DEVFS Error
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo
View previous topic :: View next topic  
captiansteveo
n00b
n00b

PostPosted: Mon May 17, 2004 5:19 am    Post subject: DEVFS Error Reply with quote

I am a gentoo noob. I finally was sucessful in a stage 2 install and despite a few errors, my computer will boot.

THe first error i get tells me that devfs was not compiled into the kernel. It then tells me that it is required then procedes booting when i press enter. I have no idea how to get this error to go away, help.

My second problem reads:

*Checking All Filesystems...
fsck.ext2: No such file or directory while trying to open /dev/BOOT
/dev/BOOT
THe super block could not be read or does not describe a correct ext2 filesystem. If the device is valid and it really contains an ext2 filesystem (and not swap or ufs or something else), then the superblock is corrupt, and you might try running e2fsck with an alternate superblock:
e2fsck -b 8193 <device>

*Fsck could not correct all errors, manual repair needed [!!]

Give root password for maintenance
(or type Control-D for normal startup):

I then press control-d and it finishes booting. Are these related? How do i fix this?

My third problem:
I have no eth0 detected once i am logged in. I determined this by running ifconfig. Because of this, emerge wont work. everything was fine durring the install though i did have to use the "smp" install option to get the network to be seen.

As for some system specs:
Celeron 400
Intel 810 with integrated nic and sound
13 gig dma-66
16x dvd-rom
2.6.5 kernel (gentoo-dev-sources)

THnaks for the help.
lagrima
Apprentice
Apprentice

PostPosted: Mon May 17, 2004 5:44 am    Post subject: Reply with quote