View previous topic :: View next topic |
Author |
Message |
nukem996 l33t
Joined: 13 Nov 2003 Posts: 776
|
Posted: Tue May 18, 2004 4:07 am Post subject: GLX Problem |
|
|
I am current writing my own graphics engine. It works fine on my desktop(nvidia fx 5900 ultra - offical nvidia driver) but on my laptop(ATI Radeon 7500 Mobile DRI driver), both running gentoo 2.6.6 ~x86 I get the following run-time error, it compiles fine on both computers with no errors or warnings.
Couldnt setup window: Couldn't find matching GLX visual
Quake III ET and all other games work fine on my laptop. Infact the same code ran fine on my laptop untill I switched from fedora core 1 to gentoo. I redid my XF86Config file so I have a feeling its some were in there.
Code: |
Section "ServerLayout"
Identifier "XFree86 Configured"
Screen 0 "Screen0" 0 0
InputDevice "Keyboard0" "CoreKeyboard"
InputDevice "PS/2 Mouse" "CorePointer"
# Serial Mouse not detected
# USB Mouse not detected
EndSection
Section "ServerFlags"
Option "AllowMouseOpenFail" "false"
EndSection
Section "Files"
RgbPath "/usr/X11R6/lib/X11/rgb"
ModulePath "/usr/X11R6/lib/modules"
FontPath "/usr/X11R6/lib/X11/fonts/misc:unscaled"
FontPath "/usr/X11R6/lib/X11/fonts/misc"
FontPath "/usr/X11R6/lib/X11/fonts/75dpi:unscaled"
FontPath "/usr/X11R6/lib/X11/fonts/75dpi"
FontPath "/usr/X11R6/lib/X11/fonts/100dpi:unscaled"
FontPath "/usr/X11R6/lib/X11/fonts/100dpi"
FontPath "/usr/X11R6/lib/X11/fonts/Speedo"
FontPath "/usr/X11R6/lib/X11/fonts/PEX"
# Additional fonts: Locale, Gimp, TTF...
FontPath "/usr/X11R6/lib/X11/fonts/cyrillic"
FontPath "/usr/X11R6/lib/X11/fonts/latin2/75dpi"
FontPath "/usr/X11R6/lib/X11/fonts/latin2/100dpi"
# True type and type1 fonts are also handled via xftlib, see /etc/X11/XftConfig!
FontPath "/usr/X11R6/lib/X11/fonts/Type1"
FontPath "/usr/share/fonts/ttf/western"
FontPath "/usr/share/fonts/ttf/decoratives"
FontPath "/usr/share/fonts/truetype/openoffice"
FontPath "/usr/share/fonts/truetype/ttf-bitstream-vera"
FontPath "/usr/X11R6/lib/X11/fonts/defoma/CID"
FontPath "/usr/X11R6/lib/X11/fonts/defoma/TrueType"
EndSection
#Section "Module"
# Load "ddc" # ddc probing of monitor
# Load "GLcore"
# Load "dbe"
# Load "dri"
# Load "extmod"
# Load "glx"
# Load "bitmap" # bitmap-fonts
# Load "speedo"
# Load "type1"
# Load "freetype"
# Load "record"
#EndSection
Section "Module"
# This loads the DBE extension module.
Load "dbe" # double buffer extention
# This loads the miscellaneous extensions modules, and disables
# initialisation of the XFree86-DGA extension within that modules
SubSection "extmod"
Option "omit xfree86-dga" # don't initialise the DGA extention
EndSubSection
# This loads the Type1 and FreeType font modules
Load "type1"
Load "speedo"
Load "freetype"
Load "xtt"
# This loads the DRI module
Load "dri"
# This loads the GLX modules
Load "glx"
EndSection
Section "InputDevice"
Identifier "Keyboard0"
Driver "keyboard"
Option "CoreKeyboard"
Option "XkbRules" "xfree86"
Option "XkbModel" "pc104"
Option "XkbLayout" "us"
EndSection
Section "InputDevice"
Identifier "Serial Mouse"
Driver "mouse"
Option "Protocol" "Microsoft"
Option "Device" "/dev/ttyS0"
Option "Emulate3Buttons" "true"
Option "Emulate3Timeout" "70"
Option "SendCoreEvents" "true"
EndSection
Section "InputDevice"
Identifier "PS/2 Mouse"
Driver "mouse"
Option "Protocol" "auto"
Option "ZAxisMapping" "4 5"
Option "Device" "/dev/psaux"
Option "Emulate3Buttons" "true"
Option "Emulate3Timeout" "70"
Option "SendCoreEvents" "true"
EndSection
Section "InputDevice"
Identifier "USB Mouse"
Driver "mouse"
Option "Device" "/dev/input/mice"
Option "SendCoreEvents" "true"
Option "Protocol" "IMPS/2"
Option "ZAxisMapping" "4 5"
Option "Buttons" "5"
EndSection
# Auto-generated by KNOPPIX mkxf86config
Section "Monitor"
Identifier "Monitor0"
Option "DPMS" "true"
# HorizSync 28.0 - 78.0 # Warning: This may fry very old Monitors
HorizSync 28.0 - 96.0 # Warning: This may fry old Monitors
VertRefresh 50.0 - 76.0 # Very conservative. May flicker.
