Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
[SOLVED] Cannot enable DEVFS support
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Bungopolis
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 31 Jan 2004
Posts: 198
Location: San Francisco, CA, USA

PostPosted: Fri Apr 30, 2004 11:55 pm    Post subject: [SOLVED] Cannot enable DEVFS support Reply with quote

I've installed Gentoo (from 2004.0 Minimal x86 LiveCD) onto an Athlon system.

When I first configured the Kernel (manual), I chose not to include DEVFS (becuase menuconfig lists it as obsolete... docs should have a note about ignoring this).

Of course when I booted I got the following error, because DEVFS is required:

Code:
* The Gentoo Linux system initialization scripts have detected that your
* kernel has been compiled without DEVFS support.  Because Gentoo Linux
* has been designed to work with DEVFS, it is required that you compile
* support for it into your kernel.  Please read the 'Gentoo Linux from
* source (build) CD Instllation Guide' at:

*     http://www.gentoo.org/doc/build.html

* for more information on how to do this.

(hit Enter to continue or wait 15 seconds...)


Upon recompiling the Kernel, however, the error still stands. Here is my current Kernel configuration:

Code:
File systems // Pseudo filesystems

[*] /proc file system support
[*] /dev file system support (OBSOLETE)
[*]    Automatically mount at boot
[ ]    Debug devfs
[ ] /dev/pts Extended Attributes
[*] Virtual memory file system support (former shm fs)
[ ] HugeTLB file system support


What am I missing here? What else should be enabled?

Thanks for any help.


Last edited by Bungopolis on Sat May 01, 2004 12:26 am; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
slycordinator
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 31 Jan 2004
Posts: 3065
Location: Korea

PostPosted: Sat May 01, 2004 12:02 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

MOUNT YOUR /BOOT BEFORE COPYING THE NEW KERNEL. OTHERWISE, THIS WILL HAPPEN EVERY TIME

So here's what you gotta do:
1) As root in a shell, enter the command "mount /boot"
2) cd to the source directory
3) copy the kernel from that directory to your /boot
4) enter "umount /boot"
5) restart computer; notice that you don't get the message anymore.

edit: sorry if this comes off as mean (the way I put it) but this kind of error in kernel compilations is happenening all the time
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Twist
Guru
Guru


Joined: 03 Jan 2003
Posts: 414
Location: San Diego

PostPosted: Sat May 01, 2004 12:07 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Does the directory /dev exist on your root partition?

Are you sure you mounted /boot before doing a "make install" from your new kernel here? If you didn't, then you will have what looks like a valid image in the /boot directory, but it will be ignored because it's on the wrong file system.

-Twist
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Bungopolis
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 31 Jan 2004
Posts: 198
Location: San Francisco, CA, USA

PostPosted: Sat May 01, 2004 12:31 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Unbelievable.. this is the 5th time I have installed linux on a box and the 5th time I have made this mistake!

Obviously you are correct, I had simply forgotten to mount boot....

Sorry, and thanks
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
SDKB
n00b
n00b


Joined: 12 Apr 2004
Posts: 9

PostPosted: Fri May 28, 2004 11:16 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Well, that looks like my problem solved!

/me goes to try
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
SDKB
n00b
n00b


Joined: 12 Apr 2004
Posts: 9

PostPosted: Fri May 28, 2004 11:33 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yup, it works, what got me was that when i recompiled my kernel and cp'd to boot, on a ls -l the files were there and with the right time stamp, ie. looking like i had just copied them there. Should've rung alarm bells that the grub directory, amongst other things, wasn't there... doh

Maybe this should be hinted at in the gentoo FAQ, http://www.gentoo.org/doc/en/faq.xml, since there is already a question in there titled "My kernel doesn't boot (properly), what should I do now?" All it gives is instructions for booting live cd and chrooting, failing to mention that the procedure is different if the kernel doesn't boot "(properly)" as opposed to not booting at all.

