Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
ATI 9600xt, KT400 chipset all 2.6 kernels
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Kernel & Hardware
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
bigbeav
n00b
n00b


Joined: 13 Mar 2004
Posts: 46

PostPosted: Tue May 04, 2004 10:01 pm    Post subject: ATI 9600xt, KT400 chipset all 2.6 kernels Reply with quote

Okay guys, i have this kt400 chipset that i really want some accelerated graphics on. I also have a kt600 mb in this "server" that i could easily swap to if I knew that it would fix the problem. I might do a test and exchange graphics cards to see if it does get direct acceleration without crashing. My current problem is that any opengl function crashes the screen. Just the screen or graphical layer. I know a lot of people have had trouble with the kt400 on the 8x agp. Has more people had success with the kt600 or the kt400, and any advice on the kt400 chipset?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
MaxDamage
l33t
l33t


Joined: 03 Jan 2004
Posts: 650
Location: Oviedo, Spain

PostPosted: Fri May 07, 2004 10:01 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I'm usin a KT400a based MoBo with a 9600Pro (AGP 8x). No problems here. Just emerged ati-drivers.

Remember to do
Code:
opengl-update ati
after emerging.

What's more, I'm using the Xorg X11 Server and works flawlessly. Also did with my Geforce2GTS (AGP 4x) and a KT400 MoBo.

EDIT: also remember there is a bug with the ati-drivers and the XT cards, you have to do some sort of hack in the XF86Config file to get the card correctly detected. Try searching the forums, I read it here some time ago.
_________________
La PDA de tungsteno
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Wedge_
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 08 Aug 2002
Posts: 3614
Location: Scotland

PostPosted: Fri May 07, 2004 11:30 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

MaxDamage wrote:
EDIT: also remember there is a bug with the ati-drivers and the XT cards, you have to do some sort of hack in the XF86Config file to get the card correctly detected. Try searching the forums, I read it here some time ago.

Yep, what to do is try specifying the PCI ID for a non XT 9600 card. The full list of IDs for ATI cards is here: http://pciids.sourceforge.net/iii/?i=1002. Somewhere in the "Driver" section of your XF86Config, add the line
Code:
ChipID 0xabcd
where abcd is one of the hex values on the left of the above page for 9600 cards. For example, there are a bunch of three near the top of the list - 4150, 4151, 4152, so you could try
Code:
ChipID 0x4150

or
Code:
ChipID 0x4151
etc.
_________________
Per Ardua Ad Astra
The Earth is the cradle of the mind, but we cannot live forever in a cradle - Konstantin E. Tsiolkovsky
Gentoo Radeon FAQ
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
bigbeav
n00b
n00b


Joined: 13 Mar 2004
Posts: 46

PostPosted: Sat May 08, 2004 9:51 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

okay sry it took so long to reply to this but i was configuring bootsplash yesterday and new job blah blah blah. anyway windows says under the ati drivers it gives a "Radeon 9600XT AGP (0x4152)" So i'm belinvg my ChipID should be a do I add it like
Code:

Section "Device"
    Identifier                          "ATI Graphics Adapter"
    Driver                              "fglrx"
    ChipID                              "0x4152"

IN the XF86Config-4 ?? I can't test it right now cuz I'm working with a 100 mb power point presentation thats due soon.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Wedge_
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 08 Aug 2002
Posts: 3614
Location: Scotland

PostPosted: Sun May 09, 2004 9:15 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I think you actually need to use one of the IDs for a non XT 9600 card, but I could be wrong. Try them all until you find one that works :) When you add it to your XF86Config-4, do it the same way as you have it there, but you don't need the quotes around the ChipID value.

Have you run the "fglrxconfig" program already? It generates a new XF86Config for you with all the ATI driver specific options listed, so it's a good idea to do that if you haven't already.
_________________
Per Ardua Ad Astra
The Earth is the cradle of the mind, but we cannot live forever in a cradle - Konstantin E. Tsiolkovsky
Gentoo Radeon FAQ
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
bigbeav
n00b
n00b


Joined: 13 Mar 2004
Posts: 46

PostPosted: Sun May 09, 2004 3:42 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

yeah i can run fglrxconfig with my eyes closed now. I've read on here bout people having a lot of trouble with laptops, but my desktop was 10x worse then my laptop. Well I'll try what I have on here on a reboot, then if not i will just try a 9600 regular or pro card and see if it works.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
bigbeav
n00b
n00b


Joined: 13 Mar 2004
Posts: 46

PostPosted: Sun May 09, 2004 4:11 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

didn't work. I tried 0x4150 to 0x4152 and 0x4e46, the 4e46 gave a "Breakpoint Trap" error in glxinfo and glxgear wouldn't be displayed most likely because glx wasn't fully on or intialised. 0x4151 at least got the gears to show up on the screen before it crashed.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Wedge_
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 08 Aug 2002
Posts: 3614
Location: Scotland

PostPosted: Sun May 09, 2004 4:46 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

It may be down to the motherboard then. Are there any errors in your XFree logfile (/var/log/XFree86.0.log) or the output from "dmesg"?
_________________
Per Ardua Ad Astra
The Earth is the cradle of the mind, but we cannot live forever in a cradle - Konstantin E. Tsiolkovsky
Gentoo Radeon FAQ
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
bigbeav
n00b
n00b


Joined: 13 Mar 2004
Posts: 46

PostPosted: Sun May 09, 2004 6:56 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

i looked through the logs and nothing was intreseting except for some acpi errors that the new 2.6.5-r1 kernel gives compared to my 2.6.3 kernel. I'm having the same issue with apci on my laptop with the new kernel, i need to submit a bugreport. The agpgart seemed to load succesfully. Having 785,904 mb of ram shouldn't be a problem right?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Wedge_
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 08 Aug 2002
Posts: 3614
Location: Scotland

PostPosted: Sun May 09, 2004 7:06 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Nope. What is the "UseInternalAGPGART" setting in your XF86Config file set to at the moment? Try changing it to the opposite setting and see if that helps.
_________________
Per Ardua Ad Astra
The Earth is the cradle of the mind, but we cannot live forever in a cradle - Konstantin E. Tsiolkovsky
Gentoo Radeon FAQ
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
bigbeav
n00b
n00b


Joined: 13 Mar 2004
Posts: 46

PostPosted: Sun May 09, 2004 7:11 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

its set to no because for some reason the ati agpgart couldn't figure out my agp aperature size which would cause it to fail to load fglrx for obvious reason.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Wedge_
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 08 Aug 2002
Posts: 3614
Location: Scotland

PostPosted: Sun May 09, 2004 9:02 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

bigbeav wrote:
its set to no because for some reason the ati agpgart couldn't figure out my agp aperature size which would cause it to fail to load fglrx for obvious reason.

That's not unusual, unfortunately. Are you loading all the required modules? (agpgart, via-agp, fglrx)
_________________
Per Ardua Ad Astra
The Earth is the cradle of the mind, but we cannot live forever in a cradle - Konstantin E. Tsiolkovsky
Gentoo Radeon FAQ
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
bigbeav
n00b
n00b


Joined: 13 Mar 2004
Posts: 46

PostPosted: Sun May 09, 2004 10:59 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

with it set to no I load via_agp, agpgart and fglrx. Agpgart fails to load because for some reason via_agp loads it automaticlly. This is verified by it being on the lsmod list and via_agp shows up as being used by agpgart. Do i have to load it when I set "UseInternalAGP" to yes, cuz when i would do that it would bring up the agpgart interface in the dmesg logs and show it loads finds the chipset but says "Cannot Accuire Aperature Size".
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Venatyr
n00b
n00b


Joined: 23 Apr 2004
Posts: 18

PostPosted: Mon May 17, 2004 10:28 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

MaxDamage wrote:
EDIT: also remember there is a bug with the ati-drivers and the XT cards, you have to do some sort of hack in the XF86Config file to get the card correctly detected. Try searching the forums, I read it here some time ago.


What is the bug?

I have a 9600 XT and I'm not specifying any ChipID in my XF86Config.

Does it allow you to have FSAA? Because it won't enable for me.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
melts
n00b
n00b


Joined: 21 Feb 2004
Posts: 53

PostPosted: Sun Jun 13, 2004 3:53 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

bigbeav wrote:
its set to no because for some reason the ati agpgart couldn't figure out my agp aperature size which would cause it to fail to load fglrx for obvious reason.


i've just finished fixing a problem like that, namely kt400 chipset, radeon 9600xt, amd barton.

agpgart refused to load with the mysterious aperature size error using a 2.4.25 kernel module. this is using gentoo sources. Once i upgraded to 2.6.5 dev sources the module would load fine.
I'm guessing 2.4.x doesn't have a via driver for the KT400 northbridge, so you should try a 2.6 kernel and see if that helps things.

to continue on with my epic though, i had the agpgart module loaded and frglx wouldn't load - couldn't detect agp. I loaded agp into the kernel and that went away too. now i just have a mtrr overlap to fix to make me really happy, but at least now i have GL in Xorg

also, i didn't think it was ATi's AGP GART, i believe the GART is for the mainboard chipset and ATi's drivers don't affect that? from my experience the ATi driver didn't do anything to the agpgart module just its frglx one. Either way using the agpgart supplied by kernel sources 2.6.5 worked will for my chipset.

versions (approximate, not on said box atm)
kernel: Sources 2.6.5 dev
ati-drivers: 3.90...
_________________
=== === === === === ===
doh
=== === === === === ===
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Kernel & Hardware All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum