View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours
View posts from last 7 days

Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments
View previous topic :: View next topic  
bukharin
n00b
n00b

PostPosted: Sun May 02, 2004 9:30 am    Post subject: X speed problem Reply with quote

Hi everyone,

I'm a newbie to Gentoo but have been using linux on the desktop for a few years. I've just switched from Mandrake 9.0 because I wanted smoother updates, and felt like a change in general. So far, I'm very impressed with Gentoo!

Unfortunately, X in Gentoo is a lot slower than in Mandrake. For example, fast scrolling using pageup/pagedown in Mozilla is a lot less smooth; and when minimising/maximising a window, it's relatively easy to see the separate window components being drawn, whereas in Mandrake it's not. I can't really understand why this would be, but it's really annoying!

What I've tried so far:
- checked that DMA is enabled for my hard disks, and benchmarked them with hdparm -tT - same results as in Mandrake. Actually I initially stuffed this up, and got a major performance boost when fixed
- emerged nvidia-kernel and nvidia-glx (version 1.0.4496)
- checked that DRI is working - it is (glxgears gives framerates over 3000) - so presumably the nvidia kernel module is working properly
- checked that AGP is working - I'm using AGPGART at 4x, same as in Mandrake
- tried using my Mandrake XF86Config - no improvement (though I had to comment out 'FontPath "unix/:-1"' for that config file to work in Gentoo)
- made sure there are no processes running in the bg that are consuming resources

I'm kind of stuck now. I don't know exactly where to look next for potential problems. A couple of ideas that I have are
(1) is it a kernel misconfiguration? I'd appreciate any suggestions as to anything I need to look out for in my kernel config