Thanks for the help anyway!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
hookooekoo
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 02 May 2004
Posts: 196

PostPosted: Fri Jul 16, 2004 2:13 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I am getting the same error message, when I go back to recompile kernel the following opts are not even available.

Code:

[*] /dev file system support (OBSOLETE)
[*]    Automatically mount at boot


wtf????

pls help
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ryceck
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 13 Jan 2004
Posts: 195

PostPosted: Fri Jul 16, 2004 7:24 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Why do u guyz even use devfs... the word (OBSOLETE) doesn't stand there without a reason

Just use UDEV instead cuz that is gonna replace devfs anyway.
Just emerge udev and hotplug, add hotplug to boot-runlevel edit the /etc/conf.d/rc to exclude devfs and ur off :)

No more devfs-trouble and ur also working with the future alternative :)
I have been working with udev for the past 2 months without trouble :)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
hookooekoo
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 02 May 2004
Posts: 196

PostPosted: Sat Jul 17, 2004 6:35 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

It is what the gentoo handbook said to do, it didn't make sense to me, the whole obsolete thing.

I will try what you suggested.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
tomthewombat
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 29 Mar 2003
Posts: 244
Location: NY State

PostPosted: Sat Jul 17, 2004 3:11 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

you should have to edit that rc file to turn devfs off

UDEV Guide: http://www.gentoo.org/doc/en/udev-guide.xml

you can turn the "device tarball" off in that guide though. I reccomend it, if you can get every device to register itself properly on every boot.
_________________
http://www.wombatorium.net
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Decibels
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 16 Aug 2002
Posts: 1623
Location: U.S.A.

PostPosted: Sat Jul 17, 2004 4:17 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

If you decide to go UDEV, then recompile your kernel with the Devfs
Code:
Automatically mount at boot
NOT TURNED ON.

You have been warned.
_________________
Support bacteria – they’re the only culture some people have.”

– Steven Wright
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
aclarke
n00b
n00b


Joined: 27 Jun 2004
Posts: 11
Location: CA USA

PostPosted: Thu Jul 22, 2004 5:53 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thank you very much for what's contained here, as it fixed one of my problems.

I do have a question though. When I log in, there is a /boot directory there. Then when I type "mount /boot", I get a different one. What is the initial /boot directory for? I erased the contents and my computer still seems to work fine ... actually it still seems to function with the same problems it did before. :?

So do I have a problem in my setup? Is mount /boot supposed to happen automatically, or do I have it the way it's supposed to be?

Thanks,
- Andrew.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jkcunningham
l33t
l33t


Joined: 28 Apr 2003
Posts: 649
Location: 47.49N 121.79W

PostPosted: Sun Jul 25, 2004 3:14 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Before you mount your boot partition, you have to have a mount point. /boot is the mount point. Anything you put in that directory before you mount the position there will be inaccessible so long as the partition is mounted. As far as your file system is concerned, you've remapped that location to the partition.

-Jeff
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
aclarke
n00b
n00b


Joined: 27 Jun 2004
Posts: 11
Location: CA USA

PostPosted: Wed Jul 28, 2004 4:49 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks Jeff. So once my computer has finished booting and I've logged in, if I cd /boot, should I get the "placeholder" boot directory or the actual /boot partition I created? As it is now I just get the placeholder directory unless I "mount /boot" manually.

I'm trying to figure out if I have my computer set up correctly or if I'm missing a step.

