Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
help IPAQ -> Gentoo -> internet
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Networking & Security
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
sickboy2583
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 30 Jan 2004
Posts: 83
Location: UK

PostPosted: Sat May 08, 2004 12:52 pm    Post subject: help IPAQ -> Gentoo -> internet Reply with quote

Been trying to connect my IPAQ 3970 running Gpe Familiar to the internet by sharing my Gentoo box internet connection.

Tried a few how to's on handhelds.org and searched Gentoo forums but no luck so far. I have also tried firestarter to share the connection but no luck there either. Can some please help 8O

Here is my setup :

Gentoo box :
eth0
192.168.1.101 netmask 255.255.255.0 broadcast 192.168.1.255 gateway 192.168.1.1 DNS 194.168.4.100 194.168.8.100

usb0
192.168.0.101 netmask 255.255.255.0 broadcast 192.168.0.255

IPAQ :
usbf 192.168.0.100 netmask 255.255.255.0 broadcast 192.168.0.255 gateway 192.168.100 (not sure what his should be set to)
DNS 194.168.4.100

As you can see the IPAQ is connected to the Gentoo box via a usb cable.
The Gentoo box is connected to the internet via eth0 through a router, hence gateway 192,168.1.1.

I can ssh into the IPAQ from my Gentoo box ok.

So how can I get my IPAQ connected to the internet ? 8O
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 54801
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Sat May 08, 2004 1:22 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

ickboy2583,

You need this script.
Code:
#
# ipaqnet       Control script for iPAQ USBNet connection
#
# Author: Michel Stempin
# Creation: 11/08/2002
                                                                                                                                                                     
# additional comments and minor tweaks
# Roy Bamford 6 Dec 2003
                                                                                                                                                                     
PC_ADDR=192.168.100.201
IPAQ_ADDR=192.168.100.202
IPAQ_NET=192.168.100.0/24
                                                                                                                                                                     
# WARNING:usb0 is hard coded in some places
UPLINK_IF=usb0
                                                                                                                                                                     
start() {
    # load the usb networking module
    /sbin/modprobe usbnet
                                                                                                                                                                     
    # bring up the PC end of the link with IP addr PC_ADDR
    # exit if it fails for some reason
    /sbin/ifconfig usb0 inet $PC_ADDR up
    if [ $? -ne 0 ]; then
        echo "Could not set up usb0"
        echo "Is the iPaq connected and switched on?"
        exit 1
    fi
                                                                                                                                                                     
    # set up proxy_arp for our usb interface
    echo "1" >/proc/sys/net/ipv4/conf/usb0/proxy_arp
    UPLINK=`/sbin/ifconfig $UPLINK_IF >/dev/null 2>&1`
    # exit if it fails for some reason
    if [ $? -ne 0 ]; then
        echo "Could not set up proxy_arp for usb0"
        exit 1
    fi
                                                                                                                                                                     
    # set up proxy_arp for eth0, so this better be our
    # internet connection
    echo "1" >/proc/sys/net/ipv4/conf/eth0/proxy_arp
                                                                                                                                                                     
    # turn on IP forwarding
    echo "1" >/proc/sys/net/ipv4/ip_forward
                                                                                                                                                                     
    # delete the unwanted route via usb0
    # its wrong anyway
    /sbin/route del -net $IPAQ_NET dev usb0

                                                                                                                                                                     
    # add the route we really want
    /sbin/route add $IPAQ_ADDR dev usb0
}
                                                                                                                                                                     
stop() {
    /sbin/ifconfig usb0 down
    # rmmod -r usbnet
}
case "$1" in
    start|add)
        start
        ;;
    stop|remove)
        stop
        ;;
    *)
        echo $"Usage: $0 {start|stop|add|remove}"
        exit 1
esac
Fiddle with the IP addresses at the top to suit yourself.
The iPaq is on the same subnet as the PC. The original is on the handhelds.org wiki somewhere
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
sickboy2583
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 30 Jan 2004
Posts: 83
Location: UK

PostPosted: Sat May 08, 2004 3:41 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

NeddySeagoon

Thanks this worked a treat 8)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
electroarts
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 03 Jan 2004
Posts: 86

PostPosted: Mon Jun 28, 2004 5:27 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I'm using this script on my laptop to set up USB networking, and some very weird stuff is happening. First of all, I get "unable to reach network" from my IPAQ when trying to ping the laptop if I use a subnet number anything other than 0 [i.e. 192.168.0.201 works, but 192.168.100.201 doesn't]. All changes were made in both network configuration in GPE and in the script running on the laptop.

When I put them both on the 0 subnet, I can ping the laptop from the IPAQ, ping the IPAQ from the laptop, and even ssh to the IPAQ, but cannot reach the internet.

What am I doing wrong here?

Laptop ifconfig:
Code:
root 19:17:37> ifconfig usb0
usb0      Link encap:Ethernet  HWaddr 7A:22:16:3D:1D:AF 
          inet addr:192.168.0.201  Bcast:192.168.0.255  Mask:255.255.255.0
          UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST  MTU:1500  Metric:1
          RX packets:338 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
          TX packets:448 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
          collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
          RX bytes:37089 (36.2 Kb)  TX bytes:39496 (38.5 Kb)


IPAQ ifconfig:
Code:
~ # ifconfig usbf
usbf      Link encap:Ethernet  HWaddr 26:0F:99:59:36:38 
          inet addr:192.168.0.202  Mask:255.255.255.0
          inet6 addr: fe80::240f:99ff:fe59:3638/10 Scope:Link
          UP RUNNING  MTU:1500  Metric:1
          RX packets:429 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
          TX packets:322 errors:0 dropped:18 overruns:0 carrier:0
          collisions:0 txqueuelen:100
          RX bytes:32236 (31.4 KiB)  TX bytes:38793 (37.8 KiB)


Specs: Familiar 0.7.2 GPE, IPAQ 5550

TIA,
d.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 54801
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Mon Jun 28, 2004 7:22 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

electroarts,

The script I posted uses forwarding through the PC to the iPaq.
The PCs eth0 (port to the internet) and usb0 are all on the same subnet. In my case 192.168.100.0/24

If your eth0 has a public IP this will not work for you unless you have some spare IP addresses in the same subnet as eth0. In that case, your PC needs to support NAT. Look into building iptables and finding a firewall script.

Are you sure you are changing what you think you are in GPE.
Here is my /etc/network/interfaces (frm my iPaq). The USB stuff is commented out because I have wireless now.
Code:
 /etc/network # more interfaces
# /etc/network/interfaces -- configuration file for ifup(8), ifdown(8)

# The loopback interface
# automatically added when upgrading
auto lo
iface lo inet loopback
iface bnep0 inet dhcp

# usb network
# (192.168.100.202 is the iPAQ's IP, 192.168.100.201 is the host's IP)
iface usbf inet static
#        address 192.168.100.202
#        netmask 255.255.255.255
#        network 192.168.100.0
#        gateway 192.168.100.1

# wireless networking
iface wlan0 inet static
        address 192.168.100.244
        netmask 255.255.255.0
        network 192.168.100.0
        gateway 192.168.100.1
        broadcast 192.168.100.255


Is that any help?
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
electroarts
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 03 Jan 2004
Posts: 86

PostPosted: Tue Jul 06, 2004 2:30 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi again,

I cooked up a fairly simple set of commands to get a PPP connection going via the Gentoo laptop serial port connected to the IPAQ charging cradle. Here it is, for future forum-searchers. I saved it to my home directory as "ipaqppp", and it should be run as root. See comments for full usage:

Code:
#/bin/bash

# For creating PPP connection between [lap/desk]top and IPAQ.
# See also:
#       http://www.handhelds.org:8080/wiki/PPPHowto
#       http://www.handhelds.org:8080/wiki/IPMasqHowto

# First start PPP:
#       /usr/sbin/pppd /dev/ttyS0 115200 192.168.0.1:192.168.0.2 nodetach local noauth nocrtscts lock user ppp connect "/usr/sbin/chat -v -t3 ogin--ogin: ppp"

# Then run this script:
#       sh ipaqppp

iptables -F
iptables -t nat -F
iptables -t nat -A POSTROUTING -s 192.168.0.2 -j MASQUERADE
echo 1 > /proc/sys/net/ipv4/ip_forward
iptables -A FORWARD -s 192.168.0.2 -j ACCEPT
iptables -A FORWARD -d 192.168.0.2 -j ACCEPT

# Remember to copy the resolv.conf:
#       scp /etc/resolv.conf root@192.168.0.2:/etc/resolv.conf

# After that, login via ssh:
#       ssh root@192.168.0.2

# Once logged in on the IPAQ, set the [lap/desk]top as the IPAQ's gateway:
#       route add default gw 192.168.0.1

# You might need to bring down the USB networking on the IPAQ if there are any troubles with reaching the network:
#       ifconfig usbf down

# That's it!


cheers!
d.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Networking & Security All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum