Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Have a Powerbook G3 (Pismo). Why Gentoo?
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Gentoo on PPC
View previous topic :: View next topic  
bstone
n00b
n00b

PostPosted: Thu Apr 22, 2004 8:25 am    Post subject: Have a Powerbook G3 (Pismo). Why Gentoo? Reply with quote

Like the title says I have come into ownership of a Powerbook G3 400mhz (Pismo) with 384mb RAM. I am an expert in Classic (OS 7, 8 and 9) and OS X. As such I want to "expand my horizons". I have been running and using Red Hat on a PC at work and have become a bit familiar with GNU/Linux. I installed Yellow Dog Linux 3.0.1 on this Pismo about a month ago and have been a bit frustrated with the lack of available binaries (RPMs, abt-get, yum, etc).

The idea of Gentoo appeals to me, but I want to know if this emerge thing is all it's cracked up to be, or just more empty promises. Will I actually be able to type emerge applicationname (or whatever the syntax is) and it will take the source, build it, resolve dependcies, etc etc etc. If this is the case then I just might be sold on Gentoo.

Additionally, it Gentoo PPC as well developed as the PC side is? Will I find myself constantly lagging behind?

Lastly, what is the install like? The Yellow Dog install could not have been easier. I once tried to install Debian and that blew me away. I am right at home with text based installs but this was tough.

Thanks!

Brad
ralph
Advocate
Advocate

PostPosted: Thu Apr 22, 2004 8:43 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

It is that simple, you are sold.

I'm currently running kde3.2.2 and gnome2.6, so no, it isn't lagging behind.

As to the installation, it is certainly very different from yellow dog, but if you know a bit about linux it shouldn't be a problem. Just follow the instructions in the gentoo handbook.
http://www.gentoo.org/doc/en/handbook/index.xml

Have fun!
killfire
l33t
l33t