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

YopWongSapn,

With file sytem modules, mount should cause them to load when required. They do not need to be listed in /etc/modules.autoload.
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Jerrac
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 22 Jun 2003
Posts: 111

PostPosted: Fri Apr 23, 2004 10:39 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Here you go:
Code:
root@tux linux-2.6.4-gentoo-r1 # modprobe ntfs
FATAL: Module ntfs not found.
root@tux linux-2.6.4-gentoo-r1 # modprobe vfat
FATAL: Module vfat not found.
root@tux linux-2.6.4-gentoo-r1 # lsmod
Module                  Size  Used by
sbp2                   20872  0
ohci1394               29700  0
ieee1394               88372  2 sbp2,ohci1394
usb_storage            25728  0
hid                    29888  0
ehci_hcd               23044  0
usbcore                86236  5 usb_storage,hid,ehci_hcd

_________________
Soar with God!
David
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 54312
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Sat Apr 24, 2004 11:06 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Jerrac,

The modules are clearly not there.

How many kernels do you have installed?
Its possible that you made and installed the modules for a kernel other than the one you are actually running.
Code:
uname -a
tells you abou your kernel.
The modules can be found in /lib/modules/<kernel_version>/... somewhere. They will be called vfat.ko and ntfs.ko.
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Jerrac
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 22 Jun 2003
Posts: 111

PostPosted: Sat Apr 24, 2004 3:20 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Well, I am happy. I compiled a 2.6.5 kernel with vfat and ntfs support and it works! :D

Now I need to figure out a few of the bugs in it... :D Um, is there a way to record the output from booting. Because there are several errors in it that I need to look at.
_________________
Soar with God!
David
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 54312
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Sat Apr 24, 2004 4:29 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Jerrac,

Not unless the messages you need are in dmesg
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Jerrac
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 22 Jun 2003
Posts: 111

PostPosted: Sat Apr 24, 2004 7:37 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I think there were some bugs or something in the 2.6.5 kernel. So I redid my 2.6.4 kernel and everything is working fine! Windows partitons are mounting, and I can enjoy my 38 hours of music!

Thanks all for all your help!

Now I just have to figure out the whole moving usr over to hda10 thing. I think I will leave that for another day. :D
_________________
Soar with God!
David
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
YopWongSapn
l33t
l33t


Joined: 26 Jan 2004
Posts: 627

PostPosted: Mon Apr 26, 2004 6:45 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

NeddySeagoon wrote:
YopWongSapn,

With file sytem modules, mount should cause them to load when required. They do not need to be listed in /etc/modules.autoload.


That's nice little tidbit, thanks for the correction. :)
_________________
Gentoo...it's like wiping your ass with silk. Or sandpaper.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Other Things Gentoo All times are GMT
Goto page Previous  1, 2
Page 2 of 2

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum