View previous topic :: View next topic |
Author |
Message |
esc* n00b
Joined: 19 Aug 2003 Posts: 55 Location: Finland
|
Posted: Sat May 01, 2004 12:29 pm Post subject: Howto get mail working |
|
|
Hello.
I have problem with pop3 mail account, gentoo is setup router/firewall box with iptables and squid proxy. I can use Internet (port80) on windows machines (homenetwork). But Outlook/pop3 mail doesnt work. I have put mailclient use same proxy port like web-browser but it cant connect port 110. Tryed open somehow that port, iptables -A INPUT -p tct -m tcp --port 110 -j ACCEPT but this is wrong method i know. So if anyone know what i need setup and where? Thanks. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Little Nemo l33t
Joined: 29 Mar 2004 Posts: 623 Location: Berlin, Germany
|
Posted: Sat May 01, 2004 1:33 pm Post subject: |
|
|
You need a forwarding rule for port 110 on the gateway.
Code: | /sbin/iptables -A FORWARD -i $DEV_INT -o $DEV_EXT -s $NET_INT -d $POPSERVER -p tcp --dport 110 --sport $UNPRIVPORTS -m state NEW,ESTABLISHED -j ACCEPT
/sbin/iptables -A FORWARD -i $DEV_EXT -o $DEV_INT -s $POPSERVER -d $NET_INT -p tcp --dport $UNPRIVPORTS --sport 110 -m state ESTABLISHED -j ACCEPT
|
$DEV_INT is the local interface, $DEV_EXT the external interface. $NET_INT is your network, $POPSERVER the pop server's IP address. $UNPRIVPORTS are defined as "1024:65535". You need the ipt_state module for "-m state" to work.
I assume you do not use public addresses on your internal network. So you need masquerading, too:
Code: | iptables -t nat -A POSTROUTING -o $DEV_EXT -j MASQUERADE
|
If you're lucky to have a fixed external address, use SNAT instead of MASQUERADE and append a --to destination.
Make sure your system can forward IP:
Code: | echo 1 > /proc/sys/net/ipv4/ip_forward
|
Don't use all of this blindly. You should read the documentation at http://www.netfilter.org/ and know what you're doing before applying it. You also need default rules that forbid everything you don't allow explicitly.
How did you setup outgoing mail, by the way? Did you configure an MTA on the gateway? |
|
Back to top |
|
|
|
|
You cannot post new topics in this forum You cannot reply to topics in this forum You cannot edit your posts in this forum You cannot delete your posts in this forum You cannot vote in polls in this forum
|
|