View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours
View posts from last 7 days

Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments
View previous topic :: View next topic  
s0da
n00b
n00b

PostPosted: Mon May 17, 2004 11:55 am    Post subject: Linux Drivers for Canon Printers [from Canon Japan] Reply with quote

Hello,

I am using a Canon S600 printer for already two years, but don't use it on my linux box because there's no high quality linux driver for it. Until recently while browsing the web I came accross a forum wherein there's someone using the drivers from Canon Japan. But, unfortunately that user did not post a detailed steps in installing the drivers. I've tried translating the howto from Canon using Babel Fish from altavista but still i can't understand the guide. I'm a complete noob in linux so i ran out of ideas and gave up installing the Printer in my linux box.

AFAIK, the drivers from Canon Japan includes "Status Monitor," "Maintenance Tools, (ie., Cleaning, Nozzle Check, Head Alignment)," and other controls similar to its Windows Driver. Drivers from linuxprinting.org lacks some features so I'm not using it.

Anyone with an idea on how to install the printer using the drivers from Canon Japan? Please post them here. (it may serve as a guide to other user with a Canon printer). Thanks in advance.

I hope there will be an ebuild for Canon Linux Drivers.

===========================
link >>> (in english for your convenience) ^_^
http://babelfish.altavista.com/babelfish/trurl_pagecontent?lp=ja_en&url=http%3a%2f%2fcweb.canon.jp%2fdrv-upd%2fbj%2fother.html#english
===========================

*sorry if my english is not good, i am not a native english speaker. also, I am very new to linux so forgive me if some of my terms aren't right. Good Day.
Lore
Apprentice
Apprentice

PostPosted: Mon May 17, 2004 12:49 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote