View previous topic :: View next topic |
Author |
Message |
amigafan Tux's lil' helper
Joined: 10 Jul 2003 Posts: 134 Location: Ahrensburg, Germany
|
Posted: Wed Apr 07, 2004 11:26 am Post subject: PowerNow! problem |
|
|
Hello,
I want to enable PowerNow! on my pavilion notebook and found a deamon called powernowd in portage.
Code: |
bash-2.05b# /etc/init.d/powernowd start
* Starting powernowd...
powernowd: Couldn't open file /sys/devices/system/cpu/cpu0/cpufreq/cpuinfo_max_freq
/sbin/runscript.sh: line 529: 10982 Speicherzugriffsfehler /usr/sbin/powernowd -q ${POWERNOWD_OPTS}
|
And in fact there is no cpufreq/cpuinfo_max_freq in /sys/devices/system/cpu/cpu0/ . cpufreq is compiled into my kernel (2.6.4-gentoo) and the powernow-k7 module is loading during boot.
"Speicherzugriffsfehler" means something like "memory allocation error".
Thanks,
Kai |
|
Back to top |
|
|
brodo Guru
Joined: 15 Apr 2003 Posts: 319
|
Posted: Thu Apr 22, 2004 8:08 pm Post subject: Re: PowerNow! problem |
|
|
amigafan wrote: | I want to enable PowerNow! on my pavilion notebook and found a deamon called powernowd in portage. |
You need kernel support. Assert that
Code: | Power management options (ACPI, APM) ---> |
Code: | CPU Frequency scaling ---> |
Code: | <M> AMD Mobile K6-2/K6-3 PowerNow!
<M> AMD Mobile Athlon/Duron PowerNow!
<M> AMD Opteron/Athlon64 PowerNow!
|
are at least set to <M>. Use 2.6.6-rc2-bk1 or later kernel for best results. Then take a look if there's content in /sys/devices/system/cpu/cpu0/cpufreq/
If not, take a look at
Code: | dmesg | grep powernow |
|
|
Back to top |
|
|
amigafan Tux's lil' helper
Joined: 10 Jul 2003 Posts: 134 Location: Ahrensburg, Germany
|
Posted: Thu Apr 22, 2004 8:39 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Yes, I had this already but my bios seems to be buggy, because it doesn't find valid pst-tables. The result is that /sys/devices/system/cpu/cpufreq isn't created.
Found a patch for powernow-k7.ko and now its working. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
brodo Guru
Joined: 15 Apr 2003 Posts: 319
|
Posted: Fri Apr 23, 2004 7:03 am Post subject: |
|
|
amigafan wrote: | Yes, I had this already but my bios seems to be buggy, because it doesn't find valid pst-tables. The result is that /sys/devices/system/cpu/cpufreq isn't created.
Found a patch for powernow-k7.ko and now its working. |
If I may ask: what patch? |
|
Back to top |
|
|
amigafan Tux's lil' helper
Joined: 10 Jul 2003 Posts: 134 Location: Ahrensburg, Germany
|
Posted: Fri Apr 23, 2004 10:12 am Post subject: |
|
|
I'm sorry:
http://consultmatt.co.uk/nx9005/powernow.php
This one works fine for my pavilion ze4511ea, too.
brodo wrote: | amigafan wrote: | Yes, I had this already but my bios seems to be buggy, because it doesn't find valid pst-tables. The result is that /sys/devices/system/cpu/cpufreq isn't created.
Found a patch for powernow-k7.ko and now its working. |
If I may ask: what patch? |
|
|
Back to top |
|
|
brodo Guru
Joined: 15 Apr 2003 Posts: 319
|
Posted: Fri Apr 23, 2004 11:42 am Post subject: |
|
|
But it is quite risky -- I wouldn't do it. Better try out whether the ACPI perflib support in 2.6.6-rc2-bk1 works. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
amigafan Tux's lil' helper
Joined: 10 Jul 2003 Posts: 134 Location: Ahrensburg, Germany
|
Posted: Fri Apr 23, 2004 12:46 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Why do you think its risky? Can you give some more information?
brodo wrote: |
But it is quite risky -- I wouldn't do it. Better try out whether the ACPI perflib support in 2.6.6-rc2-bk1 works. |
|
|
Back to top |
|
|
brodo Guru
Joined: 15 Apr 2003 Posts: 319
|
Posted: Sun Apr 25, 2004 6:58 pm Post subject: |
|
|
amigafan wrote: | Why do you think its risky? Can you give some more information?
brodo wrote: |
But it is quite risky -- I wouldn't do it. Better try out whether the ACPI perflib support in 2.6.6-rc2-bk1 works. |
|
You assume the same frequency/voltage steps which are valid for a different CPU to work also on your system. However, the steps might be different, and you might either run it at an undefined frequency OR with a too low voltage (=>unstable) OR with a too high voltage => can burn through, I fear. I haven't heard such a report yet; but I wouldn't bet money it doesn't happen. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
|