Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
New Mythtv 0.15 !
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6  Next  
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Multimedia
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
beastmaster
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 24 May 2004
Posts: 230

PostPosted: Wed Jun 09, 2004 4:35 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

i can only get in with
mysql -u mythtv -p :?
and with supplied password "mythtv" .

So now I'm in the mysql console...

looking at the database:
Code:

mysql> show databases;
Empty set (0.00 sec)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
dirtboy
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 12 Dec 2002
Posts: 263
Location: Pascagoula, MS

PostPosted: Wed Jun 09, 2004 5:47 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Do the show databases while logged in whith the root SQL user. It might give you different data.
_________________
Your sig is better than my sig.
Homebrew everything!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
beastmaster
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 24 May 2004
Posts: 230

PostPosted: Wed Jun 09, 2004 8:12 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

just got back home,

ok i logged in the rool sql console, and got these data:

Code:

mysql> show databases;
+-------------+
| Database    |
+-------------+
| MYTHCONVERG |
| mysql       |
+-------------+
2 rows in set (0.00 sec)

looks good?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
dirtboy
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 12 Dec 2002
Posts: 263
Location: Pascagoula, MS

PostPosted: Wed Jun 09, 2004 9:09 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Its case sensitive. Run these commands in mysql while logged in as root, I tailored them for your install:

Code:
DROP DATABASE MYTHCONVERG;
CREATE DATABASE mythconverg;
GRANT ALL ON mythconverg.* TO mythtv@localhost IDENTIFIED BY "mythtv";

_________________
Your sig is better than my sig.
Homebrew everything!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
beastmaster
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 24 May 2004
Posts: 230

PostPosted: Wed Jun 09, 2004 11:50 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

ok done :oops:

now I have
Code:

mysql> show databases;
+-------------+
| Database    |
+-------------+
| mysql       |
| mythconverg |
+-------------+
2 rows in set (0.00 sec)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
dirtboy
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 12 Dec 2002
Posts: 263
Location: Pascagoula, MS

PostPosted: Thu Jun 10, 2004 3:28 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

You should be good to go. Run mythsetup, then mythfilldatabase, then launch the frontend.
_________________
Your sig is better than my sig.
Homebrew everything!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
beastmaster
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 24 May 2004
Posts: 230

PostPosted: Thu Jun 10, 2004 4:47 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thank you for helping out,
but still no go :? 8O

After typing "mythsetup", I get:
Code:

Unable to connect to database!
Driver error was [1/1044]:
QMYSQL3: Unable to connect
Database error was:
Access denied for user: 'mythtv@localhost' to database 'MYTHCONVERG'

:( about to give up...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
dirtboy
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 12 Dec 2002
Posts: 263
Location: Pascagoula, MS

PostPosted: Thu Jun 10, 2004 1:16 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Look in /etc/mythtv/mysql.txt. It probably makes reference to MYTHCONVEG instead of mythconverg.
_________________
Your sig is better than my sig.
Homebrew everything!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
beastmaster
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 24 May 2004
Posts: 230

PostPosted: Thu Jun 10, 2004 6:17 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thank you again.
Now I can start the mythsetup, frontend, but looks like I'm looping back to this old error: couldn not connect to master server" 8O

the console catches these message:
Code:

2004-06-10 13:10:27 mythfrontend version: 0.15.20040525-1 www.mythtv.org
2004-06-10 13:10:27 Enabled verbose msgs : important general
mythtv: could not connect to socket
mythtv: Connection refused
lirc_init failed for mythtv, see preceding messages
2004-06-10 13:10:28 Registering Internal as a media playback plugin.
2004-06-10 13:10:40 Connecting to backend server: 127.0.0.1:6543 (try 1 of 5)
Connection timed out.
You probably should modify the Master Server settings
in the setup program and set the proper IP address.
2004-06-10 13:10:41 Changing from None to None
2004-06-10 13:10:44 Connecting to backend server: 127.0.0.1:6543 (try 1 of 5)
Connection timed out.
You probably should modify the Master Server settings
in the setup program and set the proper IP address.


my master server ip is set to 127.0.0.1
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
dirtboy
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 12 Dec 2002
Posts: 263
Location: Pascagoula, MS

PostPosted: Thu Jun 10, 2004 8:54 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Run this and make sure mythbackend is listed and started:

Code:
rc-status

_________________
Your sig is better than my sig.
Homebrew everything!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
beastmaster
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 24 May 2004
Posts: 230

PostPosted: Thu Jun 10, 2004 11:07 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

yep, it's started.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
dirtboy
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 12 Dec 2002
Posts: 263
Location: Pascagoula, MS

PostPosted: Thu Jun 10, 2004 11:37 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Try emerging nmap and see if your port is open:

Code:
emerge nmap
nmap 127.0.0.1

_________________
Your sig is better than my sig.
Homebrew everything!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
dirtboy
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 12 Dec 2002
Posts: 263
Location: Pascagoula, MS

PostPosted: Thu Jun 10, 2004 11:43 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Also, go into the mythsetup program and tell me what all the settings on the first page of the General Section says.
_________________
Your sig is better than my sig.
Homebrew everything!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
chinesebob
n00b
n00b


Joined: 18 Oct 2003
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Fri Jun 11, 2004 12:47 am    Post subject: framebuffer problem with 0.15.1 Reply with quote

I just emerged mythtv 0.15.1 from 0.14 and now I get this


---------------------- DirectFB v0.9.18 ---------------------
(c) 2000-2002 convergence integrated media GmbH
(c) 2002 convergence GmbH
-----------------------------------------------------------

(*) Single Application Core. (with MMX support) (2003-07-28 02:33)
(*) DirectFB/misc/memcpy: using SSE optimized memcpy()
(!) DirectFB/core/fbdev: Couldn't open neither `/dev/fb0' nor `/dev/fb/0'!
--> No such file or directory
(!) DirectFB/Core: Could not initialize 'system' core!
--> File not found!
(!) DirectFB/Core: Error during initialization (File not found!)
videoout_directfb.cpp <319>:
(#) DirectFBError [DirectFBCreate( &(data->dfb) )]: File not found!


0.14 was working fine except for the guide data, I'm running from X-windows I dont
understand why it needs a /dev/fb0.
I dont have a /dev/fb0 but, I dont think I should need one.
My video card is nvidia with the nvidia driver.
The video out is through svga.

Thanks for any help
Aaron
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
beastmaster
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 24 May 2004
Posts: 230

PostPosted: Fri Jun 11, 2004 3:02 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

beast here,

running nmap 127.0.0.1
i got
Code:

3306/tcp open  mysql

and in the mythsetup's general section, the filled-in data from top to buttom:
127.0.0.1
6543
6544
127.0.0.1
6543

8O , okay should I change the port # to 3306 ? or ...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
bravid
n00b
n00b


Joined: 25 May 2004
Posts: 19
Location: Lancaser, PA

PostPosted: Fri Jun 11, 2004 3:08 am    Post subject: Re: framebuffer problem with 0.15.1 Reply with quote

chinesebob wrote:
I just emerged mythtv 0.15.1 from 0.14 and now I get this


---------------------- DirectFB v0.9.18 ---------------------
(c) 2000-2002 convergence integrated media GmbH
(c) 2002 convergence GmbH
-----------------------------------------------------------

(*) Single Application Core. (with MMX support) (2003-07-28 02:33)
(*) DirectFB/misc/memcpy: using SSE optimized memcpy()
(!) DirectFB/core/fbdev: Couldn't open neither `/dev/fb0' nor `/dev/fb/0'!
--> No such file or directory
(!) DirectFB/Core: Could not initialize 'system' core!
--> File not found!
(!) DirectFB/Core: Error during initialization (File not found!)
videoout_directfb.cpp <319>:
(#) DirectFBError [DirectFBCreate( &(data->dfb) )]: File not found!


0.14 was working fine except for the guide data, I'm running from X-windows I dont
understand why it needs a /dev/fb0.
I dont have a /dev/fb0 but, I dont think I should need one.
My video card is nvidia with the nvidia driver.
The video out is through svga.

Thanks for any help
Aaron


I got this same thing, emerge it with USE="-directfb" ACCEPT_KEYWORDS="~x86" emerge mythtv. For some reason if it's compiled with directfb it won't display on anything other than a framebuffer device and not X.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
dirtboy
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 12 Dec 2002
Posts: 263
Location: Pascagoula, MS

PostPosted: Fri Jun 11, 2004 3:19 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Beast: No, mythbackend is the only one that connects to the database, the frontend should connect to the backend. Weird that you don't have any open ports for the frontend to connect to. Have you restarted the backend in awhile? I would do that, then check the mythbackend log:

Code:
/etc/init.d/mythbackend restart


Code:
tail -n 40 /var/log/mythtv/mythbackend.log

_________________
Your sig is better than my sig.
Homebrew everything!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
beastmaster
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 24 May 2004
Posts: 230

PostPosted: Fri Jun 11, 2004 4:16 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

i'm getting these:

Code:

2004-06-08 20:46:26 mythbackend version: 0.15.20040525-1 www.mythtv.org
2004-06-08 20:46:26 Enabled verbose msgs : important general
/mnt/store//nfslockfile.lock: No such file or directory
Unable to open lockfile!
Be sure that '/mnt/store/' exists and that both
the directory and that file are writeble by this user.
Starting up as the master server.
Error getting inputs for the capturecard.  Perhaps you have
forgotten to bind video sources to your card's inputs?
 is defined, but isn't attached to a cardinput.
2004-06-08 21:10:42 mythbackend version: 0.15.20040525-1 www.mythtv.org
2004-06-08 21:10:42 Enabled verbose msgs : important general
/mnt/store//nfslockfile.lock: No such file or directory
Unable to open lockfile!
Be sure that '/mnt/store/' exists and that both
the directory and that file are writeble by this user.
Starting up as the master server.
Error getting inputs for the capturecard.  Perhaps you have
forgotten to bind video sources to your card's inputs?
 is defined, but isn't attached to a cardinput.
2004-06-08 22:53:58 mythbackend version: 0.15.20040525-1 www.mythtv.org
2004-06-08 22:53:58 Enabled verbose msgs : important general
/mnt/store//nfslockfile.lock: No such file or directory
Unable to open lockfile!
Be sure that '/mnt/store/' exists and that both
the directory and that file are writeble by this user.
Unable to connect to database!
Driver error was [1/1049]:
QMYSQL3: Unable to connect
Database error was:
Unknown database 'mythconverg'

Couldn't open database
Unable to connect to database!
Driver error was [1/1044]:
QMYSQL3: Unable to connect
Database error was:
Access denied for user: 'mythtv@localhost' to database 'MYTHCONVERG'

Couldn't open database
[/code]
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
dirtboy
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 12 Dec 2002
Posts: 263
Location: Pascagoula, MS

PostPosted: Fri Jun 11, 2004 6:24 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Do you have a /mnt/store directory, and if you do, is it writable?
_________________
Your sig is better than my sig.
Homebrew everything!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
beastmaster
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 24 May 2004
Posts: 230

PostPosted: Fri Jun 11, 2004 6:56 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

nope, but I just created one.
Code:

drwxr-xr-x   2 root root 4096 Jun 11 01:55 store


giving it to root, is this ok? :)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
dirtboy
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 12 Dec 2002
Posts: 263
Location: Pascagoula, MS

PostPosted: Fri Jun 11, 2004 1:15 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Should be fine.
_________________
Your sig is better than my sig.
Homebrew everything!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
beastmaster
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 24 May 2004
Posts: 230

PostPosted: Fri Jun 11, 2004 8:18 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

hi db thanks for hanging there with me,
but :? mythtv still gives me connection refuse thing.

Code:

mythtv: could not connect to socket
mythtv: Connection refused
lirc_init failed for mythtv, see preceding messages
2004-06-11 15:16:21 Connecting to backend server: 127.0.0.1:6543 (try 1 of 5)
Connection timed out.
You probably should modify the Master Server settings
in the setup program and set the proper IP address.
2004-06-11 15:16:22 Changing from None to None

:cry: :cry: :cry:
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
dirtboy
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 12 Dec 2002
Posts: 263
Location: Pascagoula, MS

PostPosted: Sat Jun 12, 2004 8:28 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Well, until you get those ports open, mythtv is never going to work. This is what my nmap looks like:

Code:
Starting nmap 3.50 ( http://www.insecure.org/nmap/ ) at 2004-06-12 03:13 CDT
Interesting ports on webserv.dirtboy.org (127.0.0.1):
(The 1645 ports scanned but not shown below are in state: closed)
PORT     STATE SERVICE
22/tcp   open  ssh
80/tcp   open  http
111/tcp  open  rpcbind
139/tcp  open  netbios-ssn
445/tcp  open  microsoft-ds
681/tcp  open  unknown
993/tcp  open  imaps
995/tcp  open  pop3s
3689/tcp open  rendezvous
5802/tcp open  vnc-http-2
5902/tcp open  vnc-2
6002/tcp open  X11:2
6543/tcp open  mythtv
6544/tcp open  mythtv


Notice the two mythtv ports. Thats my backend. I think your main problem is getting the mythbackend running correctly. It looks like it is still not connecting to the mysql database. I am posting my config files on my website so you can compare them with yours. Look at my.cnf and make sure you have a bind address set:

/etc/mysql/my.cnf
/etc/mythtv/mysql.txt
/etc/conf.d/mythbackend
_________________
Your sig is better than my sig.
Homebrew everything!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
beastmaster
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 24 May 2004
Posts: 230

PostPosted: Sat Jun 12, 2004 11:55 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

hi db, I appreciate it.

I looked at these files, and the only difference is at the
bind-address, mine is set to 127.0.0.1 , tell me if this is not good and should change to 192.168.1.101 (internal box's ip)

and about the open port for mythtv um... I dont have it.. 8O (rememer I cant lauch the mythfrontend and mythbackend, access denial error, now it's like chicken and egg thing 8O), except the mysql open port, how come u dont have that...

here is what my open ports exactly:
Code:

root@master scripts # nmap 127.0.0.1   

Starting nmap 3.50 ( http://www.insecure.org/nmap/ ) at 2004-06-12 06:50 UTC
Interesting ports on localhost (127.0.0.1):
(The 1656 ports scanned but not shown below are in state: closed)
PORT     STATE SERVICE
111/tcp  open  rpcbind
852/tcp  open  unknown
3306/tcp open  mysql

Nmap run completed -- 1 IP address (1 host up) scanned in 1.093 seconds


only these three...
ps. btm. what's that unknown 852tcp port...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
dirtboy
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 12 Dec 2002
Posts: 263
Location: Pascagoula, MS

PostPosted: Sat Jun 12, 2004 3:55 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Code:
netstat -anup


That will show yout the program running ion those ports. Yes, change the IP to your internal address, then restart mysql. See if that makes a difference.
_________________
Your sig is better than my sig.
Homebrew everything!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Multimedia All times are GMT
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6  Next
Page 5 of 6

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum