View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Goto page 1, 2  Next  
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Other Things Gentoo
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Jerrac
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper

PostPosted: Wed Apr 21, 2004 9:09 pm    Post subject: Two partion and filesystem questions. Reply with quote

First, is there a way to merge to partitions? For instance, I have hda9 set as my root partiton. I just created hda10. Is there a way to merge those so that my root has the extra 7 gigs from hda10? Both are etx3 filesystems.

Second, I want to be able to mount my windows ntfs and fat partitions so that I can read and write to them. This: https://forums.gentoo.org/viewtopic.php?t=29285 topic has me recompiling my kernel. Since I am quite new to linux I would rather not do that. Plus I don't want to take the time. Is there a way to do it without compiling the kernel?
Vulpes_Vulpes
Apprentice
Apprentice

PostPosted: Wed Apr 21, 2004 9:34 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I think you will just have to take the dive! What kernel are you using? I think you can do it with just a bit of help fo us. :) Trust me, in the end you will feel great! 8)
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator

PostPosted: Wed Apr 21, 2004 9:35 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Jerrac,

Provided you use modules, you only need to reconfigure your kernel to add the required modules then do
Code:
make modules
make modules_install

The modules will be loaded when you mount a filesystem that requires them.

vfat write support (for FAT32 and Fat 16) is mature and stable. Write support for NTFS is very limited. Last time I looked, it could only support overwriting exisiting files with a new file the same size as the old one.

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
YopWongSapn
l33t
l33t

PostPosted: Wed Apr 21, 2004 9:40 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote