newbie and G5 + gentoo
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Gentoo on PPC
View previous topic :: View next topic  
pindar
Apprentice
Apprentice

PostPosted: Fri Apr 30, 2004 2:07 pm    Post subject: newbie and G5 + gentoo Reply with quote

I'm fairly new to linux, though I do a lot of work on the command line in Mac OS X and have a yellowdog installation on an older box. I was impatient to get linux on my G5, so I tried to install gentoo. It's a vanilla 1.8 G5 with a second drive installed.

My installation seems to have been successful; when I boot with the "alt"-key down, the linux partition is recognized, but when I try to boot off of it, yaboot complains that "hd:4,/vmlinux" cannot be found (my root partition is /dev/sda4). I then tried different options (like "hd:4/boot/vmlinux"), but to no avail.

For those of you patient enough to listen to a newbie's story: I had to make several attempts to get that far. The first one ended in utter failure when I found out that there was apparently no way to tell of that I wanted to boot out of /dev/sdb. So I repartitioned everything... I then read the G5-guide at http://www.os3.nl/~visser2d/g5install.html, but the iso-image that was referred to (at http://gentoo.oregonstate.edu/experimental/ppc/livecd/g5/) wouldn't boot my G5; it complained about something with my second drive and stalled, so I had to poweroff the hard way...

I started from the regular ppc-cd and downloaded everything to compile the kernel (2.6.4); I had to disable some support for Mac serial drivers, otherwise make would give errors. Compiling then worked, and I proceeded according to the handbooks. One piece of information was incredibly important, but I found it a bit too late (could this please be incorporated into the G5-addendum?): "modprobe therm_pm72" is the magic word! Yesterday, I sat all day next to my G5 that sounded like a 747 at take-off...