Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
booting with grub to a non-hardware raid highpoint 370 ctlr
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
primus
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 07 Jun 2003
Posts: 230

PostPosted: Tue May 18, 2004 11:53 pm    Post subject: booting with grub to a non-hardware raid highpoint 370 ctlr Reply with quote

hey all,

what i wanted to do should have been straightforward. i have been stuck on the 2.4 kernel since i used to do "hardware raid" on my onboard highpoint controller. i wanted to use the 2.6 kernel, so i decided to dump the system and start anew.

i decided i would use software raid, and since i had three hard drives and two optical drives, i would need to utilize the highpoint controller as a regular IDE interface. this was the plan: to boot from the primary on the highpoint controller (IDE3) and have only select partitions in a software raid configuration with the secondary (IDE4). thus leaving my xp drive on the slave of IDE1 and the opticals would fall into the primary of IDE1 and IDE2.

the following is my disklayout:
Code:

/dev/hda        - Pioneer DVD Drive [IDE1]
/dev/hdb        - 80GB Maxtor (Windows XP) [IDE1]
/dev/hdc        - Plextor Plexwriter [IDE2]
/dev/hde        - 80GB Western Digital (1) *[IDE3]
/dev/hdg        - 80GB Western Digital (2) *[IDE4]

* are on the onboard highpoint controller NOT in a hardware raid


so i wanted the two western digital drives as my linux drives, and i wanted to use the following parition layout for each drive.
Code:

[hde]

swap            /dev/hde1       [82]    [512 MB]        swap
/boot           /dev/hde2       [83]    [64 MB]         ext3
/               /dev/hde3       [fd]    [3072 MB]       reiserfs
[ext part]      /dev/hde4
/home           /dev/hde5       [fd]    [51200 MB]      reiserfs
/var            /dev/hde6       [fd]    [6144 MB]       reiserfs
/opt            /dev/hde7       [fd]    [8192 MB]       reiserfs
/tmp            /dev/hde8       [fd]    [2048 MB]       reiserfs
/usr            /dev/hde9       [fd]    [10240 MB]      reiserfs


Code:

swap            /dev/hdg1       [82]    [512 MB]        swap
/boot           /dev/hdg2       [83]    [64 MB]         ext3
/               /dev/hdg3       [fd]    [3072 MB]       reiserfs
[ext part]      /dev/hdg4
/home           /dev/hdg5       [fd]    [51200 MB]      reiserfs
/var            /dev/hdg6       [fd]    [6144 MB]       reiserfs
/opt            /dev/hdg7       [fd]    [8192 MB]       reiserfs
/tmp            /dev/hdg8       [fd]    [2048 MB]       reiserfs
/usr            /dev/hdg9       [fd]    [10240 MB]      reiserfs


please note that the /boot on hde and hdg are NOT in software raid. neither are the swap paritions.

i wanted to use hde2 as the /boot and keep hdg2 as a manual backup of /boot. and i wanted hde1 and hde2 to both be swap space.

so the installation actually went according to plan, and i installed grub and typed the following commands:

Code:

>grub
>root (hd1,1)
>setup (h1)
>exit


*note that (hd1,1) should be /dev/hde2

that process when without trouble, and then i finished up the install and attempted to reboot. this is when i ran into a problem.

i did not get the grub boot-splash and i got an Error 15, file not found.

the following is my grub configuration:
Code:

default 0
timeout 30
splashimage=(hd1,1)/grub/splash.xpm.gz

title=gentoo linux [2.6.5-r1]
root (hd1,1)
kernel /kernel-2.6.5-r1-gentoo-dev root=/dev/md0 md=0,/dev/hde3,/dev/hdg3

title=windows xp
rootnoverify (hd0,0)
chainloader +1


neither will boot (gentoo or xp) and i also tried the kernel line as
Code:
kernel /boot/kernel-2.6.5-r1-gentoo-dev root=/dev/md0

with the splashimage=
Code:
splashimage=(hd1,1)/boot/grub/splash.xpm.gz


i am at a loss, it seems like i shouldnt have to deal with raid since it is just a regular parition for /boot. any help would be appreciated. thanks.
_________________

$japh=qq/62D112U107N106E28D89U104N109E89 D86U96N102E14D77U87N106E96D12U68N95E98 D102U101N101E/;
map { $i++ while chop; push (@dune,$i); undef $i; } split /[eE]/;
map { print chr ${\(shift(@dune) + $_)}; } split /[DUNE]/,$japh;
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
-=GGW=- $ol!d $n4>|e
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 12 Apr 2004
Posts: 1616
Location: USA

PostPosted: Wed May 19, 2004 12:58 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

correct me if im wrong but shouldnt hde1 be (4,0) ??
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
primus
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 07 Jun 2003
Posts: 230

PostPosted: Wed May 19, 2004 1:32 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

hey, thanks for the reply, but i believe that grub does not detect anything else except hard drives, so hde1 would be (1,0) and, since hdb1 is (0,0)... optical drives i dont think are taken into account.

i think it is right, unless i am misinterpreting your reply.

--EDIT--

does it matter that i installed grub to the hde2 partition? is that too far for grub? does it need to be closer to the first cylinder? ...i am a little confused on this.

also, i think i set hde2 and hdg2 with the bootable flag in fdisk... could that be causing trouble?
_________________

$japh=qq/62D112U107N106E28D89U104N109E89 D86U96N102E14D77U87N106E96D12U68N95E98 D102U101N101E/;
map { $i++ while chop; push (@dune,$i); undef $i; } split /[eE]/;
map { print chr ${\(shift(@dune) + $_)}; } split /[DUNE]/,$japh;
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
primus
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 07 Jun 2003
Posts: 230

PostPosted: Wed May 19, 2004 3:37 am    Post subject: good news! Reply with quote

okay, i got linux to boot, i realized that in my bios, i had the ATARAID133 first, so in my grub.conf i had to use (hd0,1) instead of (hd1,1)...

on a side note, i am still attempting to get windows to boot, it is listed as the second hard drive in the bios and i tried

map (hd0) (hd1)
map (hd1) (hd0)
makeactive
chainloader (h1,0)+1

but that gave me an error 13... still working on it though, heh i am just happy gentoo is booting!

-- EDIT--

nevermind, got that to go... just tried to map (hd0) (hd2).. etc, and it worked like a charm. whoohoo!
_________________

$japh=qq/62D112U107N106E28D89U104N109E89 D86U96N102E14D77U87N106E96D12U68N95E98 D102U101N101E/;
map { $i++ while chop; push (@dune,$i); undef $i; } split /[eE]/;
map { print chr ${\(shift(@dune) + $_)}; } split /[DUNE]/,$japh;
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
thechris
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 12 Oct 2003
Posts: 1203

PostPosted: Wed May 19, 2004 4:26 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

does it work well? on my similar setup i used:
hda - 120GB
hdc - cdrw
hdd -dvd
hde - 80GB
hdg - 120GB

with hda and hdg used. this gives each HDD a controller with an IRQ. the hpt372 doesn't see optical drives...

the 80G will hold a backup linux install that can access a raid1 partition on the drives (if this is possible) as well as a windows lan-gaming install. this way if i have equipment failure, i am still safe!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
o0the_llama0o
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 10 May 2004
Posts: 89
Location: santa cruz

PostPosted: Thu May 20, 2004 1:50 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

grub only reads harddrives?
im really confused

my setup
Code:

hda 40GB Primary IDE MASTER
   hda1 /boot (BOOTABLE)
   hda2 swap
   hda3 /
   hda5 /home
   hda6 /usr
hdb combodrive (cdrw+dvdrom) Secondary IDE MASTER
hde 120GB(raid 0 array disk 1) Primary HPT372N IDE RAID MASTER (BOOTABLE-has WindowsXP)
   hde1 C:\ 240GB
hdf  120GB (raid 0 array disk 2) Secondary HPT372N IDE RAID MASTER (HIDDEN<--does not appear in fdisk)


grub
Code:

title=windows xp professional
root (hd4,0)
kernel C:\WINDOWS\System32\krnl386.exe root=C:\


grub says (hd4,0) does not exist

any help appreciated
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
cyrillic
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 19 Feb 2003
Posts: 7313
Location: Groton, Massachusetts USA

PostPosted: Thu May 20, 2004 2:25 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

o0the_llama0o wrote:
grub
Code:

title=windows xp professional
root (hd4,0)
kernel C:\WINDOWS\System32\krnl386.exe root=C:\

GRUB cannot boot a Windows kernel directly. Try this instead.
Code:
title=windows xp professional
map (hd0) (hd1)
map (hd1) (hd0)
chainloader (hd1,0)+1
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
o0the_llama0o
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 10 May 2004
Posts: 89
Location: santa cruz

PostPosted: Thu May 20, 2004 11:03 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

it worked thankyouverymuchiamquitehappy

...now to mount hpfs/ntfs in gentoo...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
nixnut
Bodhisattva
Bodhisattva


Joined: 09 Apr 2004
Posts: 10974
Location: the dutch mountains

PostPosted: Fri May 21, 2004 12:17 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

o0the_llama0o wrote:
...now to mount hpfs/ntfs in gentoo...

Configure your kernel to include ntfs support (under filesystems) and compile your kernel. Then you can mount a ntfs partition with "mount -t nfts /dev/hda1 /mnt/windows".
_________________
Please add [solved] to the initial post's subject line if you feel your problem is resolved. Help answer the unanswered

talk is cheap. supply exceeds demand
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
o0the_llama0o
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 10 May 2004
Posts: 89
Location: santa cruz

PostPosted: Fri May 21, 2004 9:42 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

i did

i think its a HPT 372N problem i just dled the src from their site will compile thiis weekend
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum