View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours
View posts from last 7 days

Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Dr_Who
n00b
n00b

PostPosted: Sat Apr 24, 2004 5:43 am    Post subject: xfree 4.4.4 stable ebuild? Reply with quote

I'm new to the gentoo community, and just had a quick question(s).

How long does it take for new releases to come out on the portage tree? I noticed that xfree 4.4.4 was out and now stable but not on the package list. is there any plans for this to be done? i saw a document on howto make your own ebuilds, however haven't had a chance to read it. is it hard?

-DrWho
Stormy Eyes
Veteran
Veteran

PostPosted: Sat Apr 24, 2004 5:48 am    Post subject: Re: xfree 4.4.4 stable ebuild? Reply with quote

Dr_Who wrote:
I'm new to the gentoo community, and just had a quick question(s).

How long does it take for new releases to come out on the portage tree? I noticed that xfree 4.4.4 was out and now stable but not on the package list. is there any plans for this to be done? i saw a document on howto make your own ebuilds, however haven't had a chance to read it. is it hard?

-DrWho

It looks like XFree86 will no longer be updated in portage due to license issues. Do a search through the forums on xorg-x11, read about it, and install xorg-x11 if you want to upgrade your X Window System. Xorg is completely compatible with XFree86; it works just as well and supports nVidia's binary driver if you use it.
Dr_Who
n00b
n00b

PostPosted: Sat Apr 24, 2004 5:51 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

crazy!

ok, thanks for the quick responce.
HydroSan
l33t
l33t

PostPosted: Sat Apr 24, 2004 7:09 am    Post subject: Reply with quote