do i need ntp?
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Other Things Gentoo
View previous topic :: View next topic  
clubhi
n00b
n00b

PostPosted: Mon Apr 26, 2004 10:54 am    Post subject: do i need ntp? Reply with quote

Ok I have a problem with my motherboard where I have to reset cmos everytime.. Lets not talk about that. But because of that I need to reset my time everytime I boot up. This is annoying. Reading past posts pointed me to ntp. I emerged it and it all works fine. The problem is, isn't this a bit of overkill? It unmerged 3 other stuff and took like 10 minutes to compile. Isnt there osmething else out there that I can use that is less complicated. Im new to linux and permissions, but I know it windows I could write a very small program to connect to a server and get the time.
adaptr
Watchman
Watchman

PostPosted: Mon Apr 26, 2004 11:35 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Use ntpdate if all you need to do is sync your system with an ntp server.
jjasghar
Guru
Guru

PostPosted: Mon Apr 26, 2004 6:36 pm    Post subject: Re: do i need ntp? Reply with quote

clubhi wrote:
Ok I have a problem with my motherboard where I have to reset cmos everytime.. Lets not talk about that. But because of that I need to reset my time everytime I boot up. This is annoying. Reading past posts pointed me to ntp. I emerged it and it all works fine. The problem is, isn't this a bit of overkill? It unmerged 3 other stuff and took like 10 minutes to compile. Isnt there osmething else out there that I can use that is less complicated. Im new to linux and permissions, but I know it windows I could write a very small program to connect to a server and get the time.

i know you didn't want to talk about it, but it seems, assuming my A+ knowalage is still "fresh," that type of problem with the cmos is simpley the little ion-linthum battery. replace that and you shouldn't have to worry about it.
#include <LinuxUser #324070>