Thanks,
- Andrew.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jkcunningham
l33t
l33t


Joined: 28 Apr 2003
Posts: 649
Location: 47.49N 121.79W

PostPosted: Thu Jul 29, 2004 1:46 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

With a normal Gentoo installation, you will be looking at the 'placeholder' /boot directory, because Gentoo is set up to only mount the real /boot partition during the boot process and then it unmounts it again (for security purposes). Anytime you want to play around with the real /boot partition, you need to be su and mount it first. Try this as an experiment and you'll see what I mean: after your machine has booted, do:
Code:

> su <password>
# df
# ls /boot
# touch /boot/BootIsntMounted.duh
# mount /boot
# ls /boot
# umount /boot
# ls /boot
# exit

1. When you do the 'df' you should not see the boot partition mounted.
2. When you do the first ls, you may see nothing in it, in fact I'll wager that you'll only see something in it if you accidentally copied the kernel files over there without having mounted /boot
3. touch will create an empty file with a name that will remind you of this fact should you accidentally do it (again).
4,5. After you mount /boot you should NOT see your reminder file but should see your real kernel files and grub directory (if you're using grub).
6,7. After you unmount it you will see only your reminder file again.

-Jeff
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
aclarke
n00b
n00b


Joined: 27 Jun 2004
Posts: 11
Location: CA USA

PostPosted: Thu Jul 29, 2004 2:00 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks Jeff! I really appreciate your explanation.

- Andrew.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
lbermude
n00b
n00b


Joined: 19 Jul 2004
Posts: 5

PostPosted: Thu Jul 29, 2004 2:46 am    Post subject: cannot mount /boot Reply with quote

What to do if?

Code:

# mount /boot
mount: can't find /boot in /etc/fstab or /etc/mtab


Do i neet to have the /boot in fstab even tough my /boot is in my / partition?

Thanks
_________________
Leonardo
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jkcunningham
l33t
l33t


Joined: 28 Apr 2003
Posts: 649
Location: 47.49N 121.79W

PostPosted: Thu Jul 29, 2004 2:52 am    Post subject: Re: cannot mount /boot Reply with quote

[quote="lbermude"]What to do if?

Code:

# mount /boot
mount: can't find /boot in /etc/fstab or /etc/mtab


Do i neet to have the /boot in fstab even tough my /boot is in my / partition?
[quote]

Yes, so long as you are using a separate boot partition, you need it in your /etc/fstab to tell it how to mount it. At least, easily. You can always mount it manually with something like:
Code:
mount -t ext2 /dev/hda1 /boot
, providing of course, that is the correct file system and partition for your system.

-Jeff
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
lbermude
n00b
n00b


Joined: 19 Jul 2004
Posts: 5

PostPosted: Thu Jul 29, 2004 3:01 am    Post subject: Re: cannot mount /boot Reply with quote

jkcunningham wrote:


Yes, so long as you are using a separate boot partition, you need it in your /etc/fstab to tell it how to mount it. At least, easily. You can always mount it manually with something like:
Code:
mount -t ext2 /dev/hda1 /boot
, providing of course, that is the correct file system and partition for your system.

-Jeff


Thanks for the answer Jeff.

Maybe I did not explain myself very good.

I have 1 reiserfs partition for gentoo which is /dev/hdb2 and is labeled as / in my fstab:

Code:

/dev/hdb2      /      reiserfs      noatime,notail         0 0
#/dev/hdb2      /boot      reiserfs      noauto,noatime,notail      1 1
   0 0
/dev/hda3      none      swap      sw         0 0
/dev/cdroms/cdrom0   /mnt/cdrom   iso9660      noauto,ro      0 0
none         /proc      proc      defaults      0 0
none         /dev/shm   tmpfs      defaults      0 0


inside that filesystem resides my /boot. My /boot is not in a separate partition.

So my question is how do I mount /boot if the directory is in the same / filesystem?

I hope that was a little bit more clear!

Thanks :)
_________________
Leonardo
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jkcunningham
l33t
l33t


Joined: 28 Apr 2003
Posts: 649
Location: 47.49N 121.79W

PostPosted: Thu Jul 29, 2004 3:05 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

If you didn't make your /boot in a separate partition, then, yes you are correct: you wouldn't ever mount /boot (there's nothing to mount). Anytime your root partition is mounted, boot is available. And when you look in that directory you will see your linux kernel, etc.

Hope that helps.

-Jeff
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum