View previous topic :: View next topic |
Author |
Message |
glassjos n00b
![n00b n00b](/images/ranks/rank_rect_0.gif)
Joined: 26 Jul 2003 Posts: 12
|
Posted: Fri Sep 26, 2003 3:22 pm Post subject: laptop irda problems w/ gnome-pilot |
|
|
Hi, I'm having trouble getting gnome-pilot to connect to my palm through IRDA (IRDA port is built into compaq laptop.) My goal is to get it to work through evolution, and since it uses gnome-pilot I'd like to start there.
The modules load fine:
Code: |
IrDA: Registered device irda0
irtty_net_open()
irlap_change_speed(), setting speed to 9600
IrCOMM protocol (Dag Brattli)
IrDA: Registered device irda0
irtty_net_open()
Module Size Used by Not tainted
ircomm-tty 35040 0 (autoclean) (unused)
ircomm 16040 0 (autoclean) [ircomm-tty]
irtty 8672 2 (autoclean)
irda 166640 0 (autoclean) [ircomm-tty ircomm irtty]
hid 15592 0 (unused)
serial 48036 1
isa-pnp 32804 0 [serial]
yenta_socket 10816 0
pcmcia_core 44192 0 [yenta_socket]
uhci 25968 0 (unused)
ehci-hcd 17832 0 (unused)
ohci1394 25864 0 (unused)
ieee1394 47524 0 [ohci1394]
usbcore 63424 1 [hid uhci ehci-hcd]
|
And using irdadump I see communication when I turn the palm device on:
Code: |
15:03:00.917269 xid:rsp d6bb6953 < 70649c6d S=6 s=0 Joseph E. Glass hint=8220 [
PDA/Palmtop IrOBEX ] (33)
<snip>
15:03:01.367274 xid:cmd d6bb6953 > ffffffff S=6 s=* puppen hint=0400 [ Computer ] (22)
|
Further, I also see traffic when I hit the sync button:
Code: |
15:04:23.647269 xid:cmd ffffffff < 490a6b2e S=6 s=* IrCOMM hint=8204 [ PDA/Palmtop IrCOMM ] (23)
15:04:23.697269 snrm:cmd ca=fe pf=1 d6bb6953 < 490a6b2e new-ca=b6
LAP QoS: Baud Rate=115200bps Max Turn Time=500ms Data Size=512B Window Size=1 Add BOFS=0 Min Turn Time=5000us Link Disc=40s (32)
15:04:23.697297 ua:rsp ca=b6 pf=1 d6bb6953 > 490a6b2e
LAP QoS: Baud Rate=115200bps Max Turn Time=500ms Data Size=2048B Window Size=7 Add BOFS=0 Min Turn Time=5000us Link Disc=12s (31)
15:04:24.277271 rr:cmd < ca=b6 pf=1 nr=0 (2)
15:04:24.277281 rr:rsp > ca=b6 pf=1 nr=0 (2)
15:04:24.297269 i:cmd < ca=b6 pf=1 nr=0 ns=0 LM slsap=01 dlsap=00 CONN_CMD (6)
15:04:24.297292 i:rsp > ca=b6 pf=1 nr=1 ns=0 LM slsap=00 dlsap=01 CONN_RSP (6)
15:04:24.317273 i:cmd < ca=b6 pf=1 nr=1 ns=1 LM slsap=01 dlsap=00 GET_VALUE_BY_CLASS: "IrDA:IrCOMM" "IrDA:TinyTP:LsapSel" (37)
15:04:24.317293 i:rsp > ca=b6 pf=1 nr=2 ns=1 LM slsap=00 dlsap=01 GET_VALUE_BY_CLASS: No such class (11)
15:04:24.337271 disc:cmd < ca=0xb6 pf=1 (2)
15:04:24.337275 ua:rsp ca=b6 pf=1 d6bb6953 > 490a6b2e (10)
|
However, I don't see any traffiic from the laptop when I go into the "initial sync, about to retreive username and ID from pilot" (palm off, laptop on.) So this leads me to believe that the setup on my laptop is incorrect. This is most likely a problem with attaching the irda device to a serial port to use with gnome-pilot. I've tried the obvious attachments:
Code: |
irattach /dev/ttyS1 -s
|
with no luck. I'm not sure if my syntax is correct, but I can't connect to the device with irdadump:
Code: |
root@puppen joe # irdadump -i /dev/ttyS1
Using interface: /dev/ttyS1
ioctl: No such device
|
Any suggestions?
Thank you! |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
WarpFlyght n00b
![n00b n00b](/images/ranks/rank_rect_0.gif)
![](images/avatars/15556835903eb7286a2e4a5.gif)
Joined: 04 May 2003 Posts: 38 Location: Atlanta, GA
|
Posted: Thu Apr 08, 2004 4:52 pm Post subject: irdadump |
|
|
I can't help with everything since I'm trying to get IrDA working myself, but for irdadump, try this:
The IrDA device seems to be treated as a real network device, so it becomes irda0 (like you might have eth0 or wlan0 for other network interfaces). _________________ Help save the world. Adopt an unanswered post.
·····························
Gentoo Linux 1.4 no more. SGI Indy R4400 on 2.6.13-mipscvs |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
Camulus Apprentice
![Apprentice Apprentice](/images/ranks/rank_rect_2.gif)
![](images/avatars/503878328449f03d079c78.jpg)
Joined: 19 Jan 2003 Posts: 223 Location: Cornellà - Bcn
|
Posted: Sun May 02, 2004 4:50 pm Post subject: SOLVED! |
|
|
Finally I get it! What to do?
I load the irport module, after reload all irCOMM, ircomm-tty and irda.
I make a "irattach /dev/icomm0 -s" and point kpilot (as the same) to this port..
Now i'm making a sync
The question is..how to make it (load modules, execute setserial and irattach) automatic at boot? _________________ If you wanna run cool, you got ro run on heavy, heavy fuel. |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
WarpFlyght n00b
![n00b n00b](/images/ranks/rank_rect_0.gif)
![](images/avatars/15556835903eb7286a2e4a5.gif)
Joined: 04 May 2003 Posts: 38 Location: Atlanta, GA
|
Posted: Sun May 02, 2004 6:12 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Well, you've got two good options there. One (the easiest), you can put the modules in /etc/modules.autoload.d/kernel-2.x (where 2.x is the major version number of the kernel you're using, e.g. 2.4, 2.5, or 2.6) and put commands in /etc/conf.d/local.start (local should be run by default during the boot sequence -- if it is not, then you'll need to run "rc-update add local default" as root).
The second option would be to create a new script in /etc/init.d to make your changes and add it to the default runlevel. Here's some code for a very simple script that should do the job.
/etc/init.d/irda-config:
Code: | #!/sbin/runscript
start() {
ebegin "Configuring IrDA"
# Loading IrDA and IrCOMM modules
modprobe irda
modprobe irport
modprobe ircomm
modprobe ircomm-tty
# Binding the IrDA stack
irattach /dev/ircomm0 -s"
}
stop() {
ebegin "Unconfiguring IrDA"
# We don't really need to do anything here.
# Obviously we should try to reverse the changes made above,
# but so far I've not found a way to "undo" the irattach command.
# If anyone does know how, please do chime in. We can unload the
# modules that we loaded if we like.
} |
After you've created that file, then you need to do the following as root:
Code: | # chmod o+x /etc/init.d/irda-config |
Your script can now be executed by its owner (root). Now, if you want the script to be loaded automatically at boot, you can run "rc-update add irda-config default" and it will be added to the default runlevel and executed on each boot. If you'd prefer to run the script manually and not have it execute at boot time, simply run "/etc/init.d/irda-config start" each time you wish to configure it![/code] _________________ Help save the world. Adopt an unanswered post.
·····························
Gentoo Linux 1.4 no more. SGI Indy R4400 on 2.6.13-mipscvs |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
Camulus Apprentice
![Apprentice Apprentice](/images/ranks/rank_rect_2.gif)
![](images/avatars/503878328449f03d079c78.jpg)
Joined: 19 Jan 2003 Posts: 223 Location: Cornellà - Bcn
|
Posted: Mon May 03, 2004 8:38 am Post subject: |
|
|
Thanks!!!
Now my laptop IRDA works fine synchronizing my fujitsu with my Palm Device.. no USB cables needed!! ![Laughing :lol:](images/smiles/icon_lol.gif) _________________ If you wanna run cool, you got ro run on heavy, heavy fuel. |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
|
|
You cannot post new topics in this forum You cannot reply to topics in this forum You cannot edit your posts in this forum You cannot delete your posts in this forum You cannot vote in polls in this forum
|
|