View previous topic :: View next topic |
Author |
Message |
remix l33t
Joined: 28 Apr 2004 Posts: 797 Location: hawaii
|
Posted: Wed May 12, 2004 1:48 am Post subject: newb apache questions |
|
|
i installed apache2.
when i tried emerge php
i get a '??? is masked' error and it quits
my question is i started apache2 and when i lynx localhost it says unable to connect to remote host, why doesn't it show the default index.html.en page? |
|
Back to top |
|
|
kezzla Apprentice
Joined: 21 Aug 2003 Posts: 253 Location: Austin, TX
|
Posted: Wed May 12, 2004 2:19 am Post subject: |
|
|
1) Do the following:
Put this in /etc/profile:
alias unstable='ACCEPT_KEYWORDS="~x86"'
# source /etc/profile
# unstable emerge php
2) # mv index.html.en index.html
Hope this helps |
|
Back to top |
|
|
splooge l33t
Joined: 30 Aug 2002 Posts: 636
|
Posted: Wed May 12, 2004 3:03 am Post subject: Re: newb apache questions |
|
|
remix wrote: | i installed apache2.
when i tried emerge php
i get a '??? is masked' error and it quits
my question is i started apache2 and when i lynx localhost it says unable to connect to remote host, why doesn't it show the default index.html.en page? |
1) Make sure apache is started:
/etc/init.d/apache2 start
2) php isn't used by apache. You want to emerge mod_php _________________ http://get.a.clue.de |
|
Back to top |
|
|
splooge l33t
Joined: 30 Aug 2002 Posts: 636
|
Posted: Wed May 12, 2004 3:11 am Post subject: |
|
|
kezzla wrote: | 1) Do the following:
Put this in /etc/profile:
alias unstable='ACCEPT_KEYWORDS="~x86"'
# source /etc/profile
# unstable emerge php
2) # mv index.html.en index.html
Hope this helps |
Oh, I wouldn't do this unless you understand the rammifications. You don't really want to use ACCEPT_KEYWORDS in your /etc/profile, because then every time you emerge something it will emerge the unstable version. (Not only that, ACCEPT_KEYWORDS belongs in /etc/make.conf)
Secondly, regarding index.html.en, this is the english version of index.html and apache will find the correct document using mod_mime (iirc). There is no need to rename this file. _________________ http://get.a.clue.de |
|
Back to top |
|
|
remix l33t
Joined: 28 Apr 2004 Posts: 797 Location: hawaii
|
Posted: Wed May 12, 2004 9:38 am Post subject: |
|
|
apache2 comes with mod_php?
i tried emerge mod_php and i get the same error as when i do emerge php
i'm just trying to follow some other postings about how to install apache and php, actually, i really just want apache to work .... lets see
i logged into my router and forwarded port 80 to 192.168.2.55 (the address of the computer thats going to be the server) do i do port forwarding 80 && private port 80 ? or just the port forwarding?
when i start apache, shouldn't i be able to type 66.91.82.115 (the ip address of the whole network) into the address bar of any browser (not from my computer of course cause its within the network, but from someone not behind my router) and reach the default index files on the server running apache ?
when i do lynx localhost, it still still is unable to find http://localhost
why is this and how do i fix it? |
|
Back to top |
|
|
remix l33t
Joined: 28 Apr 2004 Posts: 797 Location: hawaii
|
Posted: Wed May 12, 2004 11:20 am Post subject: |
|
|
ok i got something to work, i don't know how, but i added the A name to my domain that points to the ip address ( can it be ip.ip.ip.ip or does it have to be http://ip.ip.ip.ip ?) and my apache seems to finally work somehow, when i lynx localhost, i actually can see the default page that apache set up. now, my domain is , www.inkfluts.com , i don't think its working right. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Jaxom Tux's lil' helper
Joined: 31 Jan 2003 Posts: 137
|
Posted: Wed May 12, 2004 5:24 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Sounds like the problem you are having is not understanding how your equipment works or basic networking. Not so much not understanding Apache.
Routers need to know what public port to listen on, and what private port to forward the traffic going to the public port should be sent to. Otherwise it does nothing. Until that is setup correctly, absolutely nothing will get in from the outside. All this is covered in your users manual for the particular router you are using. I can't help you much more than that.
If you installed apache and didn't touch a thing, it WILL work when you launch it with.....
Code: | /etc/init.d/apache2 start |
That will launch it immediately, but to launch it from startup you need to ....
Code: | rc-update add apache2 default |
If you don't do the second command, any time you restart your server it won't start apache, you'll have to go in and do it yourself with the first line. Much of the apache basics are covered in the Gentoo desktop HOWTO. _________________ Undisputed Heavyweight Champion. If it's undisputed, WHAT'S ALL THE FIGHTING ABOUT?!?! -- George Carlin |
|
Back to top |
|
|
splooge l33t
Joined: 30 Aug 2002 Posts: 636
|
Posted: Wed May 12, 2004 8:08 pm Post subject: |
|
|
remix wrote: | ok i got something to work, i don't know how, but i added the A name to my domain that points to the ip address ( can it be ip.ip.ip.ip or does it have to be http://ip.ip.ip.ip ?) and my apache seems to finally work somehow, when i lynx localhost, i actually can see the default page that apache set up. now, my domain is , www.inkfluts.com , i don't think its working right. |
That DNS setting you changed has no affect on lynx being able to connect to apache running on localhost, btw. You probably didn't have apache started
Also I cannot ping www.inkfluts.com (66.91.82.115). _________________ http://get.a.clue.de |
|
Back to top |
|
|
|