# These are some Modelines that happen to work on many systems
# Especially the "1024x768" has been thoroughly tested, even on Laptops
Modeline "640x480" 25.175 640 664 760 800 480 491 493 525 #60Hz
Modeline "800x600" 40.12 800 848 968 1056 600 601 605 628 #60Hz
Modeline "1024x768" 85 1024 1056 1152 1360 768 784 787 823
Modeline "1152x864" 92 1152 1208 1368 1474 864 865 875 895
Modeline "1152x864" 110 1152 1240 1324 1552 864 864 876 908
Modeline "1152x864" 135 1152 1464 1592 1776 864 864 876 908
Modeline "1152x864" 137.65 1152 1184 1312 1536 864 866 885 902 -HSync -VSync
Modeline "1280x1024" 80 1280 1296 1512 1568 1024 1025 1037 1165 Interlace
Modeline "1280x1024" 110 1280 1328 1512 1712 1024 1025 1028 1054
Modeline "1280x1024" 126.5 1280 1312 1472 1696 1024 1032 1040 1068 -HSync -VSync
Modeline "1280x1024" 135 1280 1312 1456 1712 1024 1027 1030 1064
Modeline "1280x1024" 135 1280 1312 1416 1664 1024 1027 1030 1064
Modeline "1280x1024" 157.5 1280 1344 1504 1728 1024 1025 1028 1072 +HSync +VSync
Modeline "1280x1024" 181.75 1280 1312 1440 1696 1024 1031 1046 1072 -HSync -VSync
Modeline "1600x1200" 162 1600 1664 1856 2160 1200 1201 1204 1250 +HSync +VSync
Modeline "1600x1200" 189 1600 1664 1856 2160 1200 1201 1204 1250 -HSync -VSync
Modeline "1600x1200" 202.5 1600 1664 1856 2160 1200 1201 1204 1250 +HSync +VSync
Modeline "1600x1200" 220 1600 1616 1808 2080 1200 1204 1207 1244 +HSync +VSync
ModeLine "1800x1440" 230 1800 1896 2088 2392 1440 1441 1444 1490 +HSync +VSync
ModeLine "1800x1440" 250 1800 1896 2088 2392 1440 1441 1444 1490 +HSync +VSync
EndSection
Section "Device"
### Available Driver options are:-
# sw_cursor is needed for some ati and radeon cards
Option "sw_cursor"
#Option "hw_cursor"
#Option "NoAccel"
#Option "ShowCache"
#Option "ShadowFB"
#Option "UseFBDev"
#Option "Rotate"
Option "EnablePageFlip" "True"
Option "AGPMode" "4"
Identifier "Card0"
# The following line is auto-generated by KNOPPIX mkxf86config
Driver "radeon"
VendorName "All"
BoardName "All"
BusID "PCI:1:0:0"
# prevents X from loading...
EndSection
Section "Screen"
Identifier "Screen0"
Device "Card0"
Monitor "Monitor0"
DefaultColorDepth 16
SubSection "Display"
Depth 1
Modes "1024x768" "800x600" "640x480"
EndSubSection
SubSection "Display"
Depth 4
Modes "1024x768" "800x600" "640x480"
EndSubSection
SubSection "Display"
Depth 8
Modes "1024x768" "800x600" "640x480"
EndSubSection
SubSection "Display"
Depth 15
Modes "1024x768" "800x600" "640x480"
EndSubSection
SubSection "Display"
Depth 16
Modes "1024x768" "800x600" "640x480"
EndSubSection
SubSection "Display"
Depth 24
Modes "1024x768" "800x600" "640x480"
EndSubSection
SubSection "Display"
Depth 32
Modes "1024x768" "800x600" "640x480"
EndSubSection
EndSection
Section "DRI"
Mode 0666
EndSection
|
Could someone please tell me whats wrong?
Thanks
nuke |
|
Back to top |
|
|
(l)user Guru
Joined: 31 Jan 2004 Posts: 334 Location: Poland
|
Posted: Tue May 18, 2004 11:26 am Post subject: |
|
|
Did you read nvidia README? I'm sure you didn't. Unhash this line in your config:
_________________ Registered Linux user #302020
Gadu Gadu #490092 |
|
Back to top |
|
|
charlieg Advocate
Joined: 30 Jul 2002 Posts: 2149 Location: Manchester UK
|
Posted: Tue May 18, 2004 11:26 am Post subject: |
|
|
I get the same error when trying to run scourge-0.4 (ebuild available from bugzilla). _________________ Want Free games?
Free Gamer - open source games list & commentary
Open source web-enabled rich UI platform: Vexi |
|
Back to top |
|
|
nukem996 l33t
Joined: 13 Nov 2003 Posts: 776
|
Posted: Tue May 18, 2004 8:09 pm Post subject: |
|
|
(l)user: The problem is not with my desktop that has the nvidia card it works great on my desktop all gfx stuff does. The problem is with my laptop, the one with the ATI Radeon 7500 card. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
charlieg Advocate
Joined: 30 Jul 2002 Posts: 2149 Location: Manchester UK
|
Posted: Tue May 18, 2004 8:28 pm Post subject: |
|
|
(l)user wrote: | Did you read nvidia README? I'm sure you didn't. Unhash this line in your config:
|
Had that unhashed for years. _________________ Want Free games?
Free Gamer - open source games list & commentary
Open source web-enabled rich UI platform: Vexi |
|
Back to top |
|
|
nukem996 l33t
Joined: 13 Nov 2003 Posts: 776
|
Posted: Tue May 18, 2004 10:25 pm Post subject: |
|
|
I just took a second look it is unhashed. I have two module loading places in my config file one old one new. The old one it is hashed because I dont use that module loading func anymore the new one has it. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
nukem996 l33t
Joined: 13 Nov 2003 Posts: 776
|
Posted: Sun May 23, 2004 10:25 pm Post subject: |
|
|
I figured out while switching from XFree to x.org what the problem is. While going through my xorg.conf file I realized that the depth was set to 16 so I set it to 24(32 was to high, at least for me) and that fixed the problem. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
|