View previous topic :: View next topic |
Author |
Message |
jlanza Tux's lil' helper
Joined: 27 Aug 2003 Posts: 109
|
Posted: Mon May 03, 2004 9:51 pm Post subject: Memory Issues |
|
|
I have 1GB, 1024mb of ram on my machine. Howerver gentoo only shows i have 896mb. What is going on here? I did a mem check and everything is fine and windows says i have 1024 and so does bios...
any help is greatly appreciated. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
aman Apprentice
Joined: 07 Sep 2003 Posts: 198 Location: Bay Area, California
|
Posted: Mon May 03, 2004 10:46 pm Post subject: |
|
|
You have to enable 4GB (large memory support or something) in the kernel. Otherwise, 896MB is the limit for low memory support. I did the same thing when I first installed gentoo years ago. Im surprised you didn't just find my post. _________________ Yes, I do run Gentoo on production servers... |
|
Back to top |
|
|
jlanza Tux's lil' helper
Joined: 27 Aug 2003 Posts: 109
|
Posted: Wed May 05, 2004 1:02 am Post subject: |
|
|
I compiled in that support
Code: |
bash-2.05b$ cat /proc/meminfo
MemTotal: 1033880 kB
MemFree: 769936 kB
Buffers: 16300 kB
Cached: 161780 kB
SwapCached: 0 kB
Active: 169572 kB
Inactive: 68380 kB
HighTotal: 130816 kB
HighFree: 252 kB
LowTotal: 903064 kB
LowFree: 769684 kB
SwapTotal: 1004052 kB
SwapFree: 1004052 kB
Dirty: 64 kB
Writeback: 0 kB
Mapped: 129776 kB
Slab: 15704 kB
Committed_AS: 125712 kB
PageTables: 1248 kB
VmallocTotal: 114680 kB
VmallocUsed: 21112 kB
VmallocChunk: 92652 kB
|
says I only have 1009.65 mb of ram not 1024, any reason why that is happening?
Should i have compiled in support for
Allocate 3rd-level pagetables from highmem
??
thanks joe |
|
Back to top |
|
|
solomonHk Apprentice
Joined: 28 Mar 2004 Posts: 226 Location: int main(void) { };
|
Posted: Wed May 05, 2004 1:50 am Post subject: |
|
|
1009.65?
{code]MemTotal: 1033880 kB[/code]
10333880kb = 1033.88 Mb IF anything it is reporting too much! -=0) |
|
Back to top |
|
|
aman Apprentice
Joined: 07 Sep 2003 Posts: 198 Location: Bay Area, California
|
Posted: Wed May 05, 2004 2:15 am Post subject: |
|
|
Well, the 1009... MB is just a matter of convention when reading and displaying the ram. the 869 you said before is due to 4gb mem support not being compiled in, otherwise, you are solid. _________________ Yes, I do run Gentoo on production servers... |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Rainmaker Veteran
Joined: 12 Feb 2004 Posts: 1650 Location: /home/NL/ehv/
|
Posted: Wed May 05, 2004 3:47 am Post subject: |
|
|
solomonHk wrote: | 1009.65?
{code]MemTotal: 1033880 kB[/code]
10333880kb = 1033.88 Mb IF anything it is reporting too much! -=0) |
1 MB = 1024 KB, not 1000
It is indeed showing 1009... It's beacuse of the way linux "counts" memory. You're OK _________________ If you can't dazzle them with brilliance, baffle them with bullshit. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
gcombe74 n00b
Joined: 27 Jan 2004 Posts: 47 Location: Ogden Utah
|
Posted: Wed May 19, 2004 4:48 pm Post subject: meminfo |
|
|
ok,
I just want to be straight, I have 5 servers that have gentoo installed and all have more then 1Gb of ram. But gentoo only show 1Gb of ram on each one.
I think that my kernel has the support built in. But I am away from work. Is there anything else that can prevent the memory from being shown right?? _________________ Gentoo Linux go with the best ---- and forget the rest! |
|
Back to top |
|
|
|