View previous topic :: View next topic |
Author |
Message |
sourcez Apprentice
Joined: 05 Feb 2004 Posts: 166 Location: Italy
|
Posted: Wed May 26, 2004 1:41 pm Post subject: Problem probing cpu Minimum freq[solved] |
|
|
I have a laptop ACER Aspire 1350 with Athlon 2600+ XP.
In window$ my min cpu freq is 796,1 Mhz as output of CPU-Z (a cpuinfo utility) but on gentoo with gentoo-dev-sources-2.6.5-r1 or mm-sources-2.6.6-rc5 it's 1393 Mhz:
Code: | powernow: PowerNOW! Technology present. Can scale: frequency and voltage.
powernow: FSB: 132.688 MHz
powernow: Found PSB header at c00f06f0
powernow: Table version: 0x12
powernow: Flags: 0x0 (Mobile voltage regulator)
powernow: Settling Time: 100 microseconds.
powernow: Has 8 PST tables. (Only dumping ones relevant to this CPU).
powernow: PST:2 (@c00f072e)
powernow: cpuid: 0x7a0 fsb: 133 maxFID: 0x18 startvid: 0x7
powernow: FID: 0xf (10.5x [1393MHz]) VID: 0xe (1.300V)
powernow: FID: 0x0 (11.0x [1459MHz]) VID: 0xd (1.350V)
powernow: FID: 0x1 (11.5x [1525MHz]) VID: 0xc (1.400V)
powernow: FID: 0x2 (12.0x [1592MHz]) VID: 0xb (1.450V)
powernow: FID: 0x3 (12.5x [1658MHz]) VID: 0xa (1.500V)
powernow: FID: 0x14 (13.0x [1724MHz]) VID: 0x9 (1.550V)
powernow: FID: 0x15 (13.5x [1791MHz]) VID: 0x8 (1.600V)
powernow: FID: 0x18 (15.0x [1990MHz]) VID: 0x7 (1.650V)
powernow: SGTC: 13333
powernow: Minimum speed 1393 MHz. Maximum speed 1990 MHz.
|
So I can't slow down my cpu freq under 1393 Mhz with any cpu_scaling utility
It seems be a problem of powernow-k7 driver...
How Can I specify a different minimum cpu_freq? _________________ "Tutti pensano a cambiare lumanità ma nessuno pensa a cambiare se stesso."
Lev Tolstoj
Last edited by sourcez on Wed May 26, 2004 9:49 pm; edited 1 time in total |
|
Back to top |
|
|
brodo Guru
Joined: 15 Apr 2003 Posts: 319
|
Posted: Wed May 26, 2004 6:54 pm Post subject: |
|
|
You can't specify it... it's in the BIOS. However, you can try compiling with CONFIG_ACPI_PROCESSOR="y" and, in case you built powernow-k7 as a module, pass "powernow_acpi_force=1" or "acpi_force=1" [depending on your kernel, please use 2.6.6-rc5 for this....] as module parameters; or if you built powernow-k7 into your kernel, add "powernow_k7.powernow_acpi_force=1" or "powernow_k7.acpi_force=1" to the kernel command line.
It forces using the ACPI tables for determining frequency/voltage pairings; they're what other OSes use, so maybe you get your 800MHz back then. Please report whether this helps here and/or on cpufreq@www.linux.org.uk |
|
Back to top |
|
|
sourcez Apprentice
Joined: 05 Feb 2004 Posts: 166 Location: Italy
|
Posted: Wed May 26, 2004 9:29 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Great helpful!!!
I have compiled powernow built-in and I add "powernow_k7.powernow_acpi_force=1", "powernow_k7.acpi_force=1" don't work.
Now I get 796,1 Mhz as a minimum freq _________________ "Tutti pensano a cambiare lumanità ma nessuno pensa a cambiare se stesso."
Lev Tolstoj |
|
Back to top |
|
|
brodo Guru
Joined: 15 Apr 2003 Posts: 319
|
Posted: Wed May 26, 2004 9:33 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Can you post the relevant part of dmesg? Thanks. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
sourcez Apprentice
Joined: 05 Feb 2004 Posts: 166 Location: Italy
|
Posted: Wed May 26, 2004 9:58 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Now this is the dmesg output:
Code: | powernow: PowerNOW! Technology present. Can scale: frequency and voltage.
powernow: FSB: 132.739 MHz
powernow: PSB/PST known to be broken. Trying ACPI instead
powernow: acpi: P0: 2000 MHz 75000 mW 125 uS control 00d058f8 SGTC 13334
powernow: FID: 0x18 (15.0x [1991MHz]) VID: 0x7 (1.650V)
powernow: acpi: P1: 1800 MHz 60000 mW 125 uS control 00d05915 SGTC 13334
powernow: FID: 0x15 (13.5x [1791MHz]) VID: 0x8 (1.600V)
powernow: acpi: P2: 1400 MHz 32000 mW 125 uS control 00d059cf SGTC 13334
powernow: FID: 0xf (10.5x [1393MHz]) VID: 0xe (1.300V)
powernow: acpi: P3: 1064 MHz 30000 mW 125 uS control 00d059ca SGTC 13334
powernow: FID: 0xa (8.0x [1061MHz]) VID: 0xe (1.300V)
powernow: acpi: P4: 800 MHz 26000 mW 125 uS control 00d059c6 SGTC 13334
powernow: FID: 0x6 (6.0x [796MHz]) VID: 0xe (1.300V)
powernow: Minimum speed 796 MHz. Maximum speed 1991 MHz.
|
_________________ "Tutti pensano a cambiare lumanità ma nessuno pensa a cambiare se stesso."
Lev Tolstoj |
|
Back to top |
|
|
tbart Apprentice
Joined: 31 Oct 2004 Posts: 151
|
Posted: Sat Jan 08, 2005 11:14 am Post subject: |
|
|
same with Acer Aspire 1356LCi, Athlon-XPm 2800+
kernel 2.6.8-gentoo-r3
scaling with BIOS tables only works between 1400 and 2100 MHz.
forcing to ACPI gives the following:
Code: |
powernow: PowerNOW! Technology present. Can scale: frequency and voltage.
powernow: FSB: 132.718 MHz
powernow: PSB/PST known to be broken. Trying ACPI instead
powernow: acpi: P0: 2133 MHz 75000 mW 125 uS control 00d058fa SGTC 13334
powernow: FID: 0x1a (16.0x [2123MHz]) VID: 0x7 (1.650V)
powernow: acpi: P1: 1800 MHz 55000 mW 125 uS control 00d05935 SGTC 13334
powernow: FID: 0x15 (13.5x [1791MHz]) VID: 0x9 (1.550V)
powernow: acpi: P2: 1467 MHz 32000 mW 125 uS control 00d059c0 SGTC 13334
powernow: FID: 0x0 (11.0x [1459MHz]) VID: 0xe (1.300V)
powernow: acpi: P3: 1064 MHz 30000 mW 125 uS control 00d059ca SGTC 13334
powernow: FID: 0xa (8.0x [1061MHz]) VID: 0xe (1.300V)
powernow: acpi: P4: 800 MHz 26000 mW 125 uS control 00d059c6 SGTC 13334
powernow: FID: 0x6 (6.0x [796MHz]) VID: 0xe (1.300V)
powernow: Minimum speed 796 MHz. Maximum speed 2123 MHz.
|
tbart |
|
Back to top |
|
|
tbart Apprentice
Joined: 31 Oct 2004 Posts: 151
|
Posted: Wed Jan 26, 2005 9:45 am Post subject: |
|
|
interesting: now with kernel
2.6.10-gentoo-r6
i get this:
Code: |
powernow: PowerNOW! Technology present. Can scale: frequency and voltage.
powernow: PSB/PST known to be broken. Trying ACPI instead
powernow: Minimum speed 298 MHz. Maximum speed 796 MHz.
|
but scaling works between ~800 and ~2100 MHz as before.
(using cat /proc/cpuinfo)
powersave:
Code: |
AcerGentooBox root # cat /proc/cpuinfo
processor : 0
vendor_id : AuthenticAMD
cpu family : 6
model : 10
model name : Mobile AMD Athlon(tm) XP 2800+
stepping : 0
cpu MHz : 796.221
cache size : 512 KB
fdiv_bug : no
hlt_bug : no
f00f_bug : no
coma_bug : no
fpu : yes
fpu_exception : yes
cpuid level : 1
wp : yes
flags : fpu vme de pse tsc msr pae mce cx8 apic sep mtrr pge mca cmov pat pse36 mmx fxsr sse pni syscall mp mmxext 3dnowext 3dnow
bogomips : 1564.67
|
performance:
Code: |
AcerGentooBox root # cat /proc/cpuinfo
processor : 0
vendor_id : AuthenticAMD
cpu family : 6
model : 10
model name : Mobile AMD Athlon(tm) XP 2800+
stepping : 0
cpu MHz : 2123.256
cache size : 512 KB
fdiv_bug : no
hlt_bug : no
f00f_bug : no
coma_bug : no
fpu : yes
fpu_exception : yes
cpuid level : 1
wp : yes
flags : fpu vme de pse tsc msr pae mce cx8 apic sep mtrr pge mca cmov pat pse36 mmx fxsr sse pni syscall mp mmxext 3dnowext 3dnow
bogomips : 4172.45
|
...interesting...
but it works, never mind.
th |
|
Back to top |
|
|
brodo Guru
Joined: 15 Apr 2003 Posts: 319
|
Posted: Wed Jan 26, 2005 4:35 pm Post subject: |
|
|
tbart wrote: | interesting: now with kernel
2.6.10-gentoo-r6
i get this:
Code: |
powernow: PowerNOW! Technology present. Can scale: frequency and voltage.
powernow: PSB/PST known to be broken. Trying ACPI instead
powernow: Minimum speed 298 MHz. Maximum speed 796 MHz.
|
but scaling works between ~800 and ~2100 MHz as before.
|
This is the same bug as reported in http://bugme.osdl.org/show_bug.cgi?id=3600. We're working on it. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
|