View previous topic :: View next topic |
Author |
Message |
t3rm1nal Apprentice
Joined: 17 May 2004 Posts: 173 Location: US
|
Posted: Thu May 20, 2004 7:12 pm Post subject: AC97 Audio Detection: Loading the wrong module HELP! |
|
|
throws errors on boot. checked the logs....
missing kernel or user mode driver i810_audio
looks like its trying to load AC97 for Intel 810 module -
im running AMD...
can someone tell me how to load the right module and get rid of the wrong one? Thanks! _________________
Adopt an unanswered post.
|
|
Back to top |
|
|
Passe-Poil Tux's lil' helper
Joined: 18 Feb 2004 Posts: 139 Location: Québec, QC, Canada
|
Posted: Thu May 20, 2004 7:59 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Did you compile the module directly from the kernel (say in menuconfig) or did you emerge alsa-driver? You can't have both at the same time.. choose the one that works.
If you emerge alsa-driver, you can specify which module to compile with :
ALSA_CARDS="emu10k1" emerge alsa-driver
check the alsa configuration guide for further details... _________________ Violence is the last refuge of the incompetent. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
evol262 n00b
Joined: 10 May 2004 Posts: 25
|
Posted: Fri May 21, 2004 11:14 am Post subject: |
|
|
Motherboard?
Try posting the output of lspci.
In any case, I'd wager on a CMedia or VIA driver being what you need. Try searching http://www.alsa-project.org/alsa-doc/ for your soundcard (use the lspci output to figure out whether or not it's VIA or CMedia). |
|
Back to top |
|
|
t3rm1nal Apprentice
Joined: 17 May 2004 Posts: 173 Location: US
|
Posted: Sat May 22, 2004 10:48 pm Post subject: |
|
|
here is the sound chipset:
Realtek ALC650 6-Channel AC'97 CODEC
how do i remove a module? do i do emerge unmerge?> _________________
Adopt an unanswered post.
|
|
Back to top |
|
|
t3rm1nal Apprentice
Joined: 17 May 2004 Posts: 173 Location: US
|
Posted: Sun May 23, 2004 12:30 am Post subject: |
|
|
i tried emerge-nforce audio:
gave me this error:
* could not determine your kernel version
* make sure that you have /usr/src/linux symlink
* And that said kernel has been configured
* you can also simply run the following command
* in the kernel referenced by /usr/src
* make include/linux/version.h
!!! Error: media-sound/nforce-audio-1.0.0261 failed.
!!! Function check_KV, Line 256, Exitcode 0
!!! (no error message)
so i run the make command and it says:
no rule to make targe include/linux/version.h. Stop. _________________
Adopt an unanswered post.
|
|
Back to top |
|
|
evol262 n00b
Joined: 10 May 2004 Posts: 25
|
Posted: Mon May 24, 2004 6:29 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Looks like you want to use via82xx as your ALSA driver. Follow the ALSA howto, and when it asks you to modprobe (insert your driver here), type snd-via82xx |
|
Back to top |
|
|
t3rm1nal Apprentice
Joined: 17 May 2004 Posts: 173 Location: US
|
Posted: Mon May 24, 2004 8:18 pm Post subject: |
|
|
I think this is linked with another problem I'm having here: so Im going to try re-emerging the kernel
Code: | /usr/src/linux missing help!
Gentoo Forums Forum Index -> Kernel & Hardware
View previous topic :: View next topic
Author Message
t3rm1nal
n00b
Joined: 16 May 2004
Posts: 20
Posted: Sun May 23, 2004 9:44 pm Post subject: /usr/src/linux missing help!
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
/usr/src/linux is GONE!
is there a way to regenerate it?
_________________
_t3rm1nal
Back to top
Plastic
Apprentice
Joined: 23 Mar 2004
Posts: 270
Posted: Sun May 23, 2004 9:49 pm Post subject:
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Just make a symlink
Code:
ln -s /usr/src/my-kernel-source-directory /usr/src/linux
Replacing my-kernel-source-directory with the actual directory.
Back to top
t3rm1nal
n00b
Joined: 16 May 2004
Posts: 20
Posted: Sun May 23, 2004 9:52 pm Post subject:
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
/usr/src/my-kernel source --- doesn't exist...nothing but .keep in the directory
_________________
_t3rm1nal
Back to top
Plastic
Apprentice
Joined: 23 Mar 2004
Posts: 270
Posted: Sun May 23, 2004 9:57 pm Post subject:
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
No no no, you need to replace the my-kernel-source part with the *actual* directory. Do an Code:
ls /usr/src/
to find out which kernels you have installed.
Back to top
t3rm1nal
n00b
Joined: 16 May 2004
Posts: 20
Posted: Sun May 23, 2004 9:58 pm Post subject:
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
right......nothings in there but .keep thats why i was wondering if there was a way to regen it
_________________
_t3rm1nal
Back to top
deadaim
Guru
Joined: 26 Oct 2003
Posts: 320
Location: Florida
Posted: Sun May 23, 2004 10:19 pm Post subject:
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
This may sound like a silly question: but have you emerged your kernel?
If you think you have, please make sure. If all else fails, try re-emerging it. You may have to reconfigure the kernel though.
Back to top
t3rm1nal
n00b
Joined: 16 May 2004
Posts: 20
Posted: Sun May 23, 2004 10:23 pm Post subject:
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
yes ive compiled and emerged it - my machine is up and running. i was doing a recursive rm command and wiped it by accident do you think i should re emerge it?
_________________
_t3rm1nal
Back to top
Plastic
Apprentice
Joined: 23 Mar 2004
Posts: 270
Posted: Sun May 23, 2004 10:26 pm Post subject:
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Yes, you should definetly remerge it (make sure it is the exact same kernel as the one you are using!). Then you can make the symlink. Sorry I misunderstood your question
Back to top
Rainmaker
Guru
Joined: 11 Feb 2004
Posts: 514
Location: /home/NL/ehv/ pwd==/AU/sydney/
Posted: Sun May 23, 2004 10:57 pm Post subject:
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
why should you have to re-emerge the same kernel?? Your system boots using a compressed, compiled image ("bzImage"), and does not use your kernel sources any more.
If you don't install programs that use them (I know, there are quite a few), you don't have to re-emerge anything. It might be a good idea to do that anyway, but it's not absolutely nessecery.
_________________
There are 10 kind of people: those who can read binary and those who can't.
Back to top
HydroSan
Guru
Joined: 04 Mar 2004
Posts: 340
Location: Random Unreal Tournament 2004 Server
Posted: Sun May 23, 2004 11:58 pm Post subject:
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Try doing an:
ACCEPT_KEYWORDS="~x86" emerge gentoo-dev-sources
It should emerge the latest 2.6.6 sources from Gentoo and create a /usr/src/linux link. If it doesn't, just do a:
ln -sf /usr/src/(insert directory for kernel sources) /usr/src/linux
_________________
Current Favourite Song: L.E.D.-G - OUTER LIMITS
Current Favourite WM: GNOME 2.6.1
I respect the software called 'Windows'. I do not respect the company called 'Microsoft'. A company should have better values.
Back to top
t3rm1nal
n00b
Joined: 16 May 2004
Posts: 20
Posted: Mon May 24, 2004 8:51 am Post subject:
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
im trying to install alsa-drivers to get sound working...and its looking for something (can't remember exactly what) in that directory. so...i will try re-emerging it when I get home and ill let you know how it turned out. thank you for the suggestions
_________________
_t3rm1nal
|
_________________
Adopt an unanswered post.
|
|
Back to top |
|
|
evol262 n00b
Joined: 10 May 2004 Posts: 25
|
Posted: Tue May 25, 2004 12:52 am Post subject: |
|
|
Well, the driver should be in /var/lib/modules/(kernel version), so unless you wiped that, it ought to be there. Maybe it's /usr/lib/... . I don't recall. Anyway, if you're using a 2.6, and I'm not sure if you are, you don't need the kernel source for ALSA, though you'll want it for other things. 3d drivers, for one. Anyway, make sure you turn off OSS support, and compile via82xx into your kernel or as a module. Set snd-mixer-oss and snd-pcm-oss to come up at boot before snd-via82xx and you should be good. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
t3rm1nal Apprentice
Joined: 17 May 2004 Posts: 173 Location: US
|
Posted: Tue May 25, 2004 2:00 am Post subject: |
|
|
im curious how you know the VIA driver is for the ALC650 chipset...i looked at the alsa soundcard matrix and couldn't find it - kernel is re-emerged and the symlink is now fine....kernel version 2.4.25 _________________
Adopt an unanswered post.
|
|
Back to top |
|
|
t3rm1nal Apprentice
Joined: 17 May 2004 Posts: 173 Location: US
|
Posted: Tue May 25, 2004 2:26 am Post subject: |
|
|
added ALSA_CARDS="via82xx" to make.conf
did: emerge alsa-driver
and throws this error:
!!! ERROR: media-sound/alsa-driver-1.0.3 failed.
!!! Function src_compile, Line 88, Exitcode 2
!!! Parallel Make Failed
any ideas?? _________________
Adopt an unanswered post.
|
|
Back to top |
|
|
yuza Apprentice
Joined: 17 Dec 2003 Posts: 210 Location: Rome, in front of my comp...
|
Posted: Tue May 25, 2004 5:33 am Post subject: |
|
|
You should post more lines of your error. By the way regarding your missing module problem... beware that the new hotplug version complains if you have a wrong kernel module, even if you don't use it. I'll make an example...
I have a realtek network card, so I need the 8139too module. If i compile the 8139cp too what will happen is that pci hotplug will detect that I have a realtek network card and will attemp to automatically modprobe the rigth module for it. Now if the 8139too module is already loaded, you will get that missing module error regarding 8139cp, because it tries to modprobe 8139cp but fails. Mi advice is, when you get these missing modules error, after the pci hotplug service starts (you didn't say if this was your case though), check if you really need the module, if you don't just go to yuor kernel modules directory and delete it. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
t3rm1nal Apprentice
Joined: 17 May 2004 Posts: 173 Location: US
|
Posted: Tue May 25, 2004 7:53 pm Post subject: |
|
|
well. this is kind of bizarre, but i recompiled my kernel, and emerge is working again. so the emerge alsa-drivers worked. now its on to configuration.....which im shure ill have more questions
also ... can someone give me an explaination of using the VIA drivers for ALC650 (realtek) onboard sound chipset? _________________
Adopt an unanswered post.
|
|
Back to top |
|
|
evol262 n00b
Joined: 10 May 2004 Posts: 25
|
Posted: Tue May 25, 2004 8:24 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Gnome-mixer will do a lot of it for you. The only thing it can't set is the S/PDIF output. Check here for that http://alsa.opensrc.org/index.php?page=Realtek+ALC950. As for the rest... You needed the kernel source because you're on a 2.4 kernel. I don't think the 2.4 series kernels have ALSA support for that chipset. And Googling "Realtek ALC650 ALSA" brought up a lot of results real quick, and they all seemed to agree on the driver. Turns out my old motherboard seemingly used the same chipset. Who knew? |
|
Back to top |
|
